Skip to content

Simple Dinner: BBQ Tofu with Brussel Sprouts & Sweet Potato Fries

January 4, 2011

What’s a girl to do when she leaves work?

Go spend all the money she makes.

I’ve really wanted plain white dishes for a while now, as I think they are a elegant backdrop that lets the food really shine in pictures. My parents dishes are just clear glass and are pretty scratched up. So I decided to get some inexpensive ones at Home Goods – just one of each size – and hopefully my pictures will be a little better now!

 

The (Home) Goods.

 

 

I’m also going to run down to my mom’s sewing room and grab some fabric scraps to use as “place mats”.

***********************************

 

When I got home, I had my new favorite snack of a slice apple dipped in sweetened Greek yogurt while reading about St. Louis’ latest Debutant Ball. None of the dresses were that impressive this year, unfortunately!

And then I got cookin’. Menu tonight was BBQ baked tofu, roasted brussel sprouts, and sweet potato fries.

This stalk of brussel sprouts was HUGE! In order to prep them for baking, I tore them off the stem, sliced off the end, removed the outer leaves, and then sliced them in half.

The brussel sprouts were mixed with 1/2 a chopped onion and coated in some Olive Oil cooking spray, black pepper, and garlic powder. I also peeled and sliced one sweet potato into fries, and these were coated in cooking spray, sea salt, and black pepper. A half a block of firm tofu was pressed in between paper towels for about an hour, and then half the block was sliced and marinated in 1 tbsp of a new *non HFCS* BBQ Sauce that I also got at Home Goods.

All of it was put on two foil lined baking sheets, and placed in the oven at 400 degrees for 35 minutes. After 35 minutes, I switched the oven to broil for another 5 minutes.

With a little extra BBQ sauce for dipping, dinner was served! Half of the tofu and sweet potato fries were saved for tomorrow’s lunch, but I got about three servings out of the brussel sprouts so some are still in the fridge for another time.

I love my new plate:)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 8:22 pm

    oh! i love your new placemat too! 🙂 homegoods is seriously the place to go for like everything and anything! i got one of my best friends bridal shower gifts there and it was gorgeous!

  2. January 4, 2011 8:28 pm

    I am training for a half marathon too…I did a 6 miler yesterday as it was raining and miserable outside and was DYING. Hopefully, my long 9 miler will be sometime this week. But, I totally love roasted brussel sprouts, they are so delicious!

  3. Lisa @ Dishes of Mrs. Fish permalink
    January 4, 2011 8:28 pm

    I’ve been wanting some white plates for awhile, but my husband INSISTS our Fiestaware, takes great pictures. It causes some heavy duty glares in photos, I love your plates! A trip to Homegoods may have to happen soon!

  4. January 4, 2011 8:33 pm

    Everything looks so good! I loveee your new plates!
    Thats what I want to spend some of my x-mas money as well!
    I figure its my passion and hobby!

  5. January 4, 2011 9:18 pm

    If I lived closer to a Home Goods I would be there all the time!!

  6. Olympe permalink
    January 5, 2011 4:35 am

    Love your new plates!

  7. January 6, 2011 10:47 am

    THANK-YOU SOOO MUCH for posting a tofu-how-to. i stood in Trader Joe’s the other day contemplating buying some but so unsure of how to cook it! I LOVE your dinner…and the plate. yes, that’s the best thing to do with $ (maybe) hehe…spend it! Love you, chica!

  8. January 6, 2011 10:48 am

    oh, and did you cook the tofu at all b/t pressing it b/t the paper towels and putting the BBQ sauce on it?

  9. January 7, 2011 8:32 pm

    Love the shape of the plates! Im totally buy random bowls and plates when i see them and get really excited about taking pictures with them haha…
    You dinner sounds right up my alley i love it!

Leave a Reply

