Skip to content

My Ab Exercises

December 17, 2010

Ahhhh finally a break!

This week has been insane at work, and I am so so glad that it’s finally the weekend. I’ll be busy the beginning of next week since it’s short, but at least it’s only two days! And I’m very lucky that in the midst of work I end up having a ton of fun with my awesome co-workers. Not everyone finds themselves bent over in laughter with their boss almost every day!

 

WORKOUT:

Friday Bikram with my favorite instructor! Class was great today, as usual, with her energy leading the way. Today I was reminded that my studio holds a New Years Eve silent Bikram class. The class starts at 10:30 so that you start the new year in final savasana, and the cost of the class goes directly to charity. They even do a Vitamin Water toast at the end:)

Had I not planned to go to El Paso for the Sun Bowl, this would be such a great NYE option! While I don’t know that I could have actually brought myself to skip celebrating with my girlfriends, I think that starting the new year by celebrating your strength and health is an awesome idea.

  • Have you guys ever participated in an “alternative NYE” like this one?

 

OUTFIT:

I can’t wait til I get a new hair straightener for Christmas and can actual try to make it look semi-decent. Military Blazer from The Limited, leopard scarf from H&M.

 

FOOD:

And now the photo you’ve all been waiting for….

WHIPPED BANANA OATS WITH PEANUT BUTTER!

Today I used Justin’s Honey peanut Butter. It was good as ever.

Lunch was a Dr. Praeger’s burger with hummus, spinach, and tomato on TJ’s sprouted grain bread. On the side I had some string beans and an apple.

Snack was my usual Greek yogurt with clementines and Kashi Go Lean, and I picked up Crazy Bowls and Wraps for dinner on the way home. My dad is in the midst of throwing a dinner party for my Mom’s Birthday, so I opted to get take out instead of trying to share the kitchen. I choose my usual tofu veggie bowl with brown rice and can’t wait to eat it:) I’m thinking some M&Ms and a glass of wine may happen when I go watch a movie with Taylor.

 

My Ab Exercises:

I’ve gotten a fair amount of questions about the ab exercises I do, so I thought I’d go into a little more detail about them. I used to do just a random mix of crunches and leg raises, but recently have started incorporating more Pilates moves from the DVD I have.

I do these ab exercises about 3 times a week. Other days I might do some quick planks or just give my abs a rest. It only takes me ten to fifteen minutes because I don’t rest much in between exercises. Granted I don’t ever get super sore the next day like I probably should if I’m working hard enough, but I try to do enough so I can at least feel it a little bit! I love that feeling where you can tell you worked out the day before.

So here’s what I usually do. The order is based on whatever I’m in the mood to do next 🙂

  • 50 bicycle crunches
  • ~ 30 regular crunches
  • ~20 side crunches on each side with one knee bent  & crossed over the opposite.
  • The Hundred

Source

  • Double Straight Leg Stretch (~20)

Source

 

  • Leg Circles (both legs together, 10 each direction)
  • Leg raises (Legs together, hands behind my head, ~20)
  • Single Straight Leg Stretch (~20)

source

  • Side twists (On your back, knees bent to 90 degrees, drop knees down to the right then return to center before dropping to the left. ~20)

 

That’s about it!  While I do these I try to focus on form rather than depth –I only go as far as I can without arching up my back.  So as you can see there is nothing crazy that I do on a regular basis and I don’t spend a ton of time on it. I throw in other exercises occasionally (using weights or stability balls) just to challenge my muscles with something new. But being consistent has seemed to work for me! No six pack, of course, but there’s always time….

 

 

Hope that helped answer your questions! If you have any other great ab exercises I should be doing, let me know! I always love finding a new move to add in.

And now I need to eat and remove myself from the computer for the night. Hope you’re having a wonderful Friday!!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. squigglefloey permalink
    December 18, 2010 4:08 am

    Hope you’re doing well 🙂 Adorable outfits, as usual. Do you go visit the BF soon?

  2. December 18, 2010 4:15 am

    Love the outfit! This morning I got the idea to mash some bananas in my oats as well, to make them creamy, and it was so good! I should try the peanut butter with it like you did. I teach pilates so I love seeing more and more people adopting the core workouts instead of typical crunches – looks like a good workout plan!

  3. December 18, 2010 7:16 pm

    maybe you can come to my abs class on thursday! i won’t actually be doing the moves because i fell down the steps and seriously hurt my back. this is very uncool as it is keeping me from doing any exercise whatsoever and i feel gross. but you can watch the regulars who know what i’m talking about already. i actually do a lot of the moves you described above. a mix of pilates and traditional ab stuff.

  4. December 18, 2010 8:08 pm

    I adore the outfit! I wish I lived close to an H&M 😦

  5. December 19, 2010 7:12 am

    im going to try out your ab routine soon 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Sad But True « Fitting It All In
  2. Me Anything! « Fitting It All In
  3. Silly Skype « Fitting It All In
  4. Mela-What? « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

