Skip to content

How Do You View Nutrition and Exercise?

December 10, 2010

Still basking in the gloriousness of last night’s dinner.

So I mentioned before that my Bikram studio is undergoing some major changes – they are dropping from 14 teacher to 6 come January! Well Friday 6:30am is always taught by the studio owner, whom I love, and today she took out a little of her frustration on us! We did some of the postures 3times instead of two and held everything extra long. I didn’t even know you were allowed to do them three times…thought Bikram was pretty strict about his methods! Either way, she wasn’t doing it in a malicious way and kept telling us to push to our edge and make it count. Her energy totally radiated because it ended up being one of the best classes I’ve had in a while.

Good instructors make all the difference.

  

OUTFIT:

Casual friday! I love this side zip sweatshirt from A&F and I believe this scarf is from Hannah like 8 years ago.

FOOD:

Banana oats with Peanut Butter still isn’t old. I’ll be sure to let you know when I’m sick of it.

And even though last night’s curried soup was totally worth skipping my mom’s salmon for, I brought her leftovers for lunch:) Baked salmon with chewy&nutty wild rice and dill green beans.

An apple a day…

***************************************

So this morning I got into an interesting text message conversation with a friend that is in her first year of medical school. She told me how they had a nutritionist come in and talk to them about different diets as well as do a nutrient study on their 3 day food journals.

I of course thought this was so cool and would love to have it done, but she commented that it is really hard to take nutrition seriously at this point in our lives. I totally get what she is saying…right now when we are young and healthy it is hard to see how eating a healthy diet and fitting in exercise will help us out later in life. Most people exercise to be skinny, not to keep their heart healthy. And who cares if we eat too much saturated fat and dont get enough Vitamin B as long as we aren’t gaining weight, right?

When you’re young it is really difficult to take a  long-term approach to your health. Only recently, and definitely through the help of training for races, did I learn how important it is to fuel my body properly and exercise to keep my body strong. I think I am also in a different situation than most because I have experienced first hand how much being unhealthy can affect how you feel, look, and act. Of course there will always be some vanity aspect to health and nutrition – while I know that doing cardio is helping to keep my heart strong, burning those calories isn’t so bad either.

  •  How do you view nutrition and exercise right now?
  • Do you have any suggestions on how to get people to appreciate the health aspects and not just the external results?

************************

A few pieces of business:

1. I submitted my photo to Faces of Beauty. Great project and I hope I’m featured soon!

2. I’m babysitting tonight and have a guest post prepared — a MALE’s view on New Year’s Eve!

3. I’m actually spending NYE in El Paso, TX now because my dad said he’d pay for me to go watch Notre Dame play in the Sun Bowl with him. SO FUN and actually really happy I don’t have to deal with NYE here.

HAPPY FRIDAY!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2010 11:45 am

    Sounds like you got a little extra kick in your yoga class. Hopefully it won’t be as bad next time 🙂
    As for exercise and nutrition… well, I use to do it all to lose weight. It wasn’t till I started feeling a difference and having more energy and a lift in my mood that I really saw exercise and nutrition for what it was worth.

  2. December 10, 2010 1:44 pm

    Glad you figured out your NYE plans. Mine are becoming more and more complicated by the hour, I swear! My sister is a 3rd year med student, so I hear a TON of these types of explanations from her., plus I come from a health-conscious family. But for most people I know, they still think a carb is horrible and any fat is bad. Understanding what fuels your body properly is so important.

  3. December 10, 2010 2:06 pm

    you are SOOOOO cute! i am loving that outfit. i need some winter fashion inspiration. since i lost weight, i don’t know what to wear for Winter anymore. did you experience that? i’ve had to re-work the wardrobe for every seaon.

    you are SOOOOOO lucky 😉 how fun that you get to go see some football fro NYE with your Daddy!!!

    i agree with you about the health/nutrition at a young age. i only came to care when i was training for races and am now concerned with heart health, etc. i would love to participate in that as well.

    aaand…my chocolate cranberry cookies are almost gone 😦 time for me to make some. hehe have a great day, babe!

  4. December 10, 2010 3:33 pm

    a) i must have that sweatshirt! did you get it recently?
    b) you’re so right about exercise… vanity is definitely a motivator! to keep my intentions focused on health, i try picturing what my heart would look like in a pair of designer jeans… it’s entertaining and inspires me to push a little harder during my workouts!

  5. December 10, 2010 4:32 pm

    i LOVE your outfit! scarf=adorable
    AMEN about exercise- i try to think about my INSIDES and how i want to treat my organs/bones.

  6. December 10, 2010 6:07 pm

    I think part of the reason I started caring about nutrition is because as I got older, I realized choices I had made when I were younger still affected my life. When I was younger, I thought I could get away with anything, and if I ignored a problem, it would go away. I’m glad I snapped out of that way of thinking 🙂

    • December 10, 2010 7:06 pm

      That’s a great idea…get people.that have had bad (or good) results from past.choices share their experiences!

  7. Mrs Fish permalink
    December 10, 2010 9:51 pm

    How fun you get to spend some quality time with your dad! My parents and I went to an Ohio State bowl game as my college graduation present one year, I graduated in December, and even though we last…I had a great time!

Trackbacks

  1. Me Anything! « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

