Skip to content

Sick Day Succotash

January 9, 2011


That is why I get out of bed in the morning. Who said a decadent breakfast can’t be healthy?

2 Van’s Whole Wheat waffles topped with Oikos 0% plain, 1/2 banana, raspberries, and peanut flour sauce.

Just oogle a little more.

*

*

*

Okay. So yeah, I woke up still feel pretty crummy, but wanted to get out of the house so I stopped feeling so worthless. First stop was Blockbuster to RETURN Shawshank Redemption because it is broken and wont play in the DVD player. So frustrated — it was their only copy and it’s not on demand so I can’t watch it now! And the Priest told me to!

Anyway, next I spent too much money at Target and hit up the gym for a verrrryyy easy work out. 30 slow elliptical minutes with the newest Rachael Ray Magazine and then 15 minutes on the recumbent bike reading The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets Nest. I barely even broke a sweat, but it felt good to move my legs. I’m not going to worry about missing my 12 mile training run…I’ll survive.

When I got home, it was time for lunch. I wanted to make something warm with curry to clear up my sinuses. I rummaged around the pantry and fridge, and my Sick Day Succotash was born. It’s a succotash because the ingredients aren’t exactly a chili…and stew implies beef and gravy to me…and wikipedia said succotash was a corn and bean dish and so that’s what I called it.

SICK DAY SUCCOTASH

Makes 3 2-cup servings (for hungry girls like me! You could squeeze four smaller servings for sure).

Ingredients:

  • 1 TBSP Olive Oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 T curry powder
  • 1 t cumin
  • 1 t black pepper
  • 1 t sea salt
  • 1/2 cup vegetable broth
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 Sweet Potato, peeled and chopped
  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 1 can whole tomatoes
  • 1 can corn
  • 2/3 cup frozen peas
  • 2/3 cup drained and rinsed white beans
  • 2 big handfuls raw spinach

First, heat olive oil on stove top in a large pot over medium heat. Add diced garlic and let sautee. Then add spices. After a few minutes add celery and then de-glaze the pot with vegetable broth.

Next add the chopped sweet potato, can of tomatoes,and quinoa. Bring to a boil.

While it is boiling, add the can of corn, frozen peas, and beans. Stir to combine.

Reduce heat and let simmer until sweet potatoes are soft and quinoa is cooked through. Tear in the spinach and continue to let simmer to desired consistency.

I let mine cook for about 15 minutes and almost all of the liquid boiled off. It became a thick, hearty – just the way I like it!

I spooned a big serving into my Buddha Bowl and dug in.

This was JUST what I needed. The curry flavor came through nicely, but it was not overpowering. Each warm bite had a variety of melty textures and all of the healthy colors are certain to help me feel better in no time. I can’t wait to heat the extra servings up any time I need a quick veggie-filled meal.

****************************

My friend from high school just emailed me and said she found a cool cupcake blog, and even though “I’m not into sweets” I should check it out. It made me laugh. I ate almost a whole pint of Graeter’s Black Raspberry Chip Ice Cream last night. But it’s kinda nice to be thought of as “not into sweets”. It makes me feel…proper.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2011 3:26 pm

    Feel better soon! That succotash looks delish! Adding this to my recipe list. 🙂

  2. January 9, 2011 3:28 pm

    Gorgeous waffles! I’ve been thinking about getting that brand and making a semi-healthy version of Chicken and Waffles (a good old Southern dish.) Also, the succotash looks great. Sometimes those meals you just throw together and plop into a bowl are the best.
    Cheers!

  3. January 9, 2011 3:44 pm

    Hehe, not into sweets? That’s cute. That’s almost like when the coach told me that he’d never met anyone who could actually eat portions smaller than what the box says. I think he was referring to me eating like two chips or two pretzels…obvs he hadn’t seen me do some work on a box of cereal at that point! I was like…boy…are you crazy?

  4. Lisa @ Dishes of Mrs. Fish permalink
    January 9, 2011 6:32 pm

    Graeter’s should have you feeling better in NO time. 🙂
    It has magical powers don’t you know?

  5. January 9, 2011 6:59 pm

    I love your blog!! Adding it to my reader right now! Hope you’re feeling better 🙂

  6. January 9, 2011 10:52 pm

    Thats amazing lookin! Breakfast and the succotash!
    I hope you feel better Clare!!!!!!! 🙂
    Hope you have a beautiful week!

  7. January 9, 2011 11:10 pm

    ONE DAY i will make it to trader joes and i will finally buy peanut flour…….

  8. February 28, 2011 10:04 pm

    not only does the succotash look incredible but your breakfast waffles look orgasmic!! 😀

Trackbacks

  1. One Of The Searchers « Fitting It All In
  2. Stylish Blogger Award « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

