Skip to content

Out Of My Comfort Zone

January 5, 2011

I couldn’t wait to dig into my lunch today. I love having dinner leftovers – especially when they are my favorite foods! I remembered a little container of my new BBQ sauce too. I LOVE it! I was getting so frustrated that most popular BBQ sauce brands have High Fructose Corn Syrup as the first or second ingredient, so when I saw this natural one I snapped it right up.

After lunch I had a quick coffee date with my friend Leah. Leah and I Irish danced together all through gradeschool and high school, and she is now finishing up at George Washington with plans to move to the Middle East! CRAZY!

Leah is also an avid runner and has run a few marathons. She gave me some great training tips, including strengthening my legs. She unfortunately suffered a bad injury and told me that making sure ALL of your leg muscles, not just your quads, are in tip top shape would help prevent this.

Snack at work was apple & yogurt.

*****************************

After work I got to do something SUPER cool! My friend Maggie’s boyfriend Paddy (SHOUT OUT PADDY!) invited all of my friends to be in a Budweiser March Madness commercial. His dad works for AB and they needed people to go to the sports bar to be in the background of shots and also to play a new drinking game they are starting for the tournament.

Initially I said no. It is just my gut reaction to not go out on weeknights, especially when it involves drinking! But after convincing myself that I needed rest and relaxation at home, I realized I was being silly. I haven’t seen my friends wayyy too long, and I could still get there at 5:30 and leave to be home by 7 to make dinner. So I put myself out of my comfort zone and headed there after work!

The set!

The drinking game rules!

Handsome Gents + Mags

Irene, Me, Gracie, Mags

They were just starting to film the drinking game when I left, so I don’t know that I’ll actually be in the commercial at all, but I’m really glad I went! I was given just a teeny bit of trouble about not drinking, but nothing I can’t handle! And Dear Paddy: be so glad I didn’t published your close-up photo on the internet ūüôā

When I got home it was time to make a quick dinner. I had half a bag of TJ’s microwavable rice pilaf (loved it) along with some white beans and frozen broccoli cuts. A little siracha on top because Irene reminded me of how awesome it is.

Someone please tell me why they sell bags of the stems of broccoli? I’m always so disappointed to have so few of the leafy tree parts! Does someone really want just the stems?

And for a sweet ending, a little bowl of blueberries and pomegranate seeds.

Two things I need your advice on!

1. I want to make Fitting It All In business cards! No I do not think my blog is all that and that people are dying to keep my card in their wallet, but I do get a fair amount of questions about the blog and it would be so much easier to be able to hand people something with my URL on it rather than try to get them to write it down or remember it!

As a Graphic Design major, I’m pretty sure I can create a simple business card. But I would love for these to be awesome. (If anyone wants to do it fo free, lemme know). Also, do you guys think I need a blog logo? It’s something I was thinking about for the future, and for right now maybe having my “signature” just be my blog title¬†in a¬†cool typographic treatment is enough. I’ve always preferred typography to imagery anyway, much to the distress of my design professors.

  • Do you guys have any ideas for my business card? What it should look like? Colors? What information needs to be on it?

2. Where can I get the best deal on a YogiToes towel? We got¬†my mom one¬†for Christmas and quite frankly I thought I was going to get one too! My mom loves that it doesn’t move around during Bikram, and now I’m dying to have one for myself. They are relatively expensive, so if anyone knows where I can get a discount, hook me up!

Please pray for my Great Aunt Alice who has been in the hospital with influenza and is now being moved to Hospice. ‚̧

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa @ Dishes of Mrs. Fish permalink
    January 5, 2011 8:56 pm

    I get business cards for my classroom at Vistaprint. They have lots of templates, and their designs are typically free, you just pay for shipping. They have lots of cute templates.

    My husband loves siracha sauce. Puts it on everything. Pizza, sandwiches, veggies. Everything.

  2. Kate permalink
    January 6, 2011 3:03 am

    Barefoot Yoga (barefootyoga.com) has YogiToes towels on sale for ~$48. I think it’s about $10 off the normal price, and they ship out quickly (I got my mat there). Happy yoga-ing!

  3. January 6, 2011 8:36 pm

    I’m SO proud of you for getting out of your comfort zone…way to tackle that inspiration board! I’d like to see your graphic design skills at work for a logo. I’ve definitely been thinking about business cards too, but have NO idea how to do a logo. HEEEELP! maybe we can do them together. i love the idea!

Leave a Reply

