Skip to content

Guest Post: Jess from A Taste of Confidence

December 23, 2010

Hi all! My name is Jess, and I blog over at A Taste of Confidence. I love Clare’s blog, and I’m honored to be able to guest post today. My blog focuses on body image, so I thought I would share some steps I took to improve and value my body. Hope you enjoy!

  1. I ditched the scale

(source: cartoonstock.com)

 

This was not an easy task by any means. But without it, I am much happier. I don’t rely on a number to dictate how I feel that day, or what I eat. I still feel better when I eat healthier, but it’s not because of a pound fluctuation on the scale.  Sure, I still sneak some weigh-ins at the gym, but progress is progress, right? J

  1. I ditched a boy

 

We didn’t part ways because of anything related to my body issues, and he was never openly negative about my body at all. But other relationship issues (cough cough) definitely triggered all my problems to come back. If he didn’t make me feel good about myself, I immediately related it to how my body wasn’t good enough. Sure, this wasn’t true- but ditching the unhealthy relationship helped me get rid of my skewed body image.

  1. I ditched old clothes

 

I had been hanging onto clothes that fit me when I wasn’t eating enough, about 4 years and 30 pounds ago.  There was no point in keeping them, and seeing them everyday in my closet just reminded me of how I wasn’t happy with my body the way it was. I gave them to Goodwill, and bought more clothes that actually fit me in a flattering way- instead of squeezing into clothes that I wore when I had no boobs or butt- What’s the fun in that?

  1. I ditched old pictures

 

Well, I didn’t really ditch them, but I stopped looking at them. They were just a temptation to compare my body to what it looked like before, and that is just simply not helpful. Now that I’ve made some headway, I can look back on them without a complete relapse- but I still try to stay away as much as possible.

  1. Instead of ditching something, I tried to give something back:

 

By posting Operation Beautiful notes. Okay, it’s a little corny- but trying to remind others of their beauty really helped me improve my own body image, as well. You should try it!

Thanks for having me, Clare!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2010 7:06 pm

    I like “Instead of ditching something, I gave something back”!

  2. December 26, 2010 4:53 pm

    I so agree with the idea of giving something back. At the end of the day, positive change is the most meaningful when we can pay it forward.

    I’ve never thought about the idea of ditching clothes, but that’s definitely something I could stand to do.

Trackbacks

  1. Super quick post! « A Taste of Confidence

Leave a Reply

