Skip to content

I’m All Aloonneee

December 27, 2010

I was probably one of 15 people my office today. I had to sign for 7 packages for people I have never even heard of. But my boss had left a list of things for me to do and I got a lot done!

Before work I ran 3 miles at the gym, followed by 20 minutes on the elliptical, my ab routine, and then some squats/lunges/arm exercises with 8lb weights. Felt good to be back! Tomorrow is my first increase in marathon training where I will run 6 miles instead of 5. Hope the Today Show is good!

OUTFIT:

Outfit brought to you by: Laziness.

Sweater was purhased in London and received as a gift. And I’m wearing my glasses!! I normally wear 30 Day Night/Day contacts – they are extra breathable and so approved to not take out for a month. I love them, but often forget about them and wear them for wayyyyy too long. Today I decided to change my contacts and give my eyes a rest.


I actually really like my glasses, but don’t wear them very often because it’s a hassel to take them in and out when I’m going to exercise.

FOOD:

Breakfast was the trusty standby:

And lunch was soup from home and a salad from the work cafeteria.

The grocery store I shopped at last night didn’t carry any Amy’s brand soups, so I tried this Progresso vegetable barley:

It was terrible. Tasted like straight up salt…but in a bland way. Would not buy again, but ate it because it was my lunch! I was so frustrated with this soup that I immediately went to Whole Foods after work to stock up on my favorite Amy’s flavors ( Low Sodium vegetable, split pea, and cream of tomato).

My side salad was a winner though, with tons of chickpeas for protein.

Snacks were an apple and an unpictured Plain 0% Oikos with a clementine.

Dinner was a combo of my favorite foods. Sweet potato with black beans and salsa with some roasted brussel sprouts on the side. I see a lot of this meal in my future — it’s just such a delicious and easy way to eat healthy and get in tons of nutrients. It has my green veggies, complex carbs, and protein. And it is packed with flavor! Hope you don’t mind:)

 

Currently I’m sitting on the couch with one of those heat wraps that you warm in the microwave and lay across your shoulders. I’m hoping it helps with my soreness. Did I mention that the massage therapist yesterday also suggested that I get a massage at a massage SCHOOL? I was confused –why would a licensed therapist recommend I go get a cheaper massage from a student? I questioned his recommendation and he told me he was actually thinking about the benefit of the students — they could see what REAL tense shoulders were like!

Great. Glad to be of help.

And tonight is a case of the “I wish I were not a real person” syndrom. Both friends from my high school dance group and high school friends are asking me to hang out tonight. Of course I want to see all of them! But it would be much much easier had I not been exhausted from working all day and still need to get to bed early for work tomorrow :(. Most of them are in school or on a longer break from work.

Lots of times when I’m getting pulled in multiple directions I choose no direction. If I don’t want to decide between two, I choose none. And though that would be the easy and relaxing way out, I haven’t seen these girls from dance in years and they have been trying to coordinated this get together for weeks! So I’m going to try to stop in for at least a few minutes. Hopefully the highschool girls can get lunch!

  • How do you guys handle getting pulled in multiple directions? Do you ever just say NO?

In other runner news, Garmin Forerunner 305s are on sale at walmart for $128 instead of $350! Link is below!

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Garmin-Forerunner-305-GPS-Personal-Training-Unit-With-Heart-Rate-Monitor-010-00467-00/4601003?sourceid=34834941734153923060&wmlspartner=nEBQ5kzLBws

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Mrs Fish permalink
    December 27, 2010 3:01 pm

    I sadly used to eat those Progresso soups a lot. Now, like you I think they just simply taste like salt. Yuck. Some of my coworkers eat them every day, and about the only positive thing I can say about them is they have a Boxtop on the label.

  2. December 27, 2010 3:01 pm

    i’m usually like that too – i’m so indecisive that i’ll ask someone else to make the decision for me or not make one at all. i’m starting half marathon training tomorrow, treadmill it is after 22 inches of snow in ny!

  3. Lauren permalink
    December 27, 2010 3:46 pm

    I’ve been reading for a few weeks now and I completely love your blog. You totally capture what it’s like to be out of college and attempting health and fitness!

    Thank you soo much for sharing the garmin link!

  4. December 27, 2010 8:00 pm

    Nice pictures! Did you get a new camera?

    I have to say no sometimes – but every time I just hate it. I feel so guilty. And yet when I should have said no I just don’t enjoy myself – damned if I do, damned if I don’t!

  5. December 27, 2010 8:12 pm

    1. that dinner looks amazing! i rolled w/a sweet potato and baked beans last night, but i haven’t tried it with black beans and salsa! and yummy brussel sprouts! what a great mix of texture!

    2. i tend to be like you…make a decision to not decide. i feel guilty for “me” time, but then you don’t have to choose either friend, and you don’t disappoint someone by showing up where you feel obligated to be. i try to put myself in their shoes and be grateful that i didn’t show up exhausted. i am SO indecisive though, girl!

  6. squigglefloey permalink
    December 27, 2010 8:41 pm

    I totally know what you mean about being pulled in diff. directions. When my friends used to ask me to hang out/go places, and I would be exhausted from swimming 2hrs everyday, I’d usually say no. On the wknds I’d make an exception, but during the week it was a negative.
    Right now I’m kinda sick-ey in bed with a sore throat that decided to step in this morning– ugh!
    I’m very much a homebody though compared to some of my other friends and the BF.
    ps. you look SO good in glasses! you def. know how to rock the lenses 🙂

  7. December 28, 2010 2:51 pm

    I know what you mean! Especially because my work hours aren’t as flexible as my friends’ are… so sometimes they can go out and I can’t. There are times when I say NO and just stay in. Often I pick and choose though. Like last night I didn’t go see a movie because I knew I needed to go to the store, and catch up on sleep. Tonight I am going out for a sushi dinner and making a short appearance at a friend’s party even though it’s a work night. I try to balance if I can..

Trackbacks

  1. Soup Redemption « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

