Skip to content

Sad But True

December 20, 2010

Sad:  One time in third grade I told my teacher I was allergic to vanilla so that I would be sure to get one of the chocolate cupcakes.

But True: After some non-extensive google searching, I don’t know if an allergy to vanilla even exists. But my mom says the teacher probably went along with it because she wanted to use that excuse herself.

Sad: I had brunch at a cupcake bar on Sunday and didn’t eat a single cupcake.

But True: I had plenty of cheesecake, gingerbread cake, and maple almond french toast to make up for it. And I had 2 cupcakes after dinner last night.

Sad: After this weekend,  I can tell you what color wrapper corresponds to what flavor in nearly all forms of chocolate. Red mini hersheys are crackle and that red Lindor truffles are milk chocolate. M&Ms require no wrapper, but purple bags are dark chocolate.

But True: I don’t want to ever eat, see, or smell chocolate ever again. Except when I forget about this indulgent weekend and do.

*****************************************************

My mom’s birthday brunch at Jilly’s Cupcake Bar was FANTASTIC. I was slightly disappointed that they didn’t have the “make your own breakfast burrito” station that I was expecting, but all the other options on the buffet made up for it. My mom, aunt and I strategically filled our plates with savory first knowing we’d go back for a sweet round two.

Plate One, clockwise from top: strawberries and grapes, some delicious egg strata with tomato, regular scrambled eggs, caprese salad, pita & eggplant dip (my favorite of the day)

Plate Two, clockwise from top: Maple banana french toast, more pita & eggplant dip, gingerbread cake, apple crumble. And I snuck a cheesecake bite & a lobster rangoon on the way out the door.

I would definitely go back to Jilly’s for brunch (or lunch, or just a Reeses cupcake.) Highly recommended.

When we got home, I was EXHAUSTED. I guess drinking wine at home on a Saturday night is just too wild of a night for me. So I ended up napping on the couch (I could not tell you the last time I took a nap) and then snacking on ritz crackers and the aforementioned multitude of chocolate.

Our Church was holding their annual Christmas Open House Sunday night after 5pm Mass, so my family planned to go to that and then out to dinner. SO MUCH FAMILY TIME. That never happens. We don’t know how to all be around each other that long.

Anyway, at the Open House I had two little glasses of terrible white wine. Seriously it tasted like the sparkling grape juice that you give kids on New Years Eve.

And then we picked Sushi for dinner! The kids got beers and the adults had water. Typical. I also got a seaweed salad (LOVE) and we shared an edamame appetizer.

We started with 4 rolls, but ended up ordering two more. I think we got the special that had something with asparagus in it, a spicy tuna, a spicy salmon, and a “yummy” roll. Which was indeed yummy and probably my favorite of the night.

The last two rolls were a fried something recommended by the waiter and a Crazy roll. Fried one was better, obviously.

YUM. I love sushi. And dessert was leftover mini cupcakes that my mom brought to her piano recital like an 8 year old. I had the gingerbread ones since chocolate and I are currently enemies.

**********************************************

MONDAY

Last night did not involve much sleep due to some pre-bed time arguments with family members. Love having everyone home 🙂 But instead of just laying around for a few more hours, I decided to get up and get in my usual gym time. I ran the scheduled 3 miles and then did some speed walking on an incline for 20 minutes. Followed it with my ab routine before hitting the showers.

OUTFIT:

Simple.

BREAKFAST:

 

Same. Sad, but true.

********************************************

Hope you all have a great start to CHRISTMAS WEEK!! I know I cannot wait for my Cincy visit and then festivities this weekend. Shopping is all finished, just have to do some wrapping. And I have some great guest posts for you for while I’m visiting Alex. GET PUMPED.

  • Tell me something sad but true about YOU.
8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2010 12:47 pm

    HAHAHA, way to be a little sneak! I have a friend who claims to be allergic to peanut butter just because she hates it (gasp!)

    Sad but true about me: I used to eat butter straight out of the butter dish. Lick it off the knife, even (and then put the knife back in the tray!!!) Until I was almost 16. Shhh!

  2. December 20, 2010 1:23 pm

    Sad, but true? Um, trying to reply back to the message you sent me on my comment the other day, and not being able to figure out how! Ha! So here I am!

    I’m getting ready to ramp up my training for the St. Louis Marathon in April. I did the Kansas City Marathon (my first full!!!) in October and it was awesome! I could NOT WAIT to register for the STL Marathon! We are in STL all the time anyway to go to dr. appointments and visit friends so it seemed like a good choice, and good timing, to do it. I’m so excited! But I’m preparing myself for a long winter on the treadmill…it’s not my favorite but it’s better than nothing!

  3. December 20, 2010 1:51 pm

    sad but true: i could eat the same oats every single morning; creature of habit!

  4. December 20, 2010 2:58 pm

    Sad but true I should have waited to start medifast last month BUT I knew if I didn’t do it now I would be too big for the clothes I’m wearing now 😦 At least I’m staying within the same few pounds.

  5. Mrs Fish permalink
    December 20, 2010 8:00 pm

    Sad but true:

    I totally licked the spoon and beaters like a child after preparing the batter for my buddy bars…soooo good!

  6. December 20, 2010 8:33 pm

    Hahah I love that you lied to your 3rd grade teacher!

  7. squigglefloey permalink
    December 20, 2010 10:10 pm

    Girl, banana oatmeal is definitely not sad! Haha, I love my classic thick oatmeal with brown sugar at night — that seems to be all I need for a nighttime snack these chilly days.
    Seriously, when my entire family is together (all 4 of us), we feel awk. bc we aren’t always all together in the same place. Someone is always busy with something, so I know what you mean 😛

  8. December 21, 2010 1:29 pm

    WOW! So many yummy eats this weekend. What a brunch. I’d be all over that delicious caprese salad. As always – love your outfit 🙂 I cannot believe its Christmas week. Hmmm sad but true- no matter how much I travel….I will never master only packing what I need 🙂

Leave a Reply

