Skip to content

My 2011 Inspiration Board!

January 2, 2011

I ran eleven miles on a treadmill today. Call me crazy, but I have started to like seeing how far I can push myself on a treadmill. It had always been 8 miles since last spring, then 9 two weeks ago, and now 11!

Truthfully I’m just terrified of running outside after losing feeling in my fingers during the Frostbite 10M and then losing feeling in my toes at the Sun Bowl. Super cold weather +Β  low blood pressure = wimpy Clare. It was 25 degrees this morning, so 2 hours of House Hunters with adequate water and warmth sounded better. I just set the speed to 6.5mph and coast my way on through! I took a bathroom break at mile 8, which was a nice way to split it up and know I only had 3 miles left. My legs are a little tight, but I feel pretty good. I just think the people that work at my gym think I’m insane. I should wear a “Training for a Marathon” sign on my back.

Breakfast on my kitchen floor. Sandwich thin with TJ’s almond butter & half a banana. Not a ton of fuel for a long run, but I was still feeling the chocolate and cornbread I ate last night. I brought a Clif Mocha Energy Gel with me in case, but didn’t need it.

**Side Note – I was told this weekend by a marathon runner that eating while on treadmill runs is awful. She said the consistent pace means your stomach isΒ  constantly bouncing while digesting instead of your body naturally slowing the pace like when you are outside. Anyone else experience this?**

After my run I made a TJ’s stop to grab some spinach and soy milk for a green monster! Sad news: can’t find my Xantham Gum. How can something like that just disappear? Kind of sad kind of happy news: I finally used my peanut flour in place of the usual vanilla protein powder. I put in 2 TBSP but neglected to realize it wasn’t sweetened so the smoothie wasn’t quite as delicious as usual.

While doing laundry, catching up on blogs, and finishing my inspiration board I noshed a few things:

Sandwich on TJ's Sprouted Grain with TJ's hummus, spinach, tomato and TJ's Tabbouli. Love this sandwich. An apparently love Trader Joe's.

Honey Crisp!

I also finished off the bag of baby carrots and drank a bajillion cans of La Croix. Liquid Cocaine to me.

Dinner was a family affair since my little brother’s girlfriend and her sister are in town! My mom made some sort of chicken & prociutto main dish, but I had a TJ’s chicken-less stuffed thing instead. We also had risotto (cooked in vegetable broth without cheese to please moi πŸ™‚ ), green beans, and sauteed mushrooms. This is a good example of how I can eat with my family even if we don’t eat the exact same thing. Check me out, following through on my goals.

 

Seconds of risotto and green beans.

Until today, I had no idea that the term “risotto” only referred to the rice and cooking method. I assume all risotto was super cheesy and rich. My mother taught me better though.

 

And finallyyyyy The Inspiration Board!!

I didn’t try to specifically write out my 2011 goals, but more just find quotes and phrases that mean a lot to me. I also didn’t include pictures of running women or six pack abs because I don’t want to compare myself to them! This is not about getting the perfect body, it’s about being healthy and happy as ME:)

  • Did you make an inspiration board? Send me a picture or link to it!
  • What’s the farthest you’ve run on a treadmill? Do you prefer treadmills or outdoor running?

GOOO RAMS!!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa @ Dishes of Mrs. Fish permalink
    January 2, 2011 3:36 pm

    When I trained for a marathon two years ago, my longest treadmill run was 9 miles. I had a great core group of friends that I made with Team in Training, and our Saturday runs were gossip sessions. So I braved the cold to be with them. Whenever I was going to be on the treadmill longer than an 1 hour, I’d stop after a half hour and walked around for a few minutes. Just to be able to feel my legs. πŸ™‚ Great job!

    I love your inspirational quote board!

  2. January 2, 2011 9:17 pm

    girrrrl! i’m so proud of your treadmill training. i hate the treadmill and have NO idea how you do it! i am LOVING the inspiration board (which magazines did you look at?). i’m working on mine and will send it to you. dinner looks yummy! annnnd, yaaaaaaaaay Rams…i’m a huge Sam Bradford fan! it’s fun to see guys in the NFL that we went to college watching πŸ˜‰ xoxoxoxo, aSn

  3. January 2, 2011 10:48 pm

    AMEN GIRL. You should not compare youself. You are absoltely stunning just the way you are πŸ™‚
    do you run long distance to burn calories or to test your running abilities? Just make sure its not the ED talkin to ya!

  4. squigglefloey permalink
    January 2, 2011 11:40 pm

    Girrrllllllllll 11 miles? I can’t even WALK 11 miles! (unless I had to). Wow, you are killing it this year so far!!! Just don’t kill yourself haha.
    Thanks for posting pics of what you eat when you’re eating with a family that doesn’t eat what you do. I basically do the same thing — just have sides of everything else and leave out the main meat portion that my dad and brother usually go for. πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful first week of the new year!

  5. January 3, 2011 12:17 am

    I love your inspiration board! πŸ™‚

    I made oneand posted it here: http://torontogirlwest.com/2011/01/if-you-can-see-it-you-can-achieve-it/#comments

    Funny thing, is I used the exact same “100% committed” cut-out. You know what they say about great minds!!! πŸ˜›

  6. January 3, 2011 2:26 am

    wow- great job! I hate treadmill running, so that’s awesome:)

  7. January 3, 2011 9:51 am

    Happy New Year Clare! I am so proud of you (and slightly jealous!) for running 11 miles on the treadmill. Did you listen to music the entire time??

    I cannot eat whatsoever during a run.. I will get terrible indigestion and just burp the entire time. I rely instead on coconut water to fuel me through… if it’s a long run, I’ll have half of a gel before.

  8. January 3, 2011 10:57 am

    I have eaten on the treadmill regularly and it never bothered me. I used to work out 6:45am and I would wake up 6:30, grab a larabar, and be out the door.

  9. January 3, 2011 11:07 am

    Love your inspiration board. I stumbled upon your site thanks to Twitter. I look forward to reading more as I begin my journey to get fit!

    I made an inspiration board as well!! Happy New Year!

    xo,
    Ms. B. BAD

  10. January 4, 2011 9:17 am

    what is your recipe for the green monster? I have been looking to make a shake like that but I am unsure of the amounts and exactly what I should put in to make it taste good.

Trackbacks

  1. My Four Things « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

