Skip to content

I Bought Bok Choy from Schnucks At Lunch.

December 8, 2010

That title will hopefully make sense later.

So I go on and on about how my lunch was big and I ate it all even though I was pretty full and guess what happens—it held me over for 6 hours! Unheard of! That meant no snack today (which I love because it means I don’t have to pack another snack for tomorrow). That pizza scored wayyy more points from me.

I stayed a little late at work talking about different shoes with my boss and co-workers. I know I sometimes like to be at my desk so I can peruse some blogs, but I also LOVE deciding on designs and materials on shoes! That type of thing is what made me want to work in the fashion industry…great way to mix business with my interest in design.

After work I headed to The Natural Way to pick up my SUGAR COOKIE SLEIGH RIDE TEA!! It finally came in and it was on sale (The store takes special orders at no extra cost. Awesome!) . I had some after dinner and liked it! Everyone is right when they say it smells stronger than it tastes, but I still loved the mild decadent flavor. Win.

And then I got started on dinner with some more new foods. I forgot to mention the other day that I also bought some pre-cooked teriyaki tofu at Trader Joe’s. And today at lunch I bought some Bok Choy after seeing IowaGirlEats use it the other night. One plus about winter = you can grocery shop at lunch and the food stays cold in the car. Right? Or is that totally not okay.

I had some brown rice cooking on the stove while I sauteed my vegetables. I use the rest of a bag of frozen stir fry vegetables along with a couple handfuls of the veggie mix I used in my Tuna Salad and the bok choy. I let it cook down and added some cilantro paste and garlic powder before spritzing it with Braggs Amino Acid. At the last minute I through in slices of tofu to get warm.

Half got saved for lunch tomorrow and half was placed on top of brown rice for tonight!

The tofu was great and so much easier than pressing and cooking it yourself. And having the bok choy made it feel like I ordered it from a restaurant. It’s always my favorite part when I order stir fries, but I never make it at home!

*************************************

So I mentioned that I went to the grocery store at lunch today and bought some fresh produce. This is not uncommon for me — if I need a ingredient for a dish I want to make or if I’m running low on yogurt or apples I usually drop by the store and pick some up. I’m lucky that I live with my parents and we share food, so they are willing to pay for lots of my food purchases. The weird stuff that only I eat is put on my own tab (like the tea).

Some of my girlfriends were asking if it is super expensive to always have so much food on hand and also where grocery I shop. To be quite honest, I don’t budget my food. And that is really terrible. I shop mostly at regular grocery stores (“Schnucks” here in St. Louis!) , occasionally at Trader Joe’s, and probably way too often just stop by the Whole Foods that is on the way home from work. I know that I probably over spend since I don’t look for deals and tend to by organic or name brand products. But I’m at a point right now where it’s not a major concern, so I haven’t taken the time to think about what I am spending.

I go grocery shopping usually once a week to get staples like Greek Yogurt, Spinach, Apples, Bananas etc. I also try to keep lots of frozen vegetables, bread, canned beans, oatmeal, etc on hand too. Having those things makes preparing a meal on the fly really easy. I am guilty of going to the store to buy something that I am craving instead of making something with what we already have (ie using almond milk to make overnight oats instead of going to the store to buy more greek yogurt).

But here is how I justify it:  I love food and I love to cook. I rarely eat out so most of my food comes from home. I don’t waste any food — I usually find myself running out of the fruits and veggies that I buy and if I have something about to go bad in the fridge I make a point to use it for a meal!  I am willing to spend more on food as opposed to getting a weekly manicure (although sometimes those happen too!). And I’d like to think that I save money by cooking my meals instead of buying them.

One example of using up food is my dessert tonight! I had a honeycrisp on the counter that was too soft for my liking, so I decided to make it into an crustless apple pie of sorts.

I sliced the apple and place it in a bowl with a little bit of water, cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla, and stevia. After microwaving it for 2 minutes the apples were soft and sweet and the kitchen smelled heavenly. A healthy dessert that prevents wasting food is A-okay with me.

  • Do you guys spend a ton of food? Is it a priority for you?
  • Do you have any money saving tricks that I can start to use??
13 Comments leave one →
  1. Mrs Fish permalink
    December 8, 2010 3:20 pm

    I am able to feed my hubby and I for $50 a week. We do eat out one night a week. Sometimes we go over, but my biggest thing is to plan my menu around what produce/meats are on sale. Then I check a coupon blog for any items that are on sale that I may have a coupon for, especially baked goods this time of year.

    I have also done cash envelopes to manage my money. I took out $100 a week before I was married and budgeted so much for food, gas, fun.

  2. December 8, 2010 8:56 pm

    you aren’t going to believe this but I just had some of that tea! I agree about the smell/taste. I usually use 2 tea bags for 6-7 oz and it tastes stronger. yum!

  3. December 8, 2010 9:03 pm

    I try to keep my weekly grocery/food budget under 100. I use cash, so I am aware of how much it is.

    100 is a lot I feel like, and I usually spend less. But I love food and I don’t mind!

    • December 8, 2010 9:04 pm

      Also I would totally keep produce in my car! Probably not dairy products though just because I had a bad experience with spoiled milk in my car.

  4. December 8, 2010 9:24 pm

    I like planning our weekly meals out ahead of time and also try to piggyback the ingredients a lot of the time. If we have Asian salad one night and I know we will have left over cabbage, I’ll try to plan let say fish tacos for the following night so we can use up the rest of the cabbage. We do most of our shopping at the only small organic store we have in town but still only spend 60-150 a week for two people eating 3 meals a day and normally 2 snacks. I don’t worry about it too much though, b\c like you said, we also don’t go out to eat very often. Maybe once a week.

  5. squigglefloey permalink
    December 8, 2010 10:18 pm

    It’s hard to have much of a plan at school because sometimes I have no time and end up buying something on campus, and sometimes I stop at TJs or albertsons on the way back from school (TJs is RIGHT across the street from me!) — so it’s easy to overspend during the week if I’m not on a budget.
    Usually when I’m careful during the year though I bring most of my protein and veggies from my mom’s stash if she has any at home — then I luck out.

    ps. I love that tofu! So much flavor and easier than making it myself haha

  6. December 8, 2010 11:45 pm

    I try to spend less than $100 on food each week for me and my husband, which is a lot, but living in Alaska, everything is 25-30% more. I do my best to not let food go to waste and meal plan in advance! My husband and I rarely go out-to-eat as well, so that saves us a lot of money.

  7. December 9, 2010 8:17 am

    I spend a lot of money on food, but I think compared to most people who eat out 2 meals a day, I spend a bit less! What I try and do is use the food that I buy before going out to dat. I hate to see good food (fruits and veggies) go to waste, so if I am running low on food during the weekend, then I give myself permission to go out to lunch or dinner!

  8. December 9, 2010 8:24 am

    I know that I could spend LESS money on food, but it’s not really a big problem and I get a lot of enjoyment out of baking/cooking, so I’m OK with it… At some point, I’m sure I’ll have to do a better job of budgeting, but not yet. Haha…

  9. December 9, 2010 10:23 am

    That’s my favorite tea! To save money, I buy a lot of food from Costco. Even if its only me eating it, I can go through huge bags of spinach and fruit before it spoils. Also, I buy all my dried fruit there. Way cheaper and it doesn’t go bad 🙂

  10. December 9, 2010 11:29 pm

    I have never been on a serious budget for food because I go shopping for my family with includes my brother and parents. They arent tough on be to keep to a certain amount because we write the list together and we now what we are getting. I also think it is important to get healthy an nutritious food. PLUS we rarely go out to eat. I mean we go out ever once in a while but it is NOT a weekly thing.

  11. December 10, 2010 9:47 pm

    i LOVE bok choy, i forgot how much! I think i need to buy some tomorrow, its been way to long.

    I have a problem with budgeting food, as in it doesnt work. I have tons of bills and refuse to get crapper food for a cheaper price. I will spend whatever on food because its something that makes me really happy and its not REALLY a luxury because i need food anyway.. When i get a chance to go to whole foods i never hold back and always spend more money then i have. :)ha im ridiculous

Trackbacks

  1. Frostbite Series 12K « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

