Skip to content

A Very Brady Christmas

December 26, 2010

My family doesn’t quite have that traditional “run downstairs at 6am and tear into presents” Christmas. But we have our Christmas. And I’ll tell you about it!

 

Christmas Eve is our big dinner in the dining room with the fancy china.

I have a pretty small family and most don’t live in St. Louis, so our only guests were my aunt and my grandma’s cousin, Harry. I filled up on crackers and Trader Joe’s Cranberry Salsa (awesome), and my aunt made a cocktail with a recipe from Guy Fieri. It had Jack Daniels, Cranberry Juice, and Apple Liqueur. Delicious! (Apparently it’s called American Pie).

Dinner is traditionally Beef Tenderloin (in fact it is my one year Anniversary of becoming a vegetarian today! The last meat meal I ate was beef tenderloin last Christmas). This year my mom also prepared fish for me.

We started with a beautiful salad of arugala, peppers, pine nuts, and pomegranate seeds. The salty arugala with the sweet and crunchy pom seeds was incredible!

My plate included a piece of fish, green beans, roasted fingerling potatoes c/o my aunt, and roasted sweet potatoes, brussel sprouts, and onions c/o ME!

Also enjoy was a glass of Santa Margherita Pinot Grigio (my mom’s favorite) and my aunt’s Rum Cake for dessert.

After dinner we all just lounge around watching movies and chatting (or napping if you’re me) before going to Midnight Mass. We started attending Midnight Mass at my brothers’ high school a few years ago because I was asked to play the harp before it. I no longer play, but we still go because it easier for my family than trying to get up early in the morning (as you will soon see). It is the Monk’s Mass (the high school is also a Benedictan Monastery) and so includes the traditional chanting and singing. It’s kind of eerily solemn and beautiful.

 

Christmas Morning

isn’t actually much of a “morning”. I went downstairs around 10:30 to find my mother starting to prepare a big breakfast. The presents were still downstairs, so I carried them up to the tree and did some laundry. My dad had to work (people still get sick on Christmas!) and my brothers usually don’t wake up until closer to noon. Unfortunately my dad wasn’t able to get home until 1pm, and had to rush back to the hospital after we finished eating.

See that White Christmas!? It's gorgeous outside πŸ™‚

 

Breakfast/Brunch/Lunch at 1pm was a big spread of pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, toast, Alex’s Mom’s Cranberry bread, fruit, and MIMOSAS :).

My plate plus 2nds and 3rds of everything

 

My dad was finally finished with work around 3:30pm so we could start opening presents! Santa was very good to everyone. I got things I asked for including a new hair straightener, eyeliner, nail polish, etc. My mom also always gets the kids some useful gifts like seat warmers for the car and warm socks.

I got a Nutcracker ornament to remember my Halloween costume and going to the ballet with the girls!

And my mom was giddy like a little kid about the massive wind chime she asked for. It’s heavy. And big. And she never really considered where she would put it. But she has one and that’s all that matters!

The rest of the day/night was spent doing puzzles, watching movies, and drinking beer. Dinner is just leftovers and dessert was a nice cookie platter and some Graeter’s Ice Cream.

 

Asparagus, Roasted Veggies, Cole Slaw, Fish

 

 

I headed up to bed before everyone else since I wanted to be well rested for my run on Sunday morning, but everyone else was watching The Transformers while I slept.

It was a great Christmas with tons of food, pajama wearing, and movie watching. I sometimes wish that we had the early morning excitement of other families, but have started to appreciate that we have our own unique Brady traditions.

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas as well! Sugar Detox: Commence.

  • What traditions does your family have?
  • Do you run downstairs in the morning or have a more relaxed and slow celebration?

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. squigglefloey permalink
    December 26, 2010 2:56 pm

    Haha I love how your last name works into this! I love watching A Very Brady Christmas πŸ™‚ At my house we used to rush to presents when me and my bro were younger, but as we get older we kinda drag presents out throughout the day to make the suspense last longer…hah.
    You’re going to have to show us the effects of your straightening iron on your beautiful hair + nail polish (not on your hair)! πŸ™‚
    Goodluck on your run this morning!
    ps. Ppl do call me Flo…most of my friends call me Floey though haha

  2. December 26, 2010 4:59 pm

    i’m the girl who still jumps on Mom and Dad’s bed screaming “wake up! wake up!” hehe i hope that never changes πŸ˜‰

    a Brady Christmas sounds like such a blast. it’s great to have your own traditions and to break the mold! the food looks delicious.

Leave a Reply

