Skip to content

Snow Bowl 2010

January 1, 2011

The Sun Bowl in El Paso should have been called the SNOW bowl this year! Instead of arriving to the typical 60 degree weather, we arrived to crazy wind and rains that quickly changed to snow. It was COLD.

Snow on a palm tree

Thursday

morning at home started with a workout! I ran 3 miles at the gym followed by 15 minutes on the elliptical and then some abs and weight machines.Back at home I showered and finished packing, and made an AB& Banana sandwich for the road.

Flights left late so lunch was super rushed and limited in options. I grabbed Southwest Salad from McDonalds (no chicken) and also had an apple and Smores Luna Bar that I had brought with me.

Dinner was a University sponsored function and I wasn’t banking on any vegetarian options, so I got a $9 (!!)ย  fruit plate at the hotel to fill me up.

On the way to the Pep Rally and dinner it started to snow pretty hard. The pep rally was actually cut short, so we stayed inside and chatted. The caterers wereย  willing to provide a vegetarian option, but for some reason kept saying they didn’t have enough so I just went with the regular menu. The vegetarian option was lasagna anyway, and I don’t always think cheesy pasta is better than the rice and vegetable sides that come with the meat dish.

The salad was great — similar to my McDonald’s salad with black beans and corn. I ate around the chicken and beef entree and filled up on wild rice, green beans, and tomatoes. And of course a piece of and a half of chocolate cake for dessert, along with plenty of red wine:) YUM.

Me, Kev, Dad

**************************************

Friday

was another early workout at the hotel gym. I did 45 minutes on the elliptical followed by some free weight arm exercises. Then I showered and hit up the hotel buffet with Dad. It was great (and covered by the University ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) I had some oatmeal with banana, as well as some scrambled eggs and fresh fruit.

Then we layered up and hopped on the bus to head to the University Tailgate! The forecast had predicted a high of 48 and sunny, but it turns out it was 30 and snowing. I was NOT prepared!

Kevin & Me

I had 2 beers at the tailgate in efforts to get a beer jacket on me, and once into the stadium I ate my prepacked AB& Banana sandwich and tons of Kevin’s popcorn. I don’t even like popcorn, but it was taking my mind off of the fact that I couldn’t feel my feet. I was really really miserable and ended up leaving after the first quarter. With my low blood pressure two pairs of socks & boots weren’t enough to keep me warm. I felt terrible wasting the ticket, but it wasn’t worth it to feel so awful for the whole game. Instead I warmed up in our hotel room’s bathtub and watched the rest of the game on TV under the covers.

Proof I was there!

At the hotel I had a free chocolate chip cookie and an apple. Then after the game my Dad and I went to the Notre Dame Mass at St. Joseph’s Church in El Paso. It was said by the Bishop and was a lovely way to end the year.

El Paso lights up a star on one of the mountains for Christmas!

We arrived back to the hotel to find this:

but quickly woke his butt up to head to a great Mexican meal! We originally went to the highly recommended L&J’s to find that they closed at 7pm? What? Frustrated from paying the cab fare to get there, we called the next recommended restaurant and made our way over to Kiki’s.


We devoured some homemade guac & salsa, and I enjoyed two Mexican beers throughout the meal. I was disappointed to hear they didn’t have any vegetable fajitas, so I went with the tilapia tacos. Serious case of “wow this is too much food” and then you realize 10 minutes later that you finished it. Oops.

The taco shells were crisp and greasy, the beans were refried and covered in cheese, and I apparently didn’t care at all.

My dad and brother both got some brisket dish that was featured on “The Best Thing I Ever Ate”. They didn’t really feel that way, but said it was decent.

We stopped at Walgreens on the way back to the hotel where I picked up ear plugs (dad SNORES), peanut M&Ms (I was stuffed but had been craving them!) and a $6 bottle of champagne (bad bad call). My brother went out with a few guys he knew from school, but I opted to stay in and watch the ball drop with my Dad. We did a quick cheers around 10pm when the ball dropped in NYC, and I was passed out by 11:20.

Party Animal


Probably the worst Champagne I've ever had.

Happy New Year!

***********************************

Saturday

is a rest day for me as I have 11 miles scheduled for tomorrow. My dad and I woke up around 8am, but he book our flights for later in the day since he knew Kev-o wouldn’ t be in the best shape. Since I ate ZERO vegetables yesterday, I poured a packet of chocolate amazing meal from home into my morning coffee. It didn’t mix well, but gave the coffee a slight mocha flavor and made me feel a little better about my insides.

I was still stuffed from the night before, but give me a breakfast buffet and I’ll manage to eat. Same as yesterday.

We lounged in the hotel room before heading to the airport around noon. I grabbed a veggie sandwich at Quiznos for lunch, and also had a psuedo cranberry Lara bar and an apple with AB throughout the flights. Now at home I just heated up a can of Amy’s Split Pea soup with some black beans and corn bread.

It’s Inspiration Board making time!!

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2011 9:57 pm

    Gotta love Mexican Food!!
    How old are you btw?

  2. January 2, 2011 7:57 am

    i am so glad that someone else has those “i can’t believe i just finished that” experiences ๐Ÿ˜‰ good for your for getting M&Ms if you were craving them. why don’t we live closer?!

  3. January 2, 2011 9:10 am

    Looks like you had a great NYE trip! I didn’t make it until midnight either! I think I crashed around 10pm!

  4. January 2, 2011 3:13 pm

    Sounds like a great trip, Clare!
    I bet you guys had fun ๐Ÿ™‚
    Gosh, me and my Dad just can’t sleep on the same room.
    He doesn’t just snore…
    He snores LOUDLY! And ALL NIGHT LONG!
    It just drives me crazy, haha.
    I wish I could find some earplugs around here!
    ๐Ÿ™‚
    Happy 2011, girl!
    xoxo

  5. January 4, 2011 11:12 am

    I can’t get over PRETZEL m&ms! For some reason the peanut m&m’s don’t do it for me but those pretzel m&ms are like kryptonite ! have you ever tried them before?

Trackbacks

  1. My 2011 Inspiration Board! « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

