Skip to content

2011 Goals

January 1, 2011

source

 

So here they are. My goals for 2011. There are so many things I want to improve about my life and my character in 2011, but I’ve paired them down to 5 categories and a few specifics in each. Here goes:


1. Family & Friends

My relationships are the most important parts of my life. Without my family and friends I’d be miserable! In 2011 I will try to be a happier and more pleasant person to be around. Even when I get stressed or anxious, I want to lean on my family and friends for support instead of pushing them aside and treating them rudely. I want to spend more quality time with both friends and family instead of holing myself up on my computer or shying away from social events. I need to show them how much they really mean to me! To do this, I will eat dinner with my parents more often. Even if we aren’t eating the same thing, that time at the end of the day to unwind and talk is really nice. I also want to tell my Dad I love him more. I know this will mean a lot to him

As for my friends, I will make more of an effort to talk to each of my friends and keep up to date on their lives. I have tons of friends all over the country these days, so in 2011 I want to visit at least one of them. I would love to commit to more than that, but with a job change coming up and not many days off, I don’t think that is a realistic goal. So I hope to see one of you soon! (Molly, Dani, Jillian, Liz, Claire, Rachel, Mary Cecilia…! Laura, Kim, & Jackie don’t count because I get to see them anyway 😉 )

2. Health and Fitness

I strive to be at a point where health and fitness are a priority and remain a passion, yet do not take over my life or become a burden. In 2011 I want to successfully complete my first marathon – regardless of time, walking breaks, or fear of failure. And even with all of my cardio goals, I also want to focus on more strength training. It is so important for healthy bones and a healthy body, and finding a more complete and challenging strength routine would be great for me!

As for my eating, I want to continue to work on a more “normal” and intuitive eating schedule. I find that during the week I sometimes am anxious about eating and extra apple if I’m hungry, yet on weekend binges I’ll throw caution to the wind and eat 10 cookies. This clearly makes no sense and I want to get to a point where I can enjoy a cheesy slice of pizza during the week without guilt, but also eat just a few desserts and feel satisfied on other nights.


3. Faith

This year I will continue going to Church weekly. My new goal is to Pray every day – even if it is a simple “hello” to God on my way to work. I would really love to become more involved with my Parish and perhaps do a Church retreat, but with me moving to a different city this summer I don’t know if that is a realistic goal right now.


4. Career

Throughout the year I want to continue to explore what my passions are through blogging, career shadowing, and perhaps a Nutrition Certification. However, at the moment I need to recognize that changing career paths may not be the most responsible or realistic path for me and so I need to be the best where I am RIGHT NOW.  I really need to start doing giving my all at work – going above and beyond and focusing 100% on each task, even if it is tedious or irritating.

Recently I’ve been thinking that social media may be an area of interest for me, so I’d like to speak to someone in that area of my company.

5. Personal

Own who I am. This past year has been huge for me in that arena in multiple respects. Finally opening up to my boyfriend about my eating disorder and continuous struggles taught me that I need to be 100% honest in order to be happy. If my boyfriend wasn’t going to accept that part of me, then he wasn’t the right person to be with. (Thankfully he was totally supportive and listens to me cry while saying the right things to make me feel better.) Similarly, telling everyone about my blog has actually brought me closer to friends and family. Blogging is something that makes me happy and I shouldn’t be ashamed of ME! This year I want to own who I am with even more confidence and remove any toxic or unsupportive relationships from my life. I am ME. and I ROCK.

**********************************

I’m happy about these goals, but would love your feedback on them. I see inspiration board making in my future – perhaps with dinner and a movie tonight?

And for fun, my vary vague 2011 horoscope. It’s actually pretty accurate – with a career change and move to a different city this summer!

Year 2011 brings in immense gains for Libra people. The year promises to be a relaxed period when there will be normalcy in all life situations. This is the year of stability for Librans when they peace and prosperity comes naturally. In spite of many successes, there may be some disappointments and failures. Money matters and career related issues will bother Libra people during first half of year while second half promises to be bright. There may be some changes in place of residence of work in last part of year and change will be for better. For health, 2011 is a good year for Libra people.

 

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2011 9:54 am

    Yes, my dear, you certainly DO rock! This is gonna be the year to own the fabulousness!

  2. January 1, 2011 1:55 pm

    I loved your 2011 goals, Clare!
    I’m sure you can conquer them all. I felt like I could relate so much to the family/friend topic – definitely something I want to do this year, too.
    Happy New Year, love!
    xoxo

  3. January 1, 2011 3:04 pm

    Rockin Clare!
    Honestly I don’t think there was one up there I could not totally relate with.
    I especially like the family goal. I avoid my mom at all costs she irritates me and nags. and I am not nice to her when I get stressed.
    I also loved the one about prayer!
    I love you girl! 🙂

  4. January 1, 2011 3:59 pm

    these are great goals 🙂 i love the one about you wanting to eat dinner with your parents more often! i think some of the greatest conversation happens over the dinner table! no?

    enjoy 2011 girl! it’ll be as good as you make it!

  5. squigglefloey permalink
    January 1, 2011 5:52 pm

    Hi girlie 🙂 I really feel you on the relationship/friendship one. I don’t know where I’d be without my friends and family and the BF. Sometimes when I’m stresesd/anxious I tend to be moody and push them away instead of leaning on them for support. I can completely relate to you on that one — I really want to make the effort to be better on that front as well.
    I have total faith you will make this year a wonderful one!

  6. January 1, 2011 7:59 pm

    Hey gorgeous! I just need to copy and paste your goals onto my blog. It’s really encouraging to know that there are other girls going to the same things as me out there, especially family stuff. Maybe we can all keep each other accountable. I’m definitely praying for you!

  7. Mrs Fish permalink
    January 1, 2011 8:14 pm

    What a wonderful set of goals! I can’t wait to see your inspiration board. I’ve decided to work on one word this year: contentment. Being content with my career, my relationships, where we’re living, etc. Being content with the blessings I have.

Trackbacks

  1. My 2011 Inspiration Board! « Fitting It All In
  2. Reader’s Request: Why I Started Blogging (& Yoga-ing!) « Fitting It All In
  3. Noochy Oats « Fitting It All In
  4. Spreading The Love « Fitting It All In
  5. We Got Punked « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

