Skip to content

One Of The Searchers

January 10, 2011

Thanks for all the advice on the business cards! I haven’t completely decided, but I’m leaning towards #2. I love the simplicity of it and also that it will still be relevant even if I change my header or get a blog logo.

********************************* 

Last night’s dinner left me WAY too full. My parents brought home Dewey’s, which has some of the best and most interesting Pizzas I’ve ever tried! I had two slices of mushroom pizza and since the salad ended up having bacon bits in it, I microwaved some frozen veggies on the side.

Regular Picture

 

With my new lightbox! Much better, no?

I had a bunch of sliced pineapple for dessert and was stuffed….and that’s when my mom brought up four different kinds of ice cream for dessert. I should have said no because I was already full, but who was I kidding. Mint Chocolate Chip Graeter’s? Trader Joe’s Coffee? Frozen Mint Oreos? I couldn’t let that get eaten without trying some! SO I had a bowl of ice cream and two of the oreos. And proceeded to lay in bed with a stomach ache. Lesson Learned: Ice Cream is Delicious.

plus scoops straight from the carton.

*********************************

I contemplated sleeping in this morning or even getting my laptop and working from home, but I ended up feeling much better when I woke up. I knew getting back into my routine would be the best thing, so I drove straight to the gym for my 3-mile training run. I actually felt really great! Time off does wonders. And today was a music day, not a news-watching day. While TV can help pass the time, sometimes I need to just get in the zone and think. I write lot of blog posts in my head during runs:)

  • Mile 1: 6.6 mph
  • Mile 2: 7 mph
  • Mile 3: 7.5 mph

Then I did 15 minutes of intervals on the stairstepper, followed by abs and weights. When I say “weights” I mean lunges, bicep curls, squats, overhead presses etc using 10 lb weights. I usually just do 2 sets of 15 for each exercise. It’s not too strenuous…meaning I should probably increase my weight.

OUTFIT:

If there was ever a day for leggings and a comfy sweater, it’s a Monday coming off of an illness when it’s supposed to snow 6 inches.

FOOD:

I was still SO FULL from my weekend feasting that even after working out my standard bowl of oats seemed like too much. Instead I lightened it up and just spread some Sunflower Seed Butter on my banana. Oh and I finally brought a nice white plate to work to use for meals instead of throwing away paper plates every day. I already bring silverware from home, and I should have brought a plate a long time ago. Better late than never!

plain banana pictures are just weird looking. no matter what.

Lunch was actually provided by my company today as part of a celebration of the announcement of a new CEO. But it was a box lunch and the vegetarian option was a foccacia sandwich with mayo & chips. I’m trying to do a Real Food cleanse of sorts at the moment (like I do every Monday after weekend eating) so I opted out. Instead I ate what I had brought with me from home – leftover Sick Day Succotash. Easy to warm up in the microwave for a hearty, veggie-packed mid day meal.

It’s gonna be a LONG day at work. Hopefully this gives me the energy I need to get through it!

********************************************

I found this quote on Peace Love Nutrition and it really struck me:

“I am one of the searchers. There are, I believe, millions of us. We are not unhappy, but neither are we really content. We continue to explore life, hoping to uncover its ultimate secret. We continue to explore ourselves, hoping to understand. We like to walk along the beach, we are drawn by the ocean, taken by its power, its unceasing motion, its mystery and unspeakable beauty. We like forests and mountains, deserts and hidden rivers, and the lonely cities as well. Our sadness is as much a part of our lives as is our laughter. To share our sadness with one we love is perhaps as great a joy as we can know – unless it be to share our laughter. We searchers are ambitious only for life itself, for everything beautiful it can provide. Most of all we love and want to be loved. We want to live in a relationship that will not impede our wandering, nor prevent our search, nor lock us in prison walls; that will take us for what little we have to give. We do not want to prove ourselves to another or compete for love. For wanderers, dreamers, and lovers, for lonely men and women who dare to ask of life everything good and beautiful. It is for those who are too gentle to live among wolves.”

~James Kavanaugh

The parts in bold were especially meaningful to me. Though perhaps meant for a deeper interpretation, I related them to my own life. I’m not unhappy in my job — I rather like it and the industry I’m in — but I feel that there could be something more for me. Some passion that I live and breathe and isn’t just a job to me. And even though I am thankful for all of my blessings and happy with the decisions I make, sometimes thinking about the world with all of its problems and opportunities can make me sad. I wonder if I’m truly getting the most out of my life or if I’m missing something. If it is completely superficial of me to go about my routine on a daily basis without finding a bigger picture. And lastly the continuing search for a place where I am in loving relationships that allow me to be 100% myself. Relationships that don’t supress my passions but love me even more for them. I actually feel like I’m really getting there, both with the people I have in my life and the way I choose to live it.

And I’m getting way to emo even for myself right now. I’m actually kind of disturbed at how intense that got. So I’m going to stop for your sake and my sanity.

But tell me, what does that quote mean to you?

 

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 2:50 pm

    Hey!

    I’m so happy that quote resonated with you. When I read it I was deeply moved also. I couldn’t understand why I never felt completely fulfilled in life. I have an amazing boyfriend, loving parents who would do anything in the world for me, supportive friends, great job but I always wanted and itched for more in life. I’ve come to realize that this is ok and there are many people out there like me! Instead of thinking of this desire in a negative ‘unfulfilled’ sense I now think of it as I just have this need to learn and explore. I want to know and experience everything! And there’s nothing wrong with that : )

    xo

    Jocelyn

  2. Melissa @ HerGreenLife permalink
    January 10, 2011 4:08 pm

    Yay for the reusable plate! I thought I detected paper plates in your lunch posts, but I was never sure 😉 Besides the environmental benefits, it’s so much nicer to eat off of real dishes with real silverware. Another option is bringing your lunch in glass containers (with plastic lids) that can be microwaved. That’s what I usually do, though I also keep a plate at work, mostly for work potlucks and such.

  3. Amy permalink
    January 10, 2011 4:41 pm

    I love that you blog about your weekend pizza and ice cream meals and dont freak out or punish yourself with super overboard workouts…your blog is so real, and I really love it! Thank you for staying down to earth and not letting food blogging make you crazy! PS I love your comfy sweater outfit. 🙂

  4. January 10, 2011 4:47 pm

    What a cute sweater and outfit!

  5. January 10, 2011 7:32 pm

    Wow, your light box photos look GREAT! What wattage light bulbs are you using? I think mine might be a little too bright.

    The part of the quote that really spoke to me was this: “We want to live in a relationship that will not impede our wandering, nor prevent our search, nor lock us in prison walls; that will take us for what little we have to give.” I’ve had relationships in the past where I couldn’t be myself, and I won’t let that happen again.

    P.S. I wouldn’t pass up mint Oreo either. 😉

  6. January 10, 2011 8:49 pm

    your so pretty girl!!

  7. Lisa @ Dishes of Mrs. Fish permalink
    January 10, 2011 9:28 pm

    Dewey’s is just a delight. 🙂 Their salads are just as good as their pizzas! I loooove the house salad. 🙂 Their spirits are good too. Hubs loves that you can sample their beers before ordering!

  8. Natalie permalink
    January 11, 2011 9:47 am

    That quote is awesome. Sometimes I never really feel content, but this reassures me that it is ok to be that way in certain situations. Adorable outfit, by the way!

Trackbacks

  1. Page not found « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

