Skip to content

My Banana’s On Fire

December 29, 2010

My banana caught fire in the microwave this morning.

I usually pop my banana in the microwave for a few seconds when making my oatmeal because it gets pretty cold sitting in my lunch cooler all morning. Today I noticed a burning smell, and looked over to see it sparking! I guess the tip was extremely dry?

Thank goodness barely anyone is at the office this week so there was no one there to witness my near arson.

WORKOUT:

I hadn’t been to Bikram yoga in a week and a half due to visiting Cincinnati last week, and it felt like forever! I was actually kinda nervous about it last night before bed – I didn’t think I’d be very strong or good. But luckily my favorite teacher, Erin, had swapped with someone this morning and made me feel right at home. I definitely wasn’t as strong or flexi as I am when going regularly, but you gotta start somewhere! I loveee stretchinnggg.

OUTFIT:

I declared today “extremely casual Wednesday”.

Actually I’ve just seen this shirt hanging pathetically in my closet for so long that I decided to finally wear it. This IS our Friday since we are off the rest of the week, and there is no one working this week that would actually care that I look like I’m ready to walk to Freshman Physics class.

FOOD:

Thankfully the burning banana didn’t affect the taste of my morning oats. Also, I’ve been totally into regular old PB lately. I have tons of packets of Justin’s honey and maple flavors, but always look past them in favor of the basic. I’m gonna have to use them eventually, so hopefully my taste for the sweetened varieties comes back. I used to LIVE for the maple almond butter!

And the highlight of my life….

I GOT TO LEAVE WORK EARLY!!

My boss (finally) couldn’t come up with anymore random work for me to do (Organize your binder? Of course. Pack up your entire office since we are moving locations? I’d love to.) Anyway, I got to head home around 12:15 and was so freaking exited to have the afternoon free. I ended up eating the lunch I had packed for work, since I was pretty hungry and it was already prepped.

I had a salad of arugala, green beans, red peppers, and carrots drizzled with some balsamic. On top I had an Amy’s Indian burrito that is stuffed with spinach and tofu. mmmm.

I decided to watch The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo with my free time this afternoon. I loved the book, but have been putting off the movie since it’s long and has subtitles. But I found the subtitles made me drop everything else and actually pay attention to the movie. I have a bad habit of multi-tasking ALL THE TIME. If I’m watching TV, my computer is open (like right now). Even sometimes when I’m reading a book the TV is on in the background! So it was nice to give my laptop a break for a few hours.

The movie was good, but I couldn’t tell how much of the detail and feeling I was gaining through the characters and acting vs. what I already knew from the book. The story line is so complex and intense that I think I would have liked it either way! I’m about to start the third in the series,Β  The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest.

Snack after the movie was a new favorite – a honey crisp dipped in lightly sweetened Greek Yogurt. I stir in a 1/2 packet of Stevia and top with a sprinkle of cinnamon and it makes for a super fun way to fill up!

And then I got a pedicure! A friend had to bail because she was feeling sick, and so I attempted to just paint them myself. But while trying to take off my current nail polish I just about ruined my manicure…no bueno. I do that all the time — totally ignore the fact that I’m handling nail polish remover! So a pedicure it was…feels so good on my gross running feet.

After packing (quite efficiently if I may add) for my trip to El Paso tomorrow, it was time for dinner. I wanted to use up the couscous and black beans in the fridge, and was inspired by Angela’s Spicy Rainbow Rice & Bean salad recipe today!

Into the saucepan went:

  • diced onion
  • 1/2 cup couscous
  • 1/2 cup black beans
  • big pour of vegetable broth
  • scoop of frozen peas
  • 1/2 tbsp curry powder, 1/8 tsp spicy red pepper, 1/4 tsp cumin, 1/8 tsp ground mustard seed, a whole lot of garlic powder

I poured the mixture over a bed of steamed broccoli and called it quits!

I really need to learn how to combine spices, because I chose these measurements at random and the dish turned out bland but SPICY. My mouth was on fire so I immediately grabbed some dried apricots for dessert.

And that’s that! El Paso tomorrow and the hotel has free wi-fi so hopefully you’ll hear from me there!

But first, answer me this:

  • Do you multitask? Do you always have to be doing two things at once?
  • How the heck do I learn how to spice my dishes? What goes well together and in what amounts?

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Mrs Fish permalink
    December 29, 2010 8:19 pm

    I’m horrible at multi-tasking. When watching TV, my laptop is open, or I’m grading papers. It’s been better this week, but sadly…it’s because we haven’t had school the past 10 days!

  2. irene permalink
    December 29, 2010 8:35 pm

    The apples with yogurt and cinnamon look so delicious

  3. December 29, 2010 8:54 pm

    I’m not that good at multi tasking! haha. I’m semi-okay. LOL
    I agree with Irene! The yogurt and apples look good! I love dippin a dip!

  4. December 29, 2010 9:25 pm

    girl!

    1) i LOVE how you appreciate simplicity and the basics.
    2) hehe that banana story cracks me up!
    3) i alsways multitask. in fact, i think i fuction better that way.
    4) CONGRATS on the the marathon. i just saw that.
    5) your dinner looks amazing…a definite must-try, as is the Amy’s burrito. i always look at them in the grocery store, but i still haven’t tried them.

    be safe travelin’, darlin’!

  5. December 29, 2010 10:24 pm

    you are so freaking CUTE!
    oh my gosh- im a TERRRIBLE multi tasker! tyring to get better tho πŸ™‚

  6. Lauren permalink
    December 29, 2010 11:33 pm

    I feel like all girls try to multitask because we always have so many different thoughts running through our heads! Plus, at least for me, if I sit down to watch tv or read I start to think about other things I could be doing or what I want to do the next day, etc.

    Do you use a garmin for your runs? I’m hesistant to spend so much on a watch (even though its on an incredible sale!)…I don’t want to regret not getting it, though.

  7. squigglefloey permalink
    December 30, 2010 1:22 am

    Haha I love the title of this post. I’ve burnt many a thing in the microwave– not just popcorn, so don’t feel bad. I have the problem of always having my comp open as well, I realized that I def. need to close it if I want to watch a movie and pay attention…because more than not it’s always open.

  8. December 30, 2010 2:32 am

    I’m constantly multitasking. I rarely just watch TV – I get bored or fall asleep, so I’m usually doing something else at the same time.

    As for spicing, the best I have is trial and error. You just have to keep adjusting until you find the mix that suits you!

  9. December 30, 2010 8:49 am

    I’ve been meaning to read that book. I’ve heard mixed reviews, so it’s nice to know that you enjoyed it.

    That’s crazy that a banana caught on fire! Must have been a strange smell. πŸ˜‰

  10. Melissa @ HerGreenLife permalink
    December 30, 2010 9:36 am

    For seasoning, go light on the spicy stuff, at least to start. I often use 1/8 t. of red pepper in an entire recipe, so I can see how that made a single serving painfully hot. The curry powder should not have added too much heat, but that depends on the variety. You can always add more spices when something tastes bland, but it’s harder to correct if you add too much!

    • December 30, 2010 9:43 pm

      Thank you so much for the tips! I guess I used wayyy to much red pepper! I guess I’ll just start with small amounts of some basics and go from there. If you have any favorite spice combos, let me know!

      Clare

      *Clare Brady* https://fittingitallin.wordpress.com

  11. December 30, 2010 11:40 am

    Bahahaha, way to go! I’ve set a couple things on fire myself, lol. I love that rugby shirt – Ralph Lauren?

  12. December 31, 2010 8:21 am

    burnt bananas look creepy! Glad it still tasted delicious though.

    I have also been LOVING pain PB lately. There was a while where i was so into almond butter that i didnt even go near PB but its back in my heart… although justins maple hasnt gone anywhere πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

