Skip to content

Cleansing Action

January 17, 2011

Hi guys! Hope you enjoyed that lovely undercover blogger post:) Any guesses on who it is??

Work is going to be pretty busy this week with my bosses back from a long trip and tons of meetings, but luckily I have some Reader Requests prepared in case of emergency. Look out for some of those this week!

WORKOUT:

This morning I hit the strikingly less busy gym (thank you MLK for letting everyone else off work!) My training mileage increased again this week and now I’ll be doing 4 – 7 – 4s. I ran 4 miles at these speeds:

  • Mile 1: 6.5mph warm up
  • .25 @ 6.7mph
  • .25 @ 7mph
  • .25 @ 7.5mph
  • .25 @ 8mph

Repeated that 2 more times to hit 4 miles in right around 34 minutes. Afteward I walked on an incline for 10 minutes and then did some more intense abs like last week!

Also – I’ve definitely noticed my legs aren’t getting sore or tight after my long runs! I think my body is building up a really good running base and that stretching and foam rolling is helping. I hope this continues as mileage increases.

OUTFIT:

Sorry it’s not full body – there were two ladies talking right near the mirror and I got self conscious :(. I just wore my black and brown boots on bottom.

FOOD:

I’ve been inspired by The Kind Diet, Ashley & Gillian to do a little mini “cleanse”. I’m not going to be super diligent, but I’ve been feeling like my intestines are lined with chocolate (wonder why that would be…?) and really want to flush myself out. Just stop feeling so weighed down all the time.

Step one = no caffeine! I only have one mug of coffee in the morning, but I am curious to see how addicted I really am. Today I stuck to hot lemon water and have had a few sluggish moments but otherwise seem okay.

I’m also going to try to lessen my intake of added sugars, alcohol, chocolate / sweets, refined carbs, and potentially dairy. Haven’t completely decided on the dairy yet, but I’m hoping the results will be a much more vibrant and light version of myself. We shall see!

So breakfast is luckily able to stay the same (although the Sunflower Seed Butter does have cane juice in it). Just 1/3 cup quick oats with one melty banana and a big old glob of buttah.

Lunch was had at Companion Bakery with my mentor. They always have great vegetarian soup options and today I had a bowl of pesto vegetable soup with a whole grain roll on the side. Back at the office I had an apple. I know that if I’m going to avoid certain foods I’m going to have to keep myself full on the foods I DO eat!

Worked straight through snack time but surprisingly wasn’t hungry. I stopped by the grocery store on the way home to pick up a bunch of veggies to roast for quick easy *cleanse-friendly* meals the rest of the week. When I home I immediately got to work chopping brussel sprouts, onions, sweet potatoes, and tofu up to pop in the oven.

My own dinner tonight consisted of a cup of the brown rice & barley blend that I made yesterday, reheated in the oven. On top I steamed a mixture of tofu, edamame, mushrooms and spinach and tossed in a bit of garlic powder and curry powder. I was craving seaweed salad and bought a little bit to have on the side without realizing there is most definitely sugar in the marinade! Oh well – didn’t want to waste it so I still had it on the side tossed it right on top after I took these pictures.

Gonna grab a piece of fruit for dessert, Skype with Alex, and hit the hay! (Don’t worry, Bachelor is being DVRed for later viewing). 7 mile training run + 8 am meeting = early morning! Hope you all had a great start to the week, day off or not!

  • Have you ever tried to do a cleanse of any sort?
  • Are you addicted to caffeine?
8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2011 7:30 pm

    Gwyneth’s blog “Goop” has a cleansing plan which I did… for a day. I loved the smoothies but the large amount of veg in the soup made me feel kinda sick?! I have also been cutting out caffeine lately and feel totally fine! Whew!

  2. Lisa @ Dishes of Mrs. Fish permalink
    January 17, 2011 7:49 pm

    I think I was honestly addicted to caffeine before I gave up sodas totally last year. I do have a few cups of coffee in the morning, but try to balance out a full glass of water with every cup of coffee I drink.

  3. January 17, 2011 7:50 pm

    I’ve never tried a cleanse before. Don’t know if I could handle it. Sadly, I think I am addicted to caffeine. I turn into such a blob if I don’t have it in the morning lol!

  4. January 17, 2011 7:53 pm

    I used to be so addicted to caffeine! Now I only drink one cup of caffeinated in the morning, and I could do without that if I wanted. I feel so much better without all that caffeine in my system, but I still can’t believe how I function so well when I used to drink 4 cups a day!

  5. squigglefloey permalink
    January 17, 2011 8:14 pm

    Okay, I’m just gonna guess it’s either your BF or your brother? Haha. Mostly because those’re the only two guys I’m aware of from your blog.
    That soft blue looks gorgeous on you! Definitely love you in that color.
    Hope you’ve been sleeping better lately 🙂

  6. January 17, 2011 8:36 pm

    The only caffeine I enjoy is coffee…and I do love it! I’ve done a few caffeine cleanses and always feel so much better, but then early mornings happen and I fall back on the coffee train. I hopr your cleanse goes well!

  7. January 17, 2011 10:07 pm

    Gorgeous photo of you!! Sounds like your plan is perfect for you. Good luck!!

  8. Natalie permalink
    January 18, 2011 6:34 am

    A cleanse sounds great. Giving up coffee for me would be really tough. I love green tea, but to me it doesn’t give me the same “kick” coffee does. Good luck though!! I always flirted with the idea of trying to go vegetarian/vegan. Maybe I’ll give Alicia’s book a try.

    On another note, what kind of blush do you wear? It’s gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

