Skip to content

Reader’s Request: Why I Started Blogging (& Yoga-ing!)

January 7, 2011

 Confession: I started my first blog over Christmas Break of last year. It was called “Blooming Stoon” (Stoon is my nickname and at the time I was just coming into my own in terms of eating, exercising, and self-love…hence “blooming”.) But I was in no way prepared or dedicated to having a blog. I did put up a few posts, but the blog was directionless and more importantly I wasn’t ready to tell anyone about it. I was embarrassed and a blog is really just an online diary unless you let other people read it. So sadly Blooming Stoon died after a few weeks.

But during that Spring I became even more engrossed in the blogosphere. I loved keeping up with my favorite bloggers, getting new food ideas, and following healthy women that exercised, ate well, and still had fun! Blogging made me believe it was possible for me ,too, and I dreamed about being part of that world. I wanted to talk to them, to share experiences with them, and be part of it all. I wanted to tell other people about my eating disorder and my recovery so that I could help them just like reading other blogs helped me. I wanted an outlet for my interest in health and nutrition that didn’t require quitting my job! I knew the only way to do all of this was to start my own blog.

I debated for months. Was I ready this time? Was I confident enough to let other people in on my struggles? Was I willing to put in the time and effort? I knew that if I started another blog it would be for real. I wasn’t going to half-ass this one.

is this funny? or not?

I brainstormed name ideas and checked to see if they were even available. (Apparently “Hello Health” is popular.) Then I sat down to write out the content of my pages. It was actually really relaxing and eye-opening to put into words all of the different areas of my life. It was the first time I’d sorted out my eating disorder from beginning to end, and I liked it.

Then I set up the blog! I picked a background image, although I’d love to have a logo one day and potential have a company create a personal template for me. I put up the pages and arranged my side bars. And then I wrote my first post!

For a while I still didn’t tell anyone, but got a few readers from leaving comments on other blogs. But I started to realize I LOVED having the blog and wanted it to grow, so I told people. First a few close friends, then all my friends, then my parents, and one fateful day all of Facebook got to know.

And so now I’m a blogger! I still get a little nervous that I’m putting so much out there, especially when I have people from high school and college, teachers and people’s Mom’s getting a look into my scattered brain. But just like one of my 2011 goals, I’m OWNING it. I would LOVE to be able to turn this blog into something bigger, even a career, and so I have to put work into it!

If you’re thinking of starting a blog, make sure you mull it over for a while. It’s definitely a time commitment, but for me it’s totally worth it.

*******************************

The yoga thing is a little less complex. Basically I’d read about the benefits of yoga, but had always thought it was some pansy stretching “work out”. When I found out about Bikram – a yoga class that would make me sweat and burn calories – I had to try it. I was so freaking nervous to go to that first class, but thankfully no one talks or looks around much. It’s just you and your body. And it felt incredible. I could tell from my first class that it would improve my flexibility and strength and leave me feeling cleansed. I was hooked! And the rest is history.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Cory permalink
    January 7, 2011 7:43 am

    Hi Clare! I definitely shared the same sentiments as you before I started yoga (only a month ago!!). Yoga was always before my strength training or Body Pump class at the gym and I just saw them laying on the floor thinking “Yeah, right, looks like some ‘work out’ to me!” But since my first class, I’m hooked! I can already feel more flexible and stronger overall. And yoga is like my natural anxiety medication 🙂 Love your blog, btw!

  2. January 7, 2011 7:45 am

    It’s nice to hear you went through many of the same things I’ve been going through in the past few months regarding starting your blog (like the process of slowly letting people in on it and then eventually everyone on FB!) It’s definitely a time committment but I’m obsessed with it now. Love your content & honesty!

  3. Lauren permalink
    January 7, 2011 12:04 pm

    Ah, thanks Clare! I’ve definitely been thinking about signing up at my local bikram studio (wish my gym offered it!) but I need to make sure that I can totally commit–as a grad student, time seems to disappear 😦

    Have a great weekend! I follow you on twitter and hope you go see Black Swan! I wanna see it but I think I”ll be too freaked out to sleep!

  4. Marla permalink
    January 7, 2011 12:57 pm

    Hi I was just wondering…I have only ever taken two beginners regular yoga classes before. I wanted to try bikram but do you think I need to do regular yoga for awhile first? Were you doing regular yoga before you started bikram? Thanks so much!

  5. January 7, 2011 5:58 pm

    I know how you feel about sharing your struggles with everyone! I felt that way too at first ! But i realized how much I learn from reading other peoples struggles so we might as well share and be of encouragement to each other!

  6. January 7, 2011 11:12 pm

    hey gorgeous! i can absolutely identify with the EXACT same blogging history and blessings of being vulnerable in this community of amazing women!

Leave a Reply

