Skip to content

Treadmill PDR

December 18, 2010

I have a new running secret: M&Ms.


I knew my addiction would come in handy.

While procrastinating for my 9 mile run today, I went through a couple of handfuls of them. They are in a jar in our living room since my dad threw a dinner party last night, but after seeing me head in there multiple times my mom asked if she needs to hide them again.

I would say yes, except that I felt GREAT throughout my run! I would usually run that long of a distance outside, but I was scared the sidewalks would be a mess from the ice storm we got last week. Instead, I gave myself a new treadmill personal distance record. Prior to today, my farthest treadmill run was 8 miles while training for my first half marathon last spring. Today’s run went much better than that one. I maintained a steady 9:13/mile pace (6.5 mph) and finished in about 82 1/2 minutes. I felt like I could have kept going! Instead I just walked a mile while finishing the holiday episode of Good Eats.

*********************************

Before the M&Ms, I made myself a real pre-run breakfast of toast with TJ’s almond butter and a pathetic excuse for half a banana.

Since my produce stash clearly needed to be restocked, I made a Trader Joe’s run after my real run. I was so shocked when I found out I got everything for $35!!

In that big pile you’ll find:

  • A bouquet of flowers for my Mom
  • Frozen edamame, brussel sprouts, stir fry mix, and pizza
  • 6 Honey Crisp apples, 8 bananas, 2 grapefruits
  • 1 bag spinach
  • 1 bag of sweet potatoes
  • 1 container chopped veggies
  • 1 loaf sprouted grain wheat bread
  • 1 bottle of naturally flavored orange sparkling water

All for $35! I love Trader Joe’s. Too bad I didn’t remember that I’m leaving town on Tuesday and will not need remotely that much food this week. Hopefully my mom will use up some of the produce our Holiday meals.

I STILL cannot find the meatless balls. Or veggie bacon. I’ve been craving a BLT.

*******************************

I quickly showered and grabbed some food before heading to my brother’s house to watch Dispicable me. I had a green monster and a honey crisp while freezing my butt off in the car. Wet hair in the winter is no bueno.

I LOVED the movie! I am usually not a fan of animated movies, but this one was hilarious and had lots of mature humor. Prime example of a kid’s movie where they wouldn’t understand half of the jokes.

Then I came home and straightened my hair (took like an hour since my broken hair straightener kept turning off 😦 ) and grabbed Chipotle for dinner. I should  haved cooked….but I was craving Chipotle and that doesn’t happen often. I got a salad with a little bit of rice, veggies, black beans, mild & medium salsas, and guac.

And please just guess what I’m having for dessert.

********************************

I’m hoping to meet up with some guy friends from high school tonight for a few drinks, but won’t be out too late because we have a big birthday breakfast for my mom tomorrow.

 

  • Whats your favorite candy? Any M&M addicts like me?
9 Comments leave one →
  1. Mrs Fish permalink
    December 18, 2010 9:15 pm

    I love M&Ms…they are my favorite chocolate candy. I love Swedish Fish though as a gummy candy.

    A fun sized bag of peanut M&Ms is one of my favorite post long run snacks. 🙂 Great way to get some sodium back.

  2. December 18, 2010 9:26 pm

    YAY for M&M power…
    Who said they aren’t healthy?
    🙂

  3. Toni permalink
    December 19, 2010 1:04 am

    I’m not a big fan of M&M’s actually. I like chocolate covered almonds way better!

  4. December 19, 2010 3:07 am

    Great run!! I’ve been on the treadmill for a month now, starting with deer season and now the bitter cold (and of course the icy stuff we got a couple of days ago). So congrats on your PDR! Apparently the M&Ms are great fuel and motivation! 😉

  5. December 19, 2010 7:27 am

    yay Trader Joes!!! i hope that you had fun out and can’t wait to read about your Mom’s birthday par-tay.

    and i love dark chocolate chips for “snack” hehe

    have a great day, girlie!

  6. December 19, 2010 10:40 am

    I can do some serious work on m&ms…but health bars are my major addiction! It used to be Butterfingers but after eating them near daily for about two years I havent had much of a taste for them lately!

  7. Brandi permalink
    December 19, 2010 12:40 pm

    I cant get enough Twizzlers! I ate them through every class in college and law school and now always have a stash at work and am known as the Twizzler girl. I even received a ginormous bag of them from a coworker for Christmas 😉

    From time to time I mix it up with Kit Kat, Snickers or Heath bars.

  8. December 20, 2010 6:07 am

    i cant find GOOD veggie meatballs anywhere and i havent even SEEEN veggie bacon!! I would love to find good versions of both. Someone also mentioned a good brand for veggie pepperoni but i dont think they sell it where i live.. boo I forgot the brand anyway haha

Trackbacks

  1. My 2011 Inspiration Board! « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

