Skip to content

Tuesday Time & Lara Bar Review

January 18, 2011

5:15 am – wake up to alarm. Slept pretty well and am hoping that’s a result of my cleanse. Still bloated though – maybe the no coffee thing is causing problems with my relief system??

5:50 am – switch one of the TVs to TBS so I can watch Saved By The Bell through my 7 mile training run. Took a break at 5 miles to go to the bathroom and stretch my strangely tight calves. Finished the last two, stretched, and was in the shower by 7:10

7:40 am – grabbed some hot water from the gym, added some bottled lemon juice I brought from home, and headed to work. Neglected to think that getting to work by 8am also meant fighting school traffic. Luckily was only 5 minutes late and the meeting hadn’ t started.

OUTFIT:

Strategically chosen stretchy pants and flats for a day of unpacking boxes.

FOOD:

Breakfast strategically chosen to be portible since I would be eating it during our 8 am meeting.

Almond Butter & half a banana on TJ's Sprouted Grain

 

**work work work**

12:30 pm: take a break from unpacking boxes, as the meeting isn’t until 3pm. Begin prepping lunch.

12:32 pm: Head Honcho comes in and says he forgot to tell me the meeting was now at 1pm and there was no time for a break. Exact words “I have time for lunch. You do not have time for lunch”.

12:33 pm: Rush back to unpack boxes while trying not to get upset. Boss is super funny and hilarious and usually I would just brush that off, but the lack of caffeine, prominent hunger, and early wake up call are making me emotional.

1:15 pm: LUNCH!!

Roasted brussel sprouts, onions, and sweet potato on a bed of spinach topped with hummus.

So. Delicious.

2:45 pm: Feeling kinda crappy and sluggish. Not sure if it’s the lack of caffeine or if I’m just psyching myself out. My body just kinda feels wonky. Ate an apple to try to get some energy.

4:30pm: Start to crave something light and sweet for dinner. Added sugar is a no go and is making this difficult. Despite the snow, I decide a Green Monster would be the perfect pick me up for my sluggish afternoon (got over the fact that my protein powder has stevia in it. This is my cleanse and I’ll do what I want 🙂 ) . I start to really hope that the box of new Blueberry Muffin Lara Bars is on my doorstep because it would be the perfect naturally sweet counterpart!

6:00 pm: BLUEBERRY MUFFIN LARA BARS! BLUEBERRY MUFFIN LARA BARS!

6:45pm: Make my quick dinner and take it on the road to my  harp lesson. As promised, dinner was a Green Monster (normal recipe but with a full frozen banana) and a Blueberry Muffin Lara Bar. Gourmet, I know.

****I was contacted by a rep from Lara Bar to receive and review these bars for free. This is my first product review, but I will always review with 100% honesty!***

I love Lara Bars because they are made with minimal, natural ingredients. Most have a base of peanuts and dates and then a few extra ingredients to achieve the desired flavor. My favorites are Cashew Cookie, Cherry, and Peanut Butter & Jelly. The bars are a little on the expensive side, so I try not to make them a daily habit. I haven’t had many lately because I find that despite the ~200 calorie content, they don’t kept me as full as say an apple and yogurt or oatmeal and PB.

 

Stats.

Ingreds. Never had one with a "concentrate" in it before.

 

 

 

Actual Bar (pretty tiny but dense!)

Review: This bar seemed a little smoother and chewier than some of the other Lara Bars I’ve tried. It was not at all dry or crumbly, which I liked. My favorite bites were one with blueberry in them – reminded me of biting into a blueberry muffin or bagel right at a hunk of fruit! I thought the taste was spot on. This bar definitely satisfied my sweet tooth and I love knowing that it is all natural foods. I would say this can be added to a list of favorite flavors for me and I would definitely purchase it again!

 

****************************

8:30 pm: Home from my harp lesson. Make a small bowl of oatmeal with strawberries to get a few more calories in me before bed.

As soon as I hit publish: Lights out!

 

  • Have you ever tried a Lara Bar? If so what is your favorite flavor?
  • If not, what is your favorite “bar”?
10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2011 9:01 pm

    Loove your scarf!! Where is it from? And I laughed at your sandwich just because it looks exactlyy like the one I would make every other day last semester.. some sort of nut butter + banana on TJ’s sprouted wheat bread (the kind in the package with pink on it). Too funny! And your lunch salad looks awesome. Brussels and sweet potatoes go so well together. I am obviously insaaaanely jealous of your Larabar taste-test but glad you liked! I can’t wait to try it myself!

  2. Danielle permalink
    January 18, 2011 9:30 pm

    My boss has done the same thing to me before, but she’s awesome 99% of the time so it’s hard to be mad! My favorite Lara Bar flavor is peanut butter and jelly (sounds weird, but is delicious)

  3. Lisa @ Dishes of Mrs. Fish permalink
    January 18, 2011 9:35 pm

    I love the Coconut Cream Pie Larbar!
    Lately, I’ve been loving Luna Bars. I also love Cliff’s Carrot Cake Bar.

  4. January 18, 2011 9:47 pm

    Ooh, I heart lara bars. My favorite flavor is probably apple pie. It’s the first one I tried and it’s the one I keep going back to.

    Your outfit was so cute! Very “equestrian” chic.

  5. January 18, 2011 9:50 pm

    I’ve never tried a Larabar, but everyone seems to be eating them except me lol! I really like the Kashi Granola bars (Dark Chocolate Cherry!). Your outfit is super cute. And yeah, traffic was worse today because of schools starting. Time to start leaving earlier again…ugh!

  6. January 18, 2011 10:47 pm

    I hate Larabars…I don’t understand the hype! They’re just sweet, gummy things. I’d rather have a Snickers bar, or just plain dried fruit and nuts. I don’t really get why they have to get blended like that, when they are perfectly non-perishable and portable in their natural selves? Scratching my head…

  7. January 19, 2011 8:13 am

    Can’t believe your boss actually said that to you. It sounds like the kind of thing MY boss would say… and which makes me want to punch him in the face.

    I’m glad you liked the blueberry Larabar — I find that so many flavors can be hit or miss!!

    ❤ ❤

  8. January 19, 2011 10:20 am

    I haven’t tried a Lara bar before, but would love to. There are so many bars on the market, when I go to the store and see rows after rows of them I am confused as to which one to even pick up and buy!
    Notre Dame? Are you in Indiana?

  9. January 19, 2011 8:31 pm

    LOVE YOUR SCARF! LOVE! I want it! 🙂
    I love the layout of the post
    Im interested in the blueberry muffin larabar! I dont like all the flavors and i have only tried on a few but i always have some on hand because they feel like some a wholesome snack and its so filling that it can take the place of a meal if your on the go ( i always keep one in my bag for just that reason, right now i have a pb&j) I dont like the coconut cream ones AT ALL but the carrot cake and cookie dough ones pretty much rock!

Trackbacks

  1. Lara Bar Giveaway! « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

