Skip to content

I Am A Worrier

January 12, 2011

Last night as I lay in bed trying to get some sleep, my mind was racing with worries.

I worried that I wouldn’t be able to fall asleep since I had some coffee that afternoon and chocolate that night. (I was right).

I worried about my boyfriend and his family as they suddenly had to put their super amazing dog down. I wished I could be with him to make him feel better.

I worried that even though I went to bed early, I still wouldn’t feel well-rested for the rest of the week.

I worried that I eat too many carbs throughout the day.

I worried about whether I would have time to straighten my hair today so I looked nice before my 9am meeting with the VP. (I did).

New Sweater from VS.

ย 

I worried about whether or not turtlenecks were better left to gradeschool uniforms.

I worried about if I would have time to eat my breakfast before my 9am meeting or if I would be able to hold off my hunger until afterwards. (After).

When the clock hit 1:30am and I still hadn’t gotten any sleep, I began to worry about whether or not I should go to Yoga this morning.

I worried that I wouldn’t have enough energy to get through the practice.

But then I began to worry about skipping an important stretching and cross training day in my marathon training plan, since I had already skipped an important run last weekend. (I Went.)

And while I waited for class to start, I began to worry that I wasn’t giving my body the rest it needed. (Probably true).

And I worried that I wouldn’ t be upbeat and enthusiastic at work, making me appear uninterested and like a bad employee. (Trying not to be!)

And the whole time I was worrying about these things, I was constantly reminding myself that it was getting me no where. These things were quite honestly irrelevant in the scheme of things and it did me no good to think about them. But I can’t help it! Worry is the main source of my stress and insomnia.

  • Are you a worrier?
  • Any tips on how to stop?

ย 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. lauravirginia permalink
    January 12, 2011 11:10 am

    I am definitely a worrier! Unfortunately, I don’t have any good tips on how to stop! I love your outfit, especially the sweater! I hope your day is worry free today! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. January 12, 2011 11:13 am

    Oh my goodness, I could relate to this post SO much. I hate when it gets to be kind of late because then my ultimate worry is that I’m going to be soo tired tomorrow and be in a bad mood, not motivated to work out, and hungrier (to compensate for lack of sleep). Ugh. Laying in bed worrying is the worst! I have been experimenting a lot lately and what’s been working is taking a melatonin tablet (all natural! haha) and doing a really short series of yoga moves that are supposed to help you relax. I’ve also considered drinking sleepytime tea but then I will just worry that I’ll have to get up and pee in the middle of the night. Good luck!!

  3. January 12, 2011 11:22 am

    I have three tips:

    1. Think of a quiet, beautiful place that you know–for me, it is a gorgeous lake in Northern Michigan. Imagine the sights, sounds, colors, how you feel, and so on. Often it relaxes me enough to fall asleep.
    2. Repeat a phrase–for me, it is “breathe deeply” over and over—to focus your mind away from your worries and hopefully allow you to fall asleep.
    3. Think through all you did during the day, but backwards–this might tire your mind out enough to drift off to dream land!

  4. January 12, 2011 11:45 am

    Oh bless your heart! When my mind races and worries like this I say a little prayer. I also remind myself that it could be way worse, with bigger worries and larger struggles. When I was going through treatment for breast cancer, I had many nights (and days) like this; and after I gave my stress and anxiety to God I reminded myself of these very things.

    Oh, and laying off the afternoon coffee may help, too;-) Heehee.

    And BTW, there’s only 88 days until the marathon!!! **Now don’t let this worry you!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Cory permalink
    January 12, 2011 11:52 am

    I am such a worrier at night before bed! It’s like my mind goes a million miles an hour thinking about all the things I need to do/have done/will do. Something that tends to help me is to say to myself “Leave it for tomorrow; there’s nothing you can do about it right now”. It seems to help me realize that I can deal with everything tomorrow, but for now, its sleepy time! Also, I know you do yoga in the morning, but taking my yoga class in the afternoon has greatly helped my sleep.

  6. January 12, 2011 12:09 pm

    i am the biggest worrier ON THE PLANET not even lying…

    I worry all the time, i lay in bed worrying and i let it affect my sleep. I would love to hear what people say on how to STOP THIS! Lately i have been telling myself ” LIFE IS TO SHORT TO BE UNHAPPY ALL THE TIME” it works for a little while, but then i worry some more….

  7. January 12, 2011 1:52 pm

    Feel free to check my blog on my new years resolutions to run more and worry less and how I plan to.

    When its late at night and its worries that I need to or can do something about I make a quick list. When its concerns that I cannot control nor do anything about at the moment I have been learning to trust myself and answer my worries positivly.

    Ex…
    “I worried about my boyfriend and his family as they suddenly had to put their super amazing dog down. I wished I could be with him to make him feel better.
    -I’ll send his family a card and be sure to call him, I can’t visit but I will do what I can to be there

    I worried that even though I went to bed early, I still wouldnโ€™t feel well-rested for the rest of the week.
    -I will let this be my last worry of the night so I can make the most of the sleep I will get

    I worried that I eat too many carbs throughout the day.
    -But I can’t do anything about it now so I’ll plan for more protien and/or veggies tomorrow to compensate

    I worried about whether I would have time to straighten my hair today so I looked nice before my 9am meeting with the VP. (I did).
    – I will, and I did. I plan my mornings and I know how long it takes. This will be all good!

    Also there is a meditation technique used in my yoga class. Imagine a conveyor belt in front of you. Put the worry in the box on the conveyor belt and let it slide out of view – do this with each worry. This is the best trick at night for me.

    Worrying is like a rocking chair it gives you something to do but it doesn’t get you any where.

  8. January 12, 2011 2:29 pm

    I’m such a worrier. It’s nice to know that other people feel the same way! One thing that helps me is to write lists of what I need to do. Or else I tell someone else my worries and they seem a lot smaller. Good luck!

  9. Natalie permalink
    January 12, 2011 3:55 pm

    Aw it’s ok! I worry about everything too. I worry about carbs, my job, whether or not I’m spending enough time with friends, etc and then I realize not everything is in my control, and things are what they are right now. You are a fellow Catholic, so I think you’ll understand when I say you really have to try to trust in God. Everything will work out!!

  10. January 12, 2011 5:13 pm

    Every time I feel a worry coming into my brain I tell myself “shhhhhh!!!!”. I end up shhhhushing myself a lot, but it honestly does help.

  11. squigglefloey permalink
    January 12, 2011 5:55 pm

    Wow, this post basically sounds like what goes through my head every night. Worries, worries, worries. I’ve had a weird tummy ache every time before I go to bed these nights, and have been tossing and turning until around 4am =/. I hope this doesn’t last too long!
    The tips others are giving you seem good, maybe I’ll try some out for myself. I hope your mind cools down a bit — you’re doing everything you can!

  12. Good Ol permalink
    January 12, 2011 7:48 pm

    I am the ULTIMATE worrier!!! I read your post and now I really feel for your boyfriend Alex and his family. I just went through a similar loss in my family when our dog Wesley died ๐Ÿ˜ฆ The only thing that made me get over such a tragedy was my husband Good Ol’ William. Alex is lucky to have you. I would second what “The Chick” said. In fact, if you want I would LOVE to send the family a card myself with my condolences.
    Take Care and God Bless,
    Good Ol’ Wendy

  13. Good Ol' Wendy permalink
    January 12, 2011 7:52 pm

    I am the ULTIMATE worrier!!! I read your post and now I really feel for your boyfriend Alex and his family. I just went through a similar loss in my family when our dog Good Ol’ Wesley died ๐Ÿ˜ฆ The only thing that made me get over such a tragedy was my husband John and all of the love and understanding he showed me during that grieving period. Alex is lucky to have you. I would second what “The Chick” said. In fact, if you want I would LOVE to send the family a card myself with my condolences.
    Take Care and God Bless,
    Good Ol’ Wendy

  14. Lisa permalink
    January 14, 2011 11:22 am

    I am such a worrier, I suffer from panic attacks almost daily because of this. With help though they’ve decreased so much. What helps me is to take just 10-15 minutes out of my day sit on the couch and close my eyes and just close my mind to all thoughts and i just use my yoga breath and it actually works very well ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. I Found The Balls « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

