Skip to content

Sugar Coma Saturday

December 12, 2010

If you want to know what I ate yesterday, toss about half of the following into a big bucket and that’s pretty much it.

Peanut Butter Pretzel Cookies from my secret santa, Rebecca! This was my gift from Erica’s Blogger Baked Goods Exchange. DELICIOUS and so great to get a non-chocolatey cookie for a change! Recipe is from Rachael Ray magazine. Thanks so much Rebecca! I’ve already had 5!

 

Allie’s Pumpkin Coconut Pecan Granola that I made as a hostess gift for my Company Christmas Party. Smelled (and tasted) AMAZING. Not too sweet. Great Recipe, Allie!

 

Julie’s Holiday Pretzels that I’m giving as gifts to my coworkers! Super easy to make and wanted to note that one bag of the white wafer candy & one regular sized bag of mini pretzels will make about 2 1/2 cookie sheets worth of treats.

 

**********************************************

So after a long day of baking and eating, it was time to head to the Christmas Party! This one was at one of the VP’s house and was for members of my team and their dates. The invitation said “Holiday Casual…no need to get fancy!” so I of course had no idea what to wear. After some picture phone messages with Irene, this is what I came up with:

Luckily my hair was already done from getting it cut. I love how full it is when she blow dries it!

 

So about getting to this party. My phone has one of those auto-complete settings where it puts in the word it thinks you are trying to type. So when I typed in “Devonsbrook” as the street name for this event, it decided I actually wanted to say “Devonshire”. Leading me to drive 45 minutes away to house that was NOT hosting my company party!

Luckily they were listed at 411 and I found the correct address — another 30 minutes away. So I arrived fashionably late.

The party was great –delicious food like mushroom tarts, caramelized onion empenadas, and a crisp chardonnay. I helped myself to a plate of small bites and of course went back for seconds. I stayed for a few hours before heading home, where I had a Guinness and some more M&Ms before heading to bed. Because why not have Guinness and m&ms as a midnight snack?

 

*********************************

Sunday morning I was able to sleep until 9:30!! when I was awoken by a blinding light. After taking a closer look, I realized it was just the sun reflected off of a blanket of SNOW!!

St. Louis finally got its first big snow. We probably have about 5 or 6 inches at this point and it’s still going!

The highlight of my morning was finding a double egg yolk when I was making breakfast…


A breakfast that included zero sugar since I clearly got enough yesterday

 

2 dippy eggs, toasted sandwich thin, slice of tomato, and steamed spinach & green beans. Hit the spot.

I braved the snow to head to church and the grocery store (didn’t need much this week — and I actually planned some dinners a head of time so my purchases weren’t random!). And now I’m making my dad watch Twilight while I prep some holiday gifts.

 

Wonderful Sunday so far! How is your weekend?? Any snow?

 

 

 

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. irene permalink
    December 12, 2010 2:02 pm

    Those little holiday pretzel gifts are precious, hopefully you have extras for me!

  2. squigglefloey permalink
    December 12, 2010 2:41 pm

    No snow over here in So Cal…it’s literally in the high 70s today!
    Your outfit is ADORABLE! And all those xmas treats look amazing. I need to get baking this week 🙂 Have a wonderful sunday!

  3. December 12, 2010 3:01 pm

    I have never heard of peanut butter pretzel cookies anid I am in search of them now.. very nice post

  4. December 12, 2010 3:55 pm

    Gah I’m in a sugar coma myself…toooo much baking but too delicious of results to stash ’em away! Love the veggies for breakfast…that may be my deal tomorrow!

  5. December 12, 2010 4:48 pm

    Your outfit is really cute!

  6. Mrs Fish permalink
    December 12, 2010 5:09 pm

    Snow here! Today I braved the snow to get the dog her food, and watched a few hours of Food Network TV with the hubs. 🙂

  7. December 12, 2010 7:36 pm

    Glad you enjoyed it! Yah, It’s not too sweet…meaning it goes well with sweet stuff 🙂 Love your outfit!

  8. December 13, 2010 8:00 am

    yay for baking !

    I cant wait for the day where i can take a food picture and have a blanket of snow outside as the background! Im jealous!

Trackbacks

  1. Stuffed Peppers « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

