Skip to content

My Pride & Joy

January 7, 2011

Yoga has been so freaking schweaty lately. And crowded. But the new Lululemon bra was AWESOME. I kept going to adjust my bra out of habit, but never needed too! That justifies purchasing more for sure.

 

Outfit:

This green/teal number would be one of the J.Crew purchases from yesterday’s $25 spree. Wool/Cashmere blend on final sale? Yes please.

FOOD:

Banana oats with TJ’s Sunflower Seed Butter.I love how melty and drippy it is:)

And for lunch, I met LB in a trendy area of St. Louis called The Loop. Before I left, I stuck an Operation Beautiful note in the bathroom. I thought it was fitting for a shoe company.


LB and I ate at a Syrian restaurant I’d never been to before called Ranoush. I love Middle Eastern food of all sorts, and was excited to try some new dishes.

I got two cold mezzas: Warnek Inab (Vine Leaves): Grape leaves stuffed with rice, pine nuts, currants and syrian spices & Moutabal: Grilled aubergines combined with garlic, green and red peppers.

Both dishes were good, but not outstanding. I expected more filling and flavor out of the stuffed leaves, but it was mainly rice. I also didn’t expect the aubergine to be as blended –it was more of a dip and I ended up sopping up the remainder with one piece of pita. See that pool of olive oil? I think my healthy fat levels are juuustttt fine.

LB and I also exchanged Christmas gifts! She got me an AWESOME Veggie Burger cookbook! I’ve flipped through and it has tons of interesting and unusual recipes. I was just thinking about making some to keep in the freezer, so this was perfect.

Lunch held me over really well, so I decided just to make an early dinner before seeing a movie with my mom and aunt. I had 3 egg whites scrambled with spinach, yellow and orange pepper. I also had a sweet potato topped with TJ’s black bean salsa, which unfortunately is more like a vinegary bean salad and didn’t taste great :(.

I also snuck one chocolate truffle on the way to the theatre.

*******************************

 

Today was the day I decided to suck it up and see Black Swan. I originally wanted to see it, but after hearing so many disturbing reviews I started to waver. But ultimately I needed to know what all of the hype was about! We all had a glass of pinot grigio during the movie.

So what did I think?

I wasn’t floored. I think I really psyched myself out expecting really gruesome scenes and an ending that would keep me up at night. There were definitely parts when I looked away, but I’m also a really big wimp when it comes to blood. I thought the end would be more shocking, but I left feeling just…indifferent. Yes the concept is kind of creepy, yes the acting was good, but it wasn’t mind blowing. I’m glad I saw it so that I can join the conversation, but I don’t think it was that amazing.

***************************

 

I was really looking forward to going out with friends tonight, but apparently tonight is the ONE night they all have reasons to stay in! Major bummer. But I made myself a treat to make up for it.

Ladies and Gentlemen, I present to you my pride and joy:

I’d been dreaming this up in my head all afternoon. It would be layers of stevia-sweetened greek yogurt, blueberries and raspberries, dark chocolate chips and a sprinkle of cinnamon. Now THIS was amazing! I could stand not to eat chocolate cake or ice cream ever again if I could have this every night. (Okay maybe not. But this hit the spot! And I think I’m mostly just proud that I tried to make it look pretty.)

Along with a bunch of pita chips and another bowl full of just chocolate chips, my evening snack was  delicious.

 

***********************************

  • What has excited you lately?

Aside from that dessert, I’m excited that I’m not running my 12 mile race in 5 degree temperatures tomorrow morning. I don’t normally back out of things, and it’s quite liberating.

 

 

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2011 5:17 pm

    I just found your blog via Katie’s (ktbwood) and I thought I’d say hi. I love your outfit and your Operation Beautiful note! 🙂

  2. Danielle permalink
    January 7, 2011 5:18 pm

    I’m excited because the first group of my boyfriend’s brigade returned from deployment today which means he will be back in a few weeks (or less!) from Afghanistan 🙂 I’m also excited to sign up for my first Warrior Dash – a little harder than a Run Amuck and less crazy than a Tough Mudder race

  3. January 7, 2011 11:25 pm

    Can I have your wardrobe?
    Thanks Cutie, I appreciate it! 😉

  4. January 8, 2011 8:16 am

    I have those same boots! Love them!

  5. Jennifer permalink
    January 8, 2011 8:24 am

    Completely agree about Black Swan. After hearing my family/friends go on and on about it over the holidays, i was determined to see what all the hype was about and went to see it Wednesday night. I was definitely surprised that there wasn’t some great twist at the end, or at least something that EXPLAINED everything. All in all, a great movie, but i left feeling “indifferent” as well.

  6. January 8, 2011 9:21 am

    love that sweater…J.Crew = J.Crack 😉

    Yoga has been exciting me a lot lately. I feel like I’m starting to become stronger and even see some physical results…how is that not exciting?

  7. January 8, 2011 3:16 pm

    I’m excited about my new pair of Big Star jeans! They’re my favorite brand and my husband doesn’t mind the price (too much) since they make my butt look amaaazing 🙂 Also, I’m excited about seeing more of your operation beautiful notes!

  8. Lisa @ Dishes of Mrs. Fish permalink
    January 8, 2011 3:50 pm

    I’m excited about my new dutch oven from Le Creuset! We scored one on a huge discount at their outlet today. I posted my favorite dutch oven recipe, WBCC, and then some of the porcelain chipped off. Since we use it so often, we just invested in the best. Their warranty rocks.

  9. January 8, 2011 8:45 pm

    im excited that i had nothing to do this weekend and can finally catch up on sleep and DE STRESS 😀 im also kind of excited to run 8 miles tm? At least i am right now, we will see how i feel about it in the morning haha

Trackbacks

  1. True Life: I Spend Too Much Time At My Gym « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

