Skip to content

Rotini & Meatless Bawlz

January 13, 2011

Most parents have to beg their children to shovel the driveway, but when I came home after work and told my mom of my plans her immediate response was “Why??”

I could have responded a number of ways:

“Well mom, since you so politely declined my Christmas request for a spot in the garage, I still have to trudge through the snow every morning to get to my car”

“Because I’m trying to be a real person now. And all the other real people in the blog world talked about shoveling their driveways so I feel like I should too”

“Because Dad would rather pay someone than have to perform manual labor himself, so I’ve never actually shoveled snow before and I feel like that’s something every human being should do at least once in their life”

“Because I SLEPT last night and now I have heaps of energy and need some way to release it”

Instead I simply told her I don’t like walking through it, and suited up.

Reppin ND.

I did quite the number on our relatively long driveway, and even managed to break the shovel by the time I got to the end. Sign of a job well done, I’d say.

***************************************

Lunch kept me very full through the afternoon of looking at pretty clothes and shoes, but I had a little apple to tide me over until dinner. And a dinner it would be: I was breaking out the balls.

I wanted classic spaghetti and meatballs, but that would require spaghetti and pasta sauce. Instead I had a box of whole wheat rotini and a can of organic tomato sauce. But I made do 🙂

First I baked 10 meatless balls and a bunch of frozen squash (for 2 servings) at 375 for 10 minutes. Since the squash were frozen, I ended up using a paper towel to absorb a lot of the moisture after baking.

Next I sauteed a little bit of diced fennel (because I found it in the fridge) with 2 cloves of chopped garlic

I then added 1/2 teaspoon black pepper, 1/4 teaspoon chili powder, and 1 tsp oregano. When it was mixed together, set the stovetop to low and poured in 1 cup of organic tomato sauce and added the meatless balls to get warm. Meanwhile, 1 cup of pasta (again for two servings) was cooking in the background.

When the pasta was finished, I plated it and scooped on my meatballs! The sauce had a nice kick from the chili powder and the tomato sauce thickened up nicely while simmering on the stove.

Verdict on the meatballs? LOVED. The texture was spot on, and I was told this is largely in part due to baking them before adding them to sauce. I took a picture of one cut open so you could see what it was all about….and so you could see that I had another glass of Shiraz tonight. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.

ugly non- lightbox picture 😦

I’m now contemplating a grapefruit or a piece of dark chocolate for dessert. And getting angry at my work for blocking Google Reader so that I still have tons of posts marked “unread” that I have definitely read.

Can’t win ’em all.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 8:27 pm

    My boyfriend shoveled our long-ass driveway the other night around 9 p.m.! Such a trooper. Also, your dinner looks lovely.

  2. Lisa @ Dishes of Mrs. Fish permalink
    January 13, 2011 9:00 pm

    I hate shoveling snow. Mad props to you!

  3. squigglefloey permalink
    January 13, 2011 9:24 pm

    Haha you are so cute in your shoveling attire! Wear it to the office tomorrow! (Kidding).
    And I ALSO slept well last night! (high-5). I made sure to eat my nighttime snack an hour earlier so my tummy wasn’t grumbling when I tried to fall asleep, so I guess that helped.
    So red wine is helping you sleep? Was it the one from TJs? I might look into that actually…

  4. January 13, 2011 9:35 pm

    Wow those meatless balls look GOOD.

    I got out of shoveling yesterday after our blizzard because I was sniffling and coughing all day. And because I have an over-achiever bf who does nice things for me. But next time you shovel make sure to stretch a ton! I’m sure your parents can preach to you about shoveling injuries, but my roommie’s mom (who is a nurse) just told us about a patient who tore their AORTA shoveling snow. Blows my mind.

  5. January 13, 2011 9:49 pm

    I always try to do the snow-shoveling…and my parents refuse to let me, because I’m a “weakling” and it’s a “man’s work.” Whatever!!

  6. January 13, 2011 10:30 pm

    Good job shoveling- you are crazy to me for volunteering! hehe.

  7. January 13, 2011 10:50 pm

    Wahoo Claire! You are now a big girl! Love the snow gear!

  8. January 14, 2011 12:07 am

    I love those meatless balls.

    I’m so glad nothing is blocked at work! I love taking a break and reading blogs.

  9. January 14, 2011 12:07 am

    So nice “meeting” you! And I can’t wait to keep reading too! So awesome that you shoveled. What a great workout! Can’t believe the shovel broke!! Haha! Your meal looks great. It’s honestly something that I would totally devour!!

  10. Momma B permalink
    January 14, 2011 7:57 am

    Congrats on shoveling the snow – think of the calories burned! Where did you get meatless meatballs? What were they made with? Thanks for the tips!

  11. January 14, 2011 8:16 am

    Your work blocked Google Reader?? That is mean.

    Our new shovel has a handle like that… guess it will be broken before long, then. 😉

    ❤ ❤

  12. January 14, 2011 12:10 pm

    thats so lame about your work blocking google reder. I hope mine doesnt do that! lol those meatless balls look good!

  13. January 14, 2011 4:34 pm

    This made me laugh
    “Because I’m trying to be a real person now. And all the other real people in the blog world talked about shoveling their driveways so I feel like I should too”
    haha 🙂 Love it

    Also I JUST MAY be able to stop at trader joes tomorrow IM SO EXCITED! I will have these BALLS at the top of my list ;D

  14. January 14, 2011 7:57 pm

    I shoveled for the first time this week too! Because my husband is too lazy, and no neighborhood kids offered. I do not care for it and it hurts my back, but same goes for slipping and falling on compacted snow.

    What kind of meatless balls did you get? My favorite are the Quorn ones from whole foods. They don’t fall apart like soy based ones. Since the husband is a meathead we eat them quite often.

    Speaking of meat subs, have you tried field roast? It’s in whole foods by the ready made sandwiches. It is seitan based and amazingly delicious.

Leave a Reply

