Skip to content

Friday Night Chocolate Binge

January 15, 2011

Something about Friday nights with no plans makes me go crazy. Most of my friends were staying in, the the ones that wanted to go out didn’t make plans until almost 10pm, and that lack of things to do puts my body in “eat every piece of chocolate in sight” mode. I wish that was actually a scientific problem.

Anyway, I did have plans to go to happy hour with my brother, so I wanted a snack to prevent me from getting too tipsy! I had a baggie of sugar snap peas and a Pink Lady apple, and then grabbed a handful of pretzels until I found the piece of dark chocolate I had been searching the office for. Thank you, boss, for being a chocoholic like me:)

I met my brother and some of his coworkers at J.Buck’s for Happy Hour. I had two Bud Light Golden Wheats over the course of two hours while chatting about life. It was actually really nice to catch up and vent about the week. It makes me feel so grown up / pathetic when I hear myself lamenting about competition at work and “what I want to do with my life”. I want to go to Never Ever Land.

And when I got home I had no idea what to make for dinner. Since I wasn’t craving anything specific, I knew I probably wasn’t quite hungry enough to eat. But the alcohol in my system told me other wise and I snacked on some of the broccoli my mom was making (for the sorority she supervises at Wash U) while making myself a meal.

I made an egg and cheese sandwich which I had with some leftover asparagus. The egg was over easy and was the THIRD (THIRD!!) double yoke I found in my carton of eggs. Makes me looveee buying organic farm fresh eggs. I had it on a strangely large sandwich thin with spinach, siracha, and soy cheese.

I also finished off a bag of tortilla chips and ate a Hershey’s kiss and a Lindor Truffle while reading some blogs. Now, had it been a normal weeknight, I would have been satisfied. But it was Friday and for some reason I feel the need to treat them differently. I made some coffee and painted my nails in effort to curb any cravings and prevent mindless snacking, but no such luck.

Since I knew I was going to eat dessert, I decided to make it a real good dessert. I had unsuccessfully made Gena’s banana soft serve in the past becuase I only used one banana, but tonight I was determined to make it right.

I put 2 1/2 frozen bananas, broken up, into the blender with a splash of soy milk.

It was HARD to get these to start blending and I ended up doing a lot of self-smashing with my spoon. After a few minutes of blending and mashing it looked like this:

But I didn’t give up and kept stirring and pulsing, and finally achieved perfection:

I cracked up a 100 calorie dark chocolate bar and mixed it in, and enjoyed this with a glass of shiraz x2. The consistency really is JUST like soft serve, and it is a strong strong banana flavor. If you like banana, you will LOVE this dessert!

Problem is at that point, the wine was getting to me, and I decided to get 2 more baggies full of dark chocolate chips. OD much? I wasn’t even tasting the chocolate at this point but my body was on auto. My legs kept walking back into the kitchen and my hand kept going from the bag to my mouth. I felt so crappy when I was trying to fall asleep.

I’m trying to come up with an action plan to avoid this Friday boredom binging in the future. It really stems from not having anything to do, so I think I might try to go to the gym on Friday after work. I still want to go to Friday Yoga, so maybe I will save time in the morning one day a week and get in a strength training session on Friday afternoons? Or at least just sit on a recumbent bike and read? It will occupy me and being at the gym always reminds me to be HEALTHY afterward.

Other ideas include making Friday an “eat out” treat night where I go to Whole Foods or Crazy Bowls and Wraps and eat a healthy meal there. That way I will be FINISHED with food before I even get to my kitchen. I’ve also considered going to Starbucks or Barnes & Noble to read blogs or cookbooks there, seeing a movie by myself, or just inviting myself to a friend’s house where I won’t feel comfortable raiding the kitchen.

I’d love to hear your input on this issue. Do any of you experience similar problems? What helps you?

*************************************

Two side notes:

  • Please pray for my Great Aunt Alice as she just passed away
  • My brother’s college roommate has a hilarious blog called Fast & Fresh. He calls himself a “fast foodie” and basically just reviews the latest fast food craze. Sooo not my thing and sooo awesome.
19 Comments leave one →
  1. Brandi permalink
    January 15, 2011 8:34 am

    Oh I am soooo guilty of late night snack overload! Friday nights are the worst because I am so tired, I just sit on the couch to watch tv and mindlessly eat one snack after another. But hte last few months, I have scheduled my long run of the week on Saturday morning. That keeps me from eating too much junk cuz I dont wanna have any “tummy troubles” on my run πŸ˜‰
    But then there’s Saturday night….

  2. January 15, 2011 10:59 am

    I have done the exact same thing and over loaded on junk food….my body wasn’t happy after. To avoid this I usually make one day a week “cheat day” where I can eat frozen yogurt, ice cream and not feel guilty that way I don’t deprive myself of the things I love. I do strive to live a healthy lifestyle and eat clean as much as possibe but i also like do eat treats as well πŸ™‚

    I also go for a walk if I don’t want to eat just to clear my head, drink water, yoga classes πŸ™‚

    I’ll email you more stuff so I don’t put my whole life on your post lol πŸ™‚

  3. January 15, 2011 11:08 am

    I usually brush my teeth and do my best to stay out of the kitchen. If I stay out of the kitchen, I’m less tempted!

    • January 15, 2011 11:24 am

      I know how that is, it’s the same way for me when I’m at my parents’ place. They’re in the kitchen, and I want to be around them, so I’m in there too!

  4. January 15, 2011 11:10 am

    I can get into a Friday night funk too since I’m usually too tired to go out. Having friends over for a movie night is one of my favorite ways to start the weekend. Last night my roommates and I watched “Hope Floats” and then “Ondine.” So low key and having company around keeps me away from bored snacking.

    And a note on “Ondine”… we stumbled upon it on Netflix instant. It stars Colin Ferrell and is kind of like a modern day “Secret of Roan Inish”! Too bad he is such a homewrecker. πŸ˜‰

  5. January 15, 2011 11:58 am

    I get into a Friday night funk, too! Lately, I’ve been going to yoga on Friday nights (my gym has a 6pm yoga class that is amazing!). This helps calm my mind — by the time I get home, I’m hungry, but I have such a sense of peace that I don’t WANT to quickly eat; I want to take my time and be good to my body.

    Does that make sense? I sound like a total quack!

  6. Kristin permalink
    January 15, 2011 12:41 pm

    Hey Clare! I know we’ve talked about this Friday night binge problem that we both share and I think I may have finally found a solution. Lately, when I start to feel the urge to eat unreasonable amounts for no reason, haha, I get out a coloring book and crayons and start to color a picture. I know, i know…call me crazy. Despite the fact that coloring is a pretty childish activity and the fact that I’m 21, I have found that coloring is a great way to keep my hands occupied and my mind busy. Plus, I never want to leave the picture halfway completed so I keep coloring until it is done rather than getting up to go to the kitchen like I would if I was watching T.V. Maybe you would want to give it a try? Good luck!

  7. January 15, 2011 12:52 pm

    I just eat what i want. Sometimes it works and sometimes it does not! That is something I am still really working on!

  8. January 15, 2011 12:59 pm

    That’s a great idea to really treat yourself with dinner! Sometimes when it’s just me on a Friday night, I make something delicious and sort of healthy or I’ll have a big, yet healthy dessert like frozen yogurt. Also, there’s a lot of awesome non-food ways to relax alone. Netflix, yoga, etc. Good luck!

  9. January 15, 2011 1:42 pm

    mmm i love banana soft serve πŸ™‚

    Also im so sorry to hear about your great aunt 😦

  10. January 15, 2011 2:20 pm

    Dang I wish you lived close to me because I totally do the same thing and I wish I could stop! Sad thing is I usually get home, have something, *then* get the invitation to go out and then I have some drinks/food on top of what I already had! That’s what really kills me. GRR!

  11. squigglefloey permalink
    January 15, 2011 2:55 pm

    Sry to hear about your funky friday 😦 If you have a night alone planned, you could always have a movie ready to watch and *try* to keep the snacks at bay. Or some book that you want to read, or maybe just let yourself do a “free-write”. Try to write a silly short story or something. I don’t know — lame. haha. I feel like even if you felt like snacking, those things probably might not prevent you to do otherwise. Don’t worry about it — some nights we are particularly snack-ey opposed to others. Your body perhaps just wanted to relax, unwind after a long week … and that was how it wanted to do it.
    xxx. I hope you have a wonderful wknd!

  12. Lisa @ Dishes of Mrs. Fish permalink
    January 15, 2011 3:03 pm

    We usually go to Whole Foods for wine tasting on Friday nights. Our friends usually go out to eat after, and I would over indulge there. Mostly because we didn’t eat before, and I was starving before we got there!

    Now we made a healthified pizza, and some roasted veggies before we head there. Enjoy wine samples with friends. Last night, we ended up chatting in their seating area with our friends for a few hours after wards. Although we did have an additional drink, at least I didn’t eat my weight in tortilla chips, salsa, and enchiladas verde. I think all your ideas were great!

    If your your WF does wine tastings, they are great on Fridays. They have five wine samples with appetizers. It’s always fun to taste both!

  13. January 15, 2011 3:45 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about your aunt.

    Boredom eating is so hard to get over. I tried to take up knitting to keep my hands busy but that lasted for about 2 seconds. I find gum is a good distraction but it is only a bandaid and doesn’t really solve the problem…

  14. January 15, 2011 4:55 pm

    When I’m at school and I’m tired from a long week and don’t want to do anything on a Friday night, I do the exact same thing. I’m finished with tests for the week and I’ve got a good movie and I just don’t want to deal with anything. For some reason part of spending the evening at home (especially on Fridays/Saturdays) involves snacking. Snacking on and off for hours! I really enjoyed this post. I’d never actually thought about the Friday night snackage and what causes it for me. Unfortunately I don’t really have any insight on how to make it better! I like your ideas though.

  15. January 15, 2011 5:56 pm

    Take me to Never Land with you! I have girls’ nights with my friends every week, and it’s so weird to be talking about work, life, etc. I miss the old days! Your banana chocolate frozen dessert looks delicious!! Definitely a must-try! When I feel like eating a ton, I try to get out of the house and run errands or I have a large glass of water.

  16. Liz permalink
    January 16, 2011 9:04 pm

    Hi Clare! Random question–what WashU sorority does your mom supervise? I went to WashU (graduated in 09) and was in a sorority there (and know people in all of them since it’s such a small school)…small world!!

Trackbacks

  1. Life Update « Fitting It All In
  2. Uncharted Territory « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

