Skip to content

Beef O’Brady

January 20, 2011

Check out the surprise package waiting for me at home today!

Beef O’Brady’s is a Midwest sport bar chain that my family found out about because they sponsored a college football bowl game. There isn’t one in St. Louis, but my older brother’s friend ordered me this T-shirt! HOW AWESOME! THANKS JOE!! My mom thinks it’s hilarious that I’ll wear a shirt that says “beef’ on it.

***********************************

As for today, I worked out in a nearly empty gym this morning. There was maybe one other person there because we got a bunch of snow and the streets were pretty terrible. But I braved it.

I  was supposed to do a 4 mile run, but my legs were feeling tired and with a long 13-14 mile run this weekend I didn’t want to tire them even more. Instead I did 36 minutes of elliptical intervals, followed by stretching, abs, and free weights. I was pretty proud of myself for listening to my body instead of feeling bound by the training plan!

I left the gym to head to the funeral for with 45 minutes to spare and it usually only takes about 10 minutes to get to this Church. Instead it took the full 45 and I got there right as the Mass was starting. The streets were TERRIBLE  and the highways were the worst part! But I made it safe & sound and the Mass was beautiful.

highway 40

OUTFIT:

And then when I went to work I put on my black Uggs and had one hot get up for the rest of the day.

FOOD:

I packed a AB&banana sandwich to eat in the car.

Yes that is me blowdrying my sandwich. I usually microwave them to get soft and gooey and today tried to replicate that effect with the hairdryer. No such luck…the bread just got dry 😦

After the Funeral I ran into Whole Foods to pick up lunch on the way to work. I was tempted by lots of the hot bar food that I usually get but wanted to keep it a little “cleaner” and found some great options at the cold salad bar!

Clockwise from top left, on a bed of romaine and spinach that would be: Thai purple rice & purple cabbage, raw kale salad, vegan cleanse salad (uhh perfect), tomatoes and chick peas, & vegan power salad (amazeballz).

I want it again.

Snacks were an apple and some sugar snap peas. They looked like this:

I didn’t have anything to do after work today for the first time all week, so I am very excited to be watching Monday’s Bachelor finally! Dinner was just heated up pre-baked sweet potato and brussel sprouts, topped with a scoop of black beans and salsa. Dessert will likely be another grapefruit. I’m obsessed.

************************

Quick note on the cleanse – I feel FANTASTIC. Sleeping wonderfully which makes me sad because it means I probably shouldn’t start drinking coffee again. I feel light and fresh when I wake up and my stomach is so much less bloated. I’m not being that strict about salt and excess sugar, but I have kept everything Vegan and haven’t had any sweets. I’m not sure how much I’ll keep up permanently, but I loveee how I’m feeling!

Keep the entries for the Lara Bar giveaway coming!

ALMOST FRIDAY!

  • Is there a restaurant or anything cool with YOUR name in it?

Obviously I get the Brady Bunch all the time, Tom Brady, Brady Quinn, etc, but having Beef O’Brady’s is super cool too!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. lauravirginia permalink
    January 20, 2011 7:35 pm

    Love the hair-dried sandwich! 🙂

  2. January 20, 2011 7:42 pm

    The only thing cool I’ve seen with my name on it was a milk truck. It said “Dana’s” on the back. How very flattering.

  3. January 20, 2011 7:46 pm

    Haha love the shirt! And isn’t WF just the best?! Ahhh I could live there. So glad you’re sleeping better! Happy almost Friday 🙂

  4. January 20, 2011 8:07 pm

    My last name is Venetos, and there is a great Italian restaurant right by house called Via Veneto! 🙂

  5. January 20, 2011 8:19 pm

    I love your hair dryer attempt 🙂 There is a street with my last name on it!

  6. January 20, 2011 8:44 pm

    oh snow is such a beast! we’re due for a storm tonight and i’m hoping to be a trooper and get to the gym in the morning before work. pray for me! haha

    love the fit! those shoes are adorable and it reminds me how much my closet is lacking in khaki skirts.

  7. January 20, 2011 9:37 pm

    My last name is Beaver, so unfortunately, there are lots of things and places with our name involved . . . .

  8. January 20, 2011 10:42 pm

    I tried a korean philly sub from a Lee’s Philly once. It was lovely. 🙂

  9. squigglefloey permalink
    January 21, 2011 1:27 am

    I LOLed at your blowing picture. Apparently sandwiches need some good-looking maintenance too 🙂
    Wait, what kind of cleanse are you on that’s helping you sleep better? So far, what’s helped for me to sleep when I’m stressed out has been a warm english muffin with butter. What’s your trick? haha

  10. January 21, 2011 2:06 am

    I love your outfit 🙂 There is a restaurant with my last name and my parents have matchbooks from there around our house!

  11. Katie permalink
    January 21, 2011 8:08 am

    Haha.. loved the blowing drying the sandwich picture. I think we all try to do something like that every once in a while. What have you been thinking about the Bachelor this season? Do you mind that it is Brad? Oh man the show is addicting. After each season I promise myself I wont watch the next.. but I always end up watching.

  12. Natalie permalink
    January 21, 2011 9:48 am

    Gosh you eat so healthy! The food from Whole Foods looks so delicious.. I wish there was one close to me! Sorry you had to go to a funeral.

  13. January 22, 2011 5:16 pm

    LOVE that your used a hair-dyer and took a picture 🙂 because i would totally do the same thing!

    My last name is Banks SOOOOO i used to get these a lot:
    1. does your dad own a bank… um no
    2. are you related to tyra banks?! … um deff no?

Leave a Reply

