Skip to content

Review: The Kind Diet

January 16, 2011

This morning’s wake up was less than pleasant after last night’s shenanigans. Nothing too extreme – just a little headache and and iffy stomach. The day after I drink I am insatiable! I’m trying to be good today and keep the endless snacking at bay.

I started the day with a mug of hot lemon water to detox. Then it was onto breakfast:

I had two Vans whole wheat waffles topped with Greek yogurt mixed with 1 TBSP peanut flour and 1 TBSP flax seed. Sliced on half a banana and a couple strawberries and feasted.

After Church (where I saw my neighbor for the first time since July. Messed up) I had a couple of mugs full of broccoli. What?

I spent some time on the couch watching Miss America on my DVR, but then I started to get moody. Just like an infant, moody me means 2 things: I need food and I need a nap. So that’s just what I did! I had a TJ’s Guiltless Pizza & a Smores Luna Bar followed by a 2 hour nap. I wanted to never ever get out of my bed, but wanted me able to fall asleep tonight so I made myself get up.

I’m currently finishing some chores – bathroom cleaning, laundry, prepping meals for tomorrow – and watching the Golden Globes red carpet. I’m going to go over to my friend Maddie’s house to watch them for a bit, and thought about getting take out to bring over. Instead, I knew I could make almost the same thing myself so I have a big pot of brown rice & barley cooking and am gonna make a simple tofu, bok choy & edamame mixture to go with it. Just gotta figure out a dressing!

Also, while I was napping, some crazy recipe involving a sweet potato, tempeh, veggie bacon, and maple syrup popped in my head. And I’m kind of really excited about it.

Now onto the good stuff:

The Kind Diet

by Alicia Silverstone

Note: I did not read every word of this book. I skipped over parts explaining why factory farming is bad for the environment, etc, because it is information I know pretty well already.

source

This book is an extremely encouraging and welcoming look into a Vegan lifestyle. It focuses on the food, but Alicia really believes in living kindly  – including products we buy, businesses we support, and with whom we choose to surround ourselves. Contrary to Skinny Bitch’s harsh approach, The Kind Diet is gentle and inspiring. In no way does Alicia us  that we must live this way or that we have to do every single thing she suggests. Just information and personal stories about how she and others have benefited from living this way.

The book begins with Alicia’s background and transition into Veganism, and then goes onto explain why certain things are eliminated in a vegan diet. These are the parts I glazed over – why we don’t need dairy, why eating meat is bad for the environment, etc. The book then goes onto to explain what things ARE included in the diet and why they are so good for you. One of my favorite takeaways from this section is that many people today consider health the absence of disease. This is a concept I’ve been trying to put into words for so long and couldn’t figure out how to say. I’ve had people argue to me that they eat tons of fast food and animal products and are perfectly healthy. Now I have a way to explain to them that their version of healthy isn’t the same as mine.

Alicia’s book suggests three different ways that people can make changes:

  1. Flirting — for those that aren’t ready to be a full-fledged Vegan, Alicia lists smaller changes we can make to tip toe in the lifestyle.
  2. Veganism — meal ideas and habits for those that want to become Vegan
  3. Superhero — Veganism with a more macrobiotic approach. I’m not entirely educated on that area, but Alicia says she lives this way 80% of the time and actually tends to eat less fruit, more whole grains, lots of sea vegetables, miso, etc.

The book ends with tons of yummy recipes for both the Vegan and Superhero.

Of course, while I was reading this, I was thinking “oh my gosh I am TOTALLY becoming Vegan”. I tend to get that way any time I read a new healthy living book. I just truly appreciated how Alicia didn’t make me feel guilty or bad in anyway. Instead she focused on the positive changes we can make and how the first step to a healthy and peaceful world is a healthy and peaceful YOU.

I would encourage you to at least go to a bookstore and flip through if you are interested. A+ from me!

  • Have you read The Kind Diet? What did you think?
  • Are you or have you considered becoming Vegan? What is stopping you?

For me the hardest parts would be Greek Yogurt, Eggs, and Chocolate. I know I can find good substitutes for these things, but it’s expensive and takes a lot of effort. It’s just something I don’t know if I’m ready to commit to at this time.

I also know that there are two sides to every story and that plenty of people thrive off of vegetarian diets, and even diets including meat. I’m trying to avoid extremism and just educate myself on all areas before I make any changes!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. oatsandspice permalink
    January 16, 2011 7:08 pm

    I can’t wait to read this book – my dad cut out an article in our local newspaper about being vegan and this book was featured! I just started reading Skinny Bitch, but when I’m done I am going to buy this!

  2. January 16, 2011 7:53 pm

    The day after I drink I sometimes wake up perfectly fine, and sometimes wake up and am useless the entire day. Hope you’re feeling better 🙂

  3. January 16, 2011 7:58 pm

    hope you get outta your funky mood girl! i think munching on that sweet potato concoction is the perfect solution! have fun at your friends house tn!

  4. January 17, 2011 1:18 am

    Thanks for the review of the book!

    I totally agree that being healthy does not solely mean you are not sick! Your health encompasses much more than your physical healthy, it also includes your mental, spiritual, social, etc. health as well.

  5. January 17, 2011 3:41 am

    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    I went vegetarian for two weeks and I felt great. I am now having meat when I want it ( which is not THAT much, maybe once everyday, very small, probably less). I realize there is so many more food options out there.
    Then again nothing can relplace a good turkey sandwich or cheesey chicken! 🙂

    However, like you when it comes to veganism, besides the above reasons, I think it would be hard to cut out dairy and egg from my breads, especially considering I am already Gluten Intolerant.

    Plus I love omlettes, butter and CHEESE!! I know there are subsitutes for them but I feel no reason to change the way I eat. I eat everything, no restrictions, all in moderation! However, I do avoid mostlyyyyy all refined sugar products with a few here and there on occasion because I feel wayy better eating a mainly clean diet! Sorry for the long response! haha. Once you get me on a roll its hard for me to stop!

  6. January 17, 2011 6:40 am

    I loved that book!!! I too am like you and if I get cranky-feed me or put me down on the couch! haha. That bfast looks delish-I need to get more creative and add some spice to my bfasts!

  7. January 17, 2011 10:22 am

    Drinking always makes me snacky too…I’m not sure why? Of course, its been a little while since I last drank but… 😉 I want to try that TJs pizza- looks yummy. TJs has the BEST products. Way to make “takeout” instead of picking some up. Hope you had fun with your friend 🙂 I love Alicia and have been wanting to read this book.

  8. January 17, 2011 8:47 pm

    i’m totally snacky after i drink too and try to limit myself!

    I have given the kind diet some thought but never went for it…
    i could not be vegan for one reason… CHEESE, real cheese .. sure i dont MIND vegan cheese but i would miss real cheese
    plus i think being vegan would be pretty hard unless u can eat more meals at home… as a vegetarian i find i eat a lot of things with CHEESE in them as the vegetarian options when im out.

Trackbacks

  1. Cleansing Action « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

