Skip to content

Jenna’s Curried Butternut Soup

December 9, 2010

When I saw that my mom was making salmon and wild rice for dinner I was jealous.

I’m not anymore.

 

After eating my last frozen portion of Anne P’s Sweet Potato Lentil Chili, I was looking for a new hearty stew to make a big batch of. There are tons of recipes out there but none of them were just right….until today. Today Jenna from EatLiveRun posted a recipe for Curried Butternut and Red Lentil Soup. There has never been more perfect timing!

We had a bunch of sweet potatoes in the pantry, which I used instead of butternut squash. We also had almost exactly 1 cup of regular lentils, so I used those instead of red lentils. I got permission from Jenna not to blend the soup and to add in some kale. But other than that, I followed the recipe exactly (kind of).

 

I sauteed one yellow onion in olive oil for a few minutes before adding in 2 cloves of garlic and 1 TBSP ginger. The ginger was too soft to grate, so I just chopped it. Once it was soft, I poured in the rest of our veggie broth (about 2/3 quart) and used water for the remaining 1/3.

Then I added in the can of diced tomatoes, 2 chopped sweet potatoes, 1 cup lentils, salt, curry powder, and cayenne pepper.

After stirring and simmering for about 15 minutes, I added some torn kale and let it sit for about 5 more minutes.

dinnahh

 

I love this. I love that it is hearty and thick but still has a little bit of broth. I love that there is a hint of curry and a definite kick from the cayenne. I love that I didn’t blend it because I think eating chunky sweet potatoes and chewy lentils is more interesting than a creamy soup. And I love that I have 3 portions left to keep for quick meals later.

 

Thanks Jenna. You’re a winner.

 

If you were wondering, I did have my normal pumpkin yogurt + blueberries + Kashi Go Lean snack this afternoon. But that is way less exciting than this soup.

Who needs salmon?

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2010 9:05 am

    I love anything that involves butternut squash, so this sounds amazing (especially during the winter).

Trackbacks

  1. How Do You View Nutrition and Exercise? « Fitting It All In
  2. Frostbite Series 12K « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

