Skip to content

SIA – ing

January 16, 2011

One night I texted my boyfriend to see what he was doing. His response: “SIA-ing”.

No clue.

Apparently SIA = Saturday In America. To him I think it means he’s on the couch drinking beer, eating pizza, and watching football.  Well here is MY version of an SIA:

I slept for 12 hours on Friday night and didn’t wake up until after 10 am. Craziness! My 12 mile run was on the schedule, so I had my standard pre-run breakfast of almond butter & banana toast with coffee.

Then I hit the gym. HELLO JANUARY GYM GOERS! Apparently I don’t get a good idea of how bad it is since I’m usually there at 6:30am, but Saturday around noon it is absolutely packed! Waiting for machines! (Someone actually took the one I put my towel on, but I pretty quickly found another).

This run was terrible from the beginning. I think I actually slept TOO much, plus all the chocolate in my stomach from the night before wasn’t sitting super well. I felt like I was going to throw up during the beginning and was ready to quit by mile 3. My training schedule only had 9 on it, but since I missed my 12 last week I really wanted to do the longer distance. I told myself to at least do 9, and then I could walk the last three.

Thankfully down to the wire NCAA basketball kept me pretty occupied as the run went on. I told myself to get to six – half way – and then I could take a break. But when I got there I felt a little better (and Tennessee was about to beat Vanderbilt) and I thought “okay, you can make it to nine!”. And somehow I did! It wasn’t fun. But after 9 miles I got off, went tot he bathroom, and stretched a bit. I actually changed treadmills for a little variety to finish up my final three.

I don’t know how I got through those 12 miles, but I was so proud that I did.

***********************

Stretching, showering (I smelled 🙂 ), and FOOD came next. All I wanted was a massive bowl of roasted veggies, so I roasted 1 chopped sweet potato, a whole bag of brussel sprouts (4 sprouts to a serving? what?), about 1/5 block of tofu, and 2 cloves of garlic at 400 degrees for 35 minutes.

With a big dollop of roasted red pepper hummus on top, this tasted like HEAVEN. Pure heaven. I actually went back for a some snap peas with more hummus. I think I could eat that meal every day for the rest of my life.

***************************

Next I did what ever 23 year old does on Saturday afternoons and went to Barnes & Noble to read. There were a bunch of books I wanted to check out, primarily The Kind Diet, so I spent a few hours relaxing in one of their comfy couches & leaving Operation Beautiful notes.

I Love Loved The Kind Diet and am going to do a better review of it very soon. But it was essentially a much more gentle version of Skinny Bitch that made me want to be vegan (of course!) If only I didn’t have an addiction to Greek Yogurt…

******************************

I was feeling pretty lethargic in my sweats on that couch and thought I would just watch Miss America and call it tonight. But turns out it was my friend Irene’s last night before heading back to school and my friend Nick was having a party. I knew I needed to not be lame so I went home to try to revv myself up to go out!

I forgot how much I love getting dressed up 🙂

I wasn’t super hungry but knew I needed some food in my system after that long run and before drinking. So I had a Kind Diet inspired dinner – a big bowl of warm grains! I cooked 1/4 cup brown rice with 1/4 cup barley and then mixed in some edamame and topped it with siracha. Totally hit the spot. Grapefruit for dessert.

And then I got picked up for a night of hysterical laughter, beer pong, dancing, and icing. I’ll let the pictures do the talking:)

Irene on her tippy toes, me bending down

Paddy in the pantry

 

A few slices of cranberry bread and a bottle of water later, and I was fast asleep.

That’s how I SIA.

  • What was your SIA like yesterday??
11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2011 11:50 am

    Yeah, that’s definitely a random abbreviation – never heard it before! That sounds like my Sunday afternoon!

  2. January 16, 2011 12:57 pm

    I’ve never heard of SIA! I went to spin class yesterday, followed by a short 3.5 mile run. Good for you for doing 12 miles on the treadmill!

    Oh, and I know this is bad, but I haaaaaate the gym in January. All of those darn New Years Resolutioners…:)

  3. January 16, 2011 2:10 pm

    Roasted vegetables and hummus sounds like my kind of heaven

  4. Lisa @ Dishes of Mrs. Fish permalink
    January 16, 2011 2:49 pm

    I hate January gym goers too. I am going to start working out in the AM, because I’m tired of the treadmills always being full.
    What a great idea of going to Barnes and Noble for a few hours. It’s something I’ll have to do the next time my husband is gone!

  5. January 16, 2011 2:49 pm

    I just rented The Kind Diet from the library! And ohh my goodness I think I NEED roasted brussels/sweet potatoes tonight. Definitely my kind of dinner especially with the tofu! My Saturday night involved friends, wine, and a few episode of Mad Men. Can’t complain 🙂

  6. January 16, 2011 2:59 pm

    how dare they take your treadmill! did you demonstratively take your towel off the machine while staring them in the eye? that’s my favorite trick.

    i like that my classes are full in january, but outside of the studio i am very impatient with the newbies. they have no gym ettiquette whatsoever. grrr.

  7. January 16, 2011 4:16 pm

    I know what you mean about sleeping too much. The feeling sucks, it’s like being very groggy the entire day. Congrats on the 12 miles!! I’m so addicted to Greek yogurt too. No way I could be a vegan.

  8. January 16, 2011 4:16 pm

    What did you think of the Kind Diet? Worth the purchase? I am intrigued by actors who become authors!

  9. CLAIRE permalink
    January 16, 2011 6:25 pm

    THOSE PICTURES ARE PRICELESS I WISH I WAS THERE WITH YOU GUYS!! Glad to hear you guys had a fun night out on the town!!!!

  10. squigglefloey permalink
    January 16, 2011 7:42 pm

    Aw you are so cute in your outfit! I didn’t catch Miss America last night either — though I heard she’s 17?! What the heck! I feel SO old.
    Anywho, I forgot what I did last night. Oh yea, did some reading for classes, took care of mom a bit because I’m home and she’s sick. Laundry, made some cranberry muffins(!) — I rarely bake! And hung out with the boy for a bit before he went out with his buddies.
    Not exactly my kind of SIA, but it was nice for saturday none the less 🙂

    Do you get a 3day wknd?

Trackbacks

  1. Review: The Kind Diet « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

