Skip to content

Lululemon & Tofu Casserole!

January 6, 2011

I managed to go to Lululemon and only by ONE thing. And it’s something I actually need!

 

Flow Y Bra IV

I’ve been wearing my Champion Sports Bras to Bikram, but I’m constantly messing with them and pulling them down. It really distracts me! I love Champion bras for regular work outs, but was really happy to find that this Lululemon bra was comfortable and stayed put. I’d love to have more of them. Perhaps in every color.

I tried on a bunch of spandex shorts and running tights too, but honestly wasn’t in love. I almost bought a pair of the Boogy shorts for yoga, but they weren’t that tight around my thighs and it kinda bothered me. For now I’ll stick to my Nike spandex, but the Lulu ones ARE pretty cute…

Then I went to J.Crew and got a tank top, a sweater, and tights for $25.

***********************************

Before I hit up Lululemon I had my snack of a honey crisp and greek yogurt.

The plan for dinner was to make the “Easy Vegan Kale Tofu Quiche” I saw on Gabriela’s blog a few days ago. I’m calling it Tofu Casserole because it’s easier.

Unfortunately the little market near work didn’t sell Kale, so I replaced it with spinach. I also ended up adding a splash of vegetable broth for some moisture. Here’s how it went down:

1. Tear a big handful of spinach into a mini casserole dish and top it with half of a chopped tomato.

2. Chop half a block of firm tofu (I used a teeny bit less because it seemed like a lot of tofu) and top with 1/8 cup of Nutritional Yeast. Never heard of Nutritional Yeast? It’s a protein powerhouse with a nutty cheese flavor that is often used in vegan recipes. Read more here!

3. Mash it all up with a fork

4. I decided to add a splash of vegetable broth and seasoned it with garlic powder, black pepper and a little bit of cumin.

5. Pop it in a 400 degree oven for 45 minutes

6. Dig In! I topped mine with a little green salsa, and ended up grabbing a piece of TJ’s Sprouted Grain bread for some carbs.

7. Eat half a green pepper straight up because you are craving crunch.

I really enjoyed this simple, protein-packed dish! When I saw it on Une Vie Saine I was immediately struck by the interesting use of tofu and nutritional yeast. I’ve had the nutritional yeast in the pantry for a while but only occassionally sprinkle it on pasta etc. Now I have none left 😦

The casserole can easily be seasoned to whatever flavor your little heart desires. Next time I think I might tear up the piece of bread and bake it in the casserole itself! And a fried egg on top would be awesome. And avocado. Oooh man…

***********************************

It’s almost Friday! My mom and I might go see Black Swan after work tomorrow, but we both can’t decide if we want to be creeped out. For now she and my dad are perfectly content watching Wipe Out.

  • Question: What do you own from Lululemon? Any favorites for yoga or running?

I’ve heard great things about the TataTamer but that isn’t quite my area of … expertise.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2011 8:29 pm

    Ohh yay I’m glad you enjoyed it!! I think adding the bread is actually an awesome idea- if you ever try that let me know!

    I love Lulu 🙂 Their scuba hoodie and Groove pants are my fave items!

  2. January 6, 2011 8:32 pm

    That’s the #1 thing on my lululemon wish list! i LOVE that bra. the girls told me that if i liked the Flo Y bra IV, then TataTamer wouldn’t be right (it’s for bustier girls apparently), but i tried it anyway. i didn’t like it. the Flo Y and 50 Rep are my favorites, and i really want some a Groove Crop…when $ grows on trees. annnnd whoa! on the casserole. i want some in front of me on a plate. NOW! hehe can’t wait to try it, and i just bought nutritional yeast to try. woohoo!

  3. January 6, 2011 10:41 pm

    I’m jealous of the deals you got at J. Crew!

  4. January 8, 2011 8:59 am

    tata tamer=AWESOME i usually have to wear 2 or even 3 sports BRAS! but i can wear the tata tamer solo and have tons of support im buying another one soon

Trackbacks

  1. My Pride & Joy « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

