Skip to content

2010 Inspiration Board

December 30, 2010

Looking back, 2010 was a HUGE year for me!

At the beginning of January 2010  I had been:

  • A vegetarian for 7 days
  • Running for 5 weeks
  • An almost Yogi! (I started Bikram that week)
  • Completely unhappy about my weight and appearance
  • In COLLEGE
  • Single

Based on the above, I decided to make some changes and get myself back to a place where I was happy and healthy. Right when I got back to school second semester, I took the advice of The Fitnessista and made myself and inspiration board.

And from the looks of it, I was definitely inspired! I keep this board on my desk and glance at it occasionally as a reminder of what is important to me (or was at the time). I actually was kinda sad I didn’t have any 2010 goals to write about on the blog, but I think this inspiration board is the perfect way to gauge how my year as been.

Let’s start at the top left and work our way around clockwise.

1. Go to Church

I’ve been very good about this! I was raised Catholic, but Church always seemed like an obligation. Once I hit college, I actually became much more religious/spiritual. I tend to go to Church by myself every weekend because my Dad goes while at work at the hospital and my mom is actually Presbyterian. My brothers are not church goers. And even though I’m still figuring out where I stand in regards to every aspect of my religion, an hour at Church each week gives me time to reflect and talk to God.

2. Run The Holy Half Marathon

Done! I trained for and ran my first half marathon in under 2 hours! This is one of my proudest accomplishments to date, as I had never thought I would be able to call myself a “runner”. Training for this race also helped me lose weight and find a healthier relationship with food because I had to fuel myself properly for long runs!

3. Maintain Weight Loss / Get Fit

At the time I was just beginning to shed the extra pounds on my frame. Having been underweight and overweight in the past, I really wanted to maintain my weight loss and get to a healthy point where I could stay permanently. By the end of spring I was back at a happy weight for me and have maintained that weight within a few pounds ever since. I’ve done this through more running, Bikram Yoga, and incorporating weight training. Exercise is now part of my daily life and I’m happier and healthier than ever!

4. Play the harp

Success! In the spring I played regularly with three friends, and now that I’m back in St. Louis I’m taking lessons again. I definitely could do better — daily practice would be a great thing — but I’m glad I haven’t lost the skill completely.

5. Eat well, Eat Clean, Eat what works for me!

My eating habits have changed drastically over the past year. Not only am I a vegetarian, but I’m no longer eating foods because they are low calorie or low fat. Now I eat fats, carbs, veggies and the occasional (or extremely often and way too much) treat, but I make most of my foods REAL. I try to buy organic when I can and always read ingredient lists.

My eating isn’t perfect though. I still can get anxious around food and sometimes lose control with binging. I don’t know that I’ll ever have a perfectly “normal” relationship with food, but I am doing way better and working at it every day!

6. Get Sleep

Yep. I’m a grandma.

7. Go out with friends!

I did AWESOME with this in the spring, and I’ll credit second semester senior year with that. I probably went out and drank TOO much! But I’m finding myself slipping back into bad habits now that I’m at home and working. I used to avoid going out because I didn’t want to be confronted with unhealthy food and drink, and I think I still don’t trust myself in those situations. But I need to recognize that going out with my friends keeps me sane and happy, and I should allow myself to have fun more often! It’s always a decision between going out and having fun and needing rest and relaxation. I just want to keep the two balanced.

*****************************

I’m pretty happy with the way the year has gone for me. So much has changed. Once I finally became happy with myself an awesome relationship popped up (always happens that way right? Gotta love yourself first). I have now run 8 races and am training for a full marathon. I work full time and bought a car! I’m at a healthy weight, cooking more than ever, and experimenting with new foods. I have a BLOG!!

So now I need to work on my inspiration board and come up with some goals for 2011. I just read Angela’s post on her goals and love that she said she likes having some incomplete goals at the end of the year because it means her list was not to easy but not too hard. I think I’ll try for that too.

I originally intended to put my 2011 goals on this post, but I’m not ready to yet. I want to give myself more time to think about my goals and make sure they are complete, measurable, and worthy. So expect those sometime in the coming days.

 

For now,

  • What were your 2010 Goals? Did you complete them?
  • What did 2010 mean for you as a year?
5 Comments leave one →
  1. squigglefloey permalink
    December 31, 2010 12:13 am

    You should be SO proud of your accomplishments this year!!! Looks like 2010 was an amazing year of growth for you–wishing you all the best in 2011 😉

  2. December 31, 2010 3:17 am

    Thats so awesome! Looks like you grew a ton!
    I have definitly changed my relationship with food this year. It went through a rough patch with my binge and bulimia , post-anorexia but things are really going great and I like you said things are getting better everyday!

    I know! Relationships always pop up when you decide to not focus on them and just focus on you you are as a person!:)
    I think God designed it that way!

  3. Mrs Fish permalink
    December 31, 2010 8:12 am

    I LOVE the idea of an inspiration board for yearly goals. It looks like 2010 was a great year for you!

    2010 was a year of transition for me. I got engaged, planned my wedding, moved out my roommates house, moved in with my fiance, got married, started a new school year, and began blogging.

    Happy 2011! I hope it’s another wonderful year for you!

  4. December 31, 2010 11:53 am

    what a GREAT IDEA!!!! looks like God was good to you in 2010 🙂 🙂 He rewards His children!!! and you deserve all those blessings!

  5. Jenni permalink
    December 31, 2010 4:34 pm

    I love reading your blog! I just registered for the Go St. Louis (half) marathon too! It’s my first one so that’s my big goal of 2011 so far! I need to work on the going out too–I’m either wanting to go out all the time and then not taking very good care of myself, or I’m the opposite extreme where I think if I go out and have a few beers that it will derail my efforts. Hopefully 2011 brings good healthy times! Happy new year!

Leave a Reply

