Skip to content

Gushers or Dunkaroos?

January 14, 2011

Hey-yo!  HAPPY FRIDAY! I woke up and it kinda felt like Thursday, so I was pumped when I remembered it was my last day of work before the weekend.

I had an 8am meeting this morning, so I unfortunately couldn’t go to yoga. I was super bummed because I LOVE Friday Bikram and I already paid for a big 3-month package, but in efforts to be a little more “go with the flow” like Kailey I just found a different way to get in a cross-training workout. I normally don’t go to the gym at work because the machines are pretty old and crummy, but since I was tight on time it was the best option. I did a quick 3o minutes of elliptical intervals followed by some stretching and arm weights. Wasn’t an intense workout, but better than nothing!

P.S. if anyone knows of articles or studies showing that super old treadmills/work out machines can cause injury, let me know. I swear the ancient treadmills with no cushioning give me shin splints and I am dying to find good reasons for the company to invest in new ones!

 

OUTFIT:

I bought this navy shirt during one of my “heavier” stages and now it’s too big to wear on its own. But I think belted and with a cardigan it can pass!

 

 

 

 

FOOD:

Get ready for it….this is kinda crazy….I had a NEW BREAKFAST!

Since I had my 8am meeting, making hot oats wasn’t in the cards. I was bummed because I love that breakfast, but it ended up being good to get out of my rut. I made a breakfast I haven’t had since summer – a yogurt, cereal and fruit bowl. I even tried the new Trader Joe’s brand greek yogurt! 

Here’s what went into the mix:

  • 1 Trader Joe’s plain 0% Greek Yogurt
  • 1/2 packet Stevia
  • 1 tbsp peanut flour
  • 1 tbsp flax seed (need to get these back into my diet!)

Topped with:

  • 1/3 cup Kashi Go Lean
  • 1/2 sliced banana
  • 3 sliced strawberries
  • Sprinkle cinnamon

 

Even though I added water to the yogurt mix before I put it in the fridge overnight, this baby got THICK. I prefer thick to watery, I guess I could have added a little bit more! I loved the addition of peanut flour to the yogurt – a nice switch from the pumpkin I usually add. The bites with just yogurt and no fruit let the peanut flavor shine through. As for the Trader Joe’s Greek Yogurt, I probably should have tried it plain to get a good read. It worked really well for mixing and had a great thick texture, though, so I wouldn’t be opposed to buying it again! 

I ate this almost an hour earlier than I usually eat my oatmeal, and I was still satisfied at 1pm. Guess it was all the protein!

**

Lunch was seconds of my dinner last night and it was just as good. In fact, the pasta was the worst part. I would have loved just a plate of the saucy “meat”balls (and I have to have the veggies of course).

**********************************************

And because I’m saving my reader-request posts for a busy week at work when I don’t have time to write anything, I’ll make this post a little more fun with my all time favorite “this or that” question…AKA the question I used to start games of flip cup:

  • Gushers or Dunkaroos?

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 11:45 am

    GUSHERS! Oh it brings me back to the good ol’ days 🙂

  2. Valerie @ love and running permalink
    January 14, 2011 11:46 am

    Hello 🙂

    I haven’t posted on your post in awhile. I’m sorry but I have been following your blog and it is amazing 🙂

    Love your outfit 🙂

    Your breakfast looks delicious and so does lunch 🙂

    I prefer gushers!

    I LOVE your blog!

  3. January 14, 2011 1:58 pm

    Hey, I’m not sure if you’ve tried this on the treadmill or not, but you should always put a little incline on it. That usually helps with the shin splints. That being said, if it’s really old and clunky I’m sure it’s not as supportive as a newer one. A good reason to invest in new treadmills (other than the fact that they kind of suck) is that old ones accumulate more dust and dirt which eventually wears out the machine’s components, resulting in costly repairs or out-of-order machines. Work that angle…..

  4. Amy permalink
    January 14, 2011 2:11 pm

    Kashi go lean greek yogurt fruit is my FAV breakfast!!! Its sooooo filling and delish!

  5. Floey permalink
    January 14, 2011 3:11 pm

    Gushes I suppose?! Haha, I remember when I was younger and I’d ask my mom to get some dunkaroooos she’d say no 😦 She was trying not to let me eat too much junk when I was younger 😛 So I really have no idea what dunkaroos taste like. Gushers aren’t bad though 🙂
    Hope you have a wonderful wknd!

  6. Kelly Adams permalink
    January 14, 2011 3:12 pm

    My mom would NEVER buy me dunkaroos at the grocery store when I was younger, she said it was because they were too expensive? I think there is a bunch of trans fat(eek!) in them too so…thanks mom, I guess!

  7. January 14, 2011 8:22 pm

    Dunkaroos!!!
    I have never had them but I looked them up and they look like A huge chunk of heaven!

  8. January 15, 2011 7:50 am

    You look cute as always!

  9. January 15, 2011 8:04 am

    I have to choose? I don’t think I can!

    Um….Dunkaroos. Cookies with frosting? Yes, please. 🙂

  10. January 15, 2011 8:13 am

    GUSHERS!

    And i love the switch up in breakfast, its nice every once in a while..
    GUESS WHOS FINALLY BUYING PEANUT FLOUR TONIGHT 😀

  11. January 15, 2011 9:41 am

    Your outfit is adorable. Love the belt; it really gives your torso some definition. Dunkaroos!! Wow, I haven’t had those in years!

  12. January 15, 2011 9:47 am

    Gusharoos! I was always more of a cake/cookie person than a fruit dessert girl.
    I highly recommend weight training! It doesn’t give you the same high as running/cardio, but in some ways it’s better. It makes you feel like you’ve done something really good for your body and you feel incredibly sexy and strong.

  13. January 15, 2011 9:48 am

    Lol…I mean dunkaroos. Gusharoos would be some weird kind of hybrid. 🙂

Leave a Reply

