Skip to content

Undercover Blogger on Miss America

January 17, 2011

When the undercover blogger (or very obvious blogger if you know me personally) feels very strongly about something, he wants you guys to know about it. Remember the last post about New Year’s Eve? I received this new post last night, so I hope you enjoy:

The undercover blogger is back to talk about the hoax that is the Miss America contest.  The only 2 parts I saw were the talent portion and the question portion, however it seemed completely pointless. All the girls either sing or dance and none of them really set themselves apart.

First off, hardly any of the girls try to do something new to set themselves apart.  Why wouldn’t they want to try something different rather than sing or dance like everyone else. A few of the singers were not really that impressive at all and only 2 people tried to do something different. The girl who won played the piano and was pretty good even though she broke into chop sticks half way through. Also, Miss Arkansas is a ventriloquist and sang with the puppets. However, not only did she do something that no one else tried, she also had the best voice out of any of the girls. I don’t know if it was coincidence that the 2 girls who broke the mold ended up 1 and 2.

Either way the point of this is that the Miss America contest is just as pointless as the Gold Glove award in baseball these days.  I am not sure what the people voting look at but these girls don’t even answer the question given to them. They say some general thing about how the world should be a better place and are very vague about the actual question they are presented with. They market the show as smart, talented and pretty girls, and while they very well could be smart, they come off as bimbos because they don’t even pretend to answer the question.

The girls in the contest don’t even try to win anymore, they just try not to lose, and it’s getting pathetic. These pageants are just creepy in general. They parade around girls in skimpy outfits but say the point is for these girls to help others around the world. I think there better ways to determine if a girl could help others besides parading around in a swim suit and pretending they are important.  So while in my anger about the show and I can’t think of ways to make the pageant better, but if you got any ideas let me know. I’m out.

P.S.  How can you not tell me this picture is not at least a little creepy, and that Ms. Arkansas got robbed.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2011 1:18 pm

    It disgusts me. I hate the show Toddlers and Tiaras. Those moms are terrible for putting all that pressure on there daughters. Little kids need to be little kids. Not adults and models.

    Thats ridiculous that its barely even a competition anymore and they are so stupid!

  2. January 17, 2011 1:36 pm

    I didn’t see it, but double ventriloquism sounds right on. If you play an instrument you should automatically win. True this award is pointless, but so is just about everything else on TV. Frontline and my favorite comedies excluded.

  3. squigglefloey permalink
    January 17, 2011 6:52 pm

    Haha that picture is TRES creepy!
    Nice of you to give Clare the morning off 🙂

  4. January 17, 2011 7:22 pm

    That Toddlers show is so gross. I find it so unnerving–what will these girls grow up to become??

  5. January 18, 2011 10:23 am

    I feel like I have a strong connection with the Undercover Blogger…

    Clare, this blog is legit. Keep up the good work Homie.

    • Undercover permalink
      January 18, 2011 11:04 am

      Eliz, Thats the problem. I’m just not sure what life lessons these pageants are teaching these girls except to pretty much be fake, and I dont know how that is going to help them become a better person.

      Vinh-Quang, I feel that same connection. I think i saw you once at one of these pageants. Weren’t you the performer whose talent was Ramen noodle eating?

Leave a Reply

