Skip to content

Stuffed Peppers

December 12, 2010

Today has been such a great lazy Sunday. I’ve wrapped gifts, made crafty cards, put lights on the tree, practiced the harp, and eaten tons of food!

 

Now it just needs ornaments!

 

Lunch was an especially tasty green monster (less ice = not as watered down) as well as a baked sweet potato with black beans and salsa.

And as I busied around the house, I couldn’t help but snack! I had an apple, some triscuits, m&ms and mini chocolate chip cookies. But I made sure to stop a few hours before dinner because I had stuffed peppers on the menu!

I hollowed and de-seeded two green peppers while 1/4 cup pearled couscous was cooking on the stove.

Then I prepped the filling:

  • 1/2 cup black beans
  • 1/2 cup TJ’s chopped veggie mix
  • 1 Tbsp toasted pinenuts
  • 1 Tbsp TJ’s corn salsa
  • 1 Tbsp TJ’s cilantro dressing
  • sprinkle of black pepper


Then I added in the pearled couscous and spooned it into the two peppers. It was the perfect amount! A little grated Asiago topped the peppers before being placed in the oven at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

 

When the buzzer went off, the peppers were just slightly wilted at the top, the filling was warm, and the cheese was melty.

I had one pepper for dinner, and then some hot chocolate and two of my PB & Pretzel cookies for dessert while watching White House Christmas with the ‘rents.

 

I really love the textured of pearled couscous.ย  Next time I would probably bake the peppers longer so they are even softer on the outside. And more cheese wouldn’t be a bad thing either ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Back to the grind tomorrow, but the pink candle on the Advent Wreath means Christmas is almost here! If you follow me on twitter (@fittingitallin) you know that I’m trying a totally new-to-me breakfast tomorrow! I can’t wait to try it.

  • Do you get much time off for Christmas? Are you on a school break or are you taking many vacation days from work?

 

 

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. irene permalink
    December 12, 2010 9:09 pm

    The stuffed green pepper is like a super healthy version of a juicy Chipotle burrito

  2. December 12, 2010 9:59 pm

    Lazy sundays are the best! I’m on break from school on the 22nd..I can’t wait!

  3. squigglefloey permalink
    December 12, 2010 11:34 pm

    Haha at first I thought that baked sweet potato was a hot dog bun (and that the beans were a hot dog). I wonder if someone has tried that…? Haha, I guess that’s what I get for helping my brother grill his hot dogs this afternoon! ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. December 13, 2010 6:50 am

    Is pearled couscous the same thing as Israeli couscous?

  5. Mrs Fish permalink
    December 13, 2010 8:13 am

    I am off the 22nd-Jan 2nd, since I am teacher. Plus a bonus snow day today!

  6. December 13, 2010 9:07 am

    those stuffed peppers are so pretty and colorful!

    as far as the breakfast.. i have made the cookie dough cereal before and it was deliccciiouuusssssssss, Im sure you’ll love it!

  7. December 13, 2010 11:44 am

    Sounds like a great day to me ๐Ÿ™‚ Holiday decorating is always so much fun!! Your peppers look great- love the use of the corn salsa. I usually don’t take a lot of time off, but this year we’re taking a week off- I cannot wait

Leave a Reply

