Skip to content

For The Love Of The…Race?

January 11, 2011

I had a dilemma last night.

My team had a 8am meeting scheduled for this morning, meaning I would have to get up extra early at 5:30am to get in my scheduled 6 Mile training run. Okay. That’s doable.

But then there was the impending snow storm. We were told at work that there would likely be a “late start” if the roads were bad, and that my company’s weather hotline and twitter account would be updated around 6am to let us know. Problem is, at 6am I would already be running.

So what do I do? Bank on bad roads and sleep in, or give my run top priority and set my alarm for 5:30am?

RUN, DUH. I didn’t have the option of running after work today since I have a meeting until 7 :30pm, so at 5:30 am I was up and at ’em. Yeah we got about 6 inches of snow, and the roads were terrriblleee, but I got my run in! And of course when I got back to shower, I had a twitter message saying we had an hour delay. Hmph.  

For The Love Of The…Race!

empty parking lot when you get to work early:)

Silver Lining: I got to watch 2 episodes of Boy Meets World.

***********************************

Backtrack to yesterday. I ended up having a plain bowl of oatmeal at work around 4pm to tide me over, and then made a simple dinner when I got home.

Dr. Praeger's on TJ's Sprouted Grain with laughing cow, spinach, and orange pepper. Apple & Greek Yogurt on the side.

 

Then I snacked on some tortilla chips and a cup of tea while watching The Bachelor and the National Championship. I AM SO GLAD he got rid of those two fighting girls. Michelle seems mean. And I love Jackie.

*************************************

TUESDAY

6 mile run went as planned with a little bit of stretching afterwards. Would have done more, but at that point I was still rushing to get to work for that 8am meeting. Oooh well.

OUTFIT:

 

I have a seminar after work tonight in the coldest part of the building, therefore my priorities today were 1. Look a little nicer 2. Pants. The striped top was one of my J.Crew Final Sale purchases the other day. And Uggs were put on immediately after taking this picture.

BREAKFAST:

Back to the oats! The SS butter is growing on me. It definitely reaks of sunfower seeds in my office when I get it out, but it’s yummy in the oats.

And now it’s back to slaving away over this report due tomorrow. Chugga-chugga, Chugga-chugga.

Hope you are all having a wonderful Tuesday. Is there snow where you are? Are you off school or work?

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Food & Other Things permalink
    January 11, 2011 10:36 am

    Yay for getting to watch Boy Meets World…I love that show! Love the J.Crew top! It’s not snowing where I am yet, but it is supposed to snow later today.

  2. oatsandspice permalink
    January 11, 2011 10:48 am

    The drama on the Bachelor last night was way to much for me 🙂 You are right, I am SO glad he got rid of those girls! Next week looks like it will be another good episode!

    P.S.- Your oatmeal looks delishhh

  3. January 11, 2011 11:29 am

    Hi! I just found your blog and I really like it!
    I just started running – only few months – and I just posted about this new adventure (http://wp.me/pXsUB-Bk).
    If you have any advice for me…. it would be great!
    Thanks!

  4. January 11, 2011 11:49 am

    You look like that after a 6 mile run? Gorgeous! I’m impressed!

  5. January 11, 2011 12:26 pm

    Glad your run worked out! I was training for a half this time last year and the weather always got in the way. Also, I loooove Dr. Praeger’s burgers with laughing cow!! I had one yesterday on toast with hummus. Oh and I can’t get myself to like sunflower seed butter for some reason! Not that I need another nut butter addiction though haha

  6. January 11, 2011 3:57 pm

    Your lunch looks aweosme!
    Is Dr. Pragers Gluten Free?
    I LOVE Boy meets worls! I have not watched that in ages!

  7. January 11, 2011 4:38 pm

    Good for you for getting the run in–if you’d slept in, of course there would’ve been no delay!

  8. Jenni permalink
    January 11, 2011 4:47 pm

    I was so excited to have a snowday! I’m a teacher but my district rarely calls off! I didn’t even think the roads were too bad, but I’ll take it! We ate lunch @ Local Harvest today-so good!

  9. January 11, 2011 9:17 pm

    getting to watch boy meets world and getting your run over with.. i call that a SWEET morning!

  10. January 13, 2011 10:01 pm

    I love this outfit. I think it is so amazing that you can so easily put an outfit together. I struggle so greatly to pick out a cute outfit. I went shopping with my mom today at the mall so that I could find a few cute things to wear to work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

