Skip to content

Silly Skype

January 6, 2011

So when my boyfriend moved to Florida I gave him my old webcam (why do webcams always seem so dirty to me?) so that we could Skype. But then his laptop broke and he is waiting until he starts Law School to buy a new one. We went back to plain old phone calls for the past couple of months. But when he was home for Christmas he found a super old laptop at his house that works for internet, but has no sound. So now we can use skype to see each other, but have to talk on the phone at the same time. It’s slightly ridiculous. As are the awesome emoticon options that Skype has.

  • Do you use Skype?
  • Do you have a laptop with working sound that you want to give my boyfriend?

 

***************************

This morning’s training run was 3 miles, but when I was ready to hit the elliptical it was TAKEN! Darn you January Gym Goers.  It ended up being a good thing though because I used my long-lost friend the stair stepper for 15 minutes and was dripping! Then I stretched and did some light weights and abs. I used my normal routine but threw in some new moves that I got from you guys, such as the “plank to push-up” that Alex recommended! I want to try the hanging leg raises, but I’m too self conscious to do it in the middle of the weight room right now :/.

OUTFIT:

The last time I wore this skirt was St. Patrick’s Day. Just in case you were wondering.

I also left my first Operation Beautiful note at my gym! Kept it simple:)

 

 

FOOD:

Brought my Sunflower Seed Butter to work and used it today in my oats. I was contacted by a rep from the SunButter brand who told me they carry flax & organic versions. I won’t be buying another jar at the moment, but sounds like a good option for next time!

 

Lunch was a combo of leftovers — grains & white beans from last night and the remainder of my brussel sprouts from the night before. The Trader Joe’s rice mixture is pretty good – slightly spicy and a little salty. It has a couple different types of grain in it which makes for good texture variety. Nice for times when you’re in a hurry since it takes only 2 minutes, but any time I buy something pre-made I worry about sodium and ingredients.

 

 Contemplating a Lululemon trip this afternoon. I want some cute Yoga clothes, but the prices kill me!

****************************

I’ve received some wonderful feedback and emails about my blog lately, and it’s making me really really happy. You guys are great:) And if you are thinking about contacting me, please do! I love it!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2011 2:06 pm

    I love operation beautiful notes! They are so awesome!
    and your outfit is super cute today girl!

  2. Liz permalink
    January 6, 2011 2:07 pm

    Lululemon trip = way worth it! I was in there the day before I left (Sunday, I think) and they had some great tops on sale! In smaller sizes and normal colors, too! Do it!!

  3. Melissa @ HerGreenLife permalink
    January 6, 2011 2:07 pm

    Oh, January gym-goers. My last two years at ND, I worked in the fitness room at Rolf’s, and the entire time from after winter break until spring break was bad. At least at non-university gyms, it only lasts for one month instead of two or three 😉

  4. Alex permalink
    January 6, 2011 2:07 pm

    Yay! Glad you tried some of the new ab exercises 🙂 What did you think of the plank to push up? My clients hate them, but they’re so good for your abs, as well as for your chest and shoulders!

    Love your skirt btw, super cute!

    Have a great day lovely.

  5. Katherine: Unemployed permalink
    January 6, 2011 4:53 pm

    I really like the outfit. some days, I wish I had glasses. You rock them!
    PS: I love that you have operation beautiful; great job

  6. Lisa @ Dishes of Mrs. Fish permalink
    January 6, 2011 5:36 pm

    My husband travels for work a little bit, and we try to skype when he’s gone at least once.

    My sister in law is 13 and skypes with her friends all.the.time. 😉

  7. January 6, 2011 6:13 pm

    I have a skype account. My boyfriend and I have been using the video chat I. Gmail though!

    That sounds hilarious.

  8. squigglefloey permalink
    January 7, 2011 12:44 am

    Ahh! Sry I’ve sucked on commenting lately. Been super buzzzzie with the first week of school 😦 Muchos tarea para los clases! Thanks for tagging me on the 4 things! I promise I’ll get to it when I have time, heh heh.
    Funny that you mention skype. My boyfriend just installed it on my comp two weeks ago! I got a kick out of it the first time. He has a web cam but I don’t. So it was basically just me laughing at him the entire time.
    I totally agree that webcams have a dirty connotation, that I feel is traced back to American Pie? haha. For me at least.
    Anyways, I’m glad you’re doing good girlie! Your blog is growing SO much! 🙂

Leave a Reply

