Skip to content

Uncharted Territory

January 22, 2011

I DID IT! I entered uncharted territory this morning and completed a 14 mile run! The farthest I’d run previously was a half marathon at 13.1 miles, so this was really really nerve wracking for me. I took it slow and completed the run in just over 131 minutes with the help of The Food Network and Villanova basketball.

source

I felt really great throughout this entire run, and there are a few reasons why:

1. I was coming off a week of really clean eating. Last night was so much better than last Friday too! I kept myself busy after work with a mani/pedi, ate an awesome dinner out at Crazy Bowls & Wraps, and had a healthy dessert of dates and a grapefruit. I also had a small bowl of peanut flour oats before bed to carbo load:)

2. I slept just the right amount. Last week I had a ton of trouble sleeping and ended up sleeping for TOO long before my 12 mile run. This morning I woke up rested after about 8 1/2 hours of sleep. I didn’t need any coffee to get me going, which is good since I’m not drinking it this week.

3. I was able to get the right amount of pre-run fuel. Last week my usual almond butter & banana toast was too much in my stomach after so much eating the night before. Today, since I didn’t overdo it last night, my stomach was perfectly happy with my breakfast. This meant no tummy problems during the run!

That's hot lemon water, not coffee!

4.  I got to the gym at 10am instead of 12pm. It was still a little crowded, but not nearly as bad as the mid-day rush I battled last week. I could find a good treadmill in front of good TV options and was set for the whole run.

5. I ate a gel during the run. I hadn’t been using these for my indoor long runs, which was probably stupid. I took a Clif Strawberry Gel (it was alright, nothing spectacular) at mile 7 and got an instant boost of energy.

source

6. I took a few days off of running before hand. I skipped my scheduled 4 miler this past Thursday because my legs were a bit sore and just took it easy on the elliptical instead. That meant my legs were itching to run today! I don’t know if I should continue to stray from my training plan, but it worked well this week.

*********************************

I walked a little over a mile after the run to watch the end of the Villanova game, and got a happy surprise when my mom showed up on the elliptical next to me! I stretched and foam rolled but am still pretty tight right now. I should probably be icing after these runs, but I’m never in the mood by the time I drive home.

Anyway, I had a big lunch of leftovers after my shower!

That is 3 slices of baked tofu, 1 slice soy cheese, mixed greens, tomato, and bbq sauce on a toasted sandwich thin. On the side I had the remainder of my roasted brussel sprouts and onions along with a leftover fruit cup from my Dad’s Einstein’s breakfast. MMMM but I’m already hungry again.

Deciding what to do with the rest of my Saturday — I don’t really feel like drinking coming off of such a great week! I just feel so fantastic and know drinking will make me feel crappy again. Might do 5pm mass. Might make some veggie burgers. Might go get a green juice. Might do laundry. Might practice the harp.  Might go drink water at a bar with my brother. Might go mail off the goodies to the Lara Bar giveaway winners.

Might screw it all and get drunk.

What can I say? I’m unpredictable.

  • What is YOUR favorite thing to do on Saturday afternoons? I need ideas so I don’t feel like I wasted a weekend!
21 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2011 10:37 am

    just found your blog from a random click at someone else’s site and love it! are you training for a marathon or just doing long runs for fun? i have never run a race, but love just doing a long run for the heck of it to compete with myself and see what i can do 🙂

  2. lauravirginia permalink
    January 22, 2011 5:07 pm

    Way to go, girl! I don’t think I could 14 on the treadmill. Phew! I’ll be spending my Saturday night babysitting, so I’ve got nothin’ for ya.

  3. Jenn permalink
    January 22, 2011 5:11 pm

    Do you just add the peanut flour directly into your oatmeal? Does it make it taste peanut-buttery?

  4. Kelly Adams permalink
    January 22, 2011 5:25 pm

    Congrats! that is so amazing, 13.1 is the farthest I have ever ran, and I can’t wait to run 14 once I start my marathon training plan for my full in October. The treadmills at my gym reset after 60 minutes, which is kind of a blessing in disguise for me, because it helps me to mentally break up my run. Good luck with the rest of your training, I’ll be reading 😉

  5. January 22, 2011 5:26 pm

    Wow, girl! Congrats on the AWESOME run! You are completely inspiring me to try out a healthy cleanse…thank you for documenting your week of clean foods!

  6. Lamar permalink
    January 22, 2011 5:43 pm

    Talk about uncharted territory…my dad called me a few weeks ago that your dad wound up being his doctor…ick.

    Also, can we plan a get-a-way?!

  7. Kate permalink
    January 22, 2011 5:58 pm

    WOOHOO! Congrats on the run!

  8. January 22, 2011 6:07 pm

    WOOO! Congrats on the run!!!!
    I’m partial to the “maybe I’ll get drunk” idea…but that’s just me 😉 Sunday afternoons? FOOTBALL, baby! You should watch the playoffs!

  9. January 22, 2011 6:33 pm

    Congrats on the run!! That’s amazing!! 🙂 I like to get errands done on Saturday. Tonight, you could always rent a movie and have a fun chill night. Be rested to watch the Bears kick butt tomorrow!!

  10. January 22, 2011 6:44 pm

    Congrats on the run! That’s quite an accomplishment. I haven’t ran more than 13 miles since my half mary last summer. But I just may get back on the horse now and do it again!
    Great post : )

  11. oatsandspice permalink
    January 22, 2011 7:10 pm

    I wish I could run 14 miles on a treadmill – nice work Clare! Doesn’t it feel amazing after you finish a hard workout?! Love it!

  12. January 22, 2011 8:09 pm

    Congrats on running 14 miles! I ran the farthest I’ve ever run today too but half that distance! I’m training for a half marathon, so I’m working my way up there to 13.

    On Saturdays I love just getting out of the house no matter what I do. I usually exercise in the morning so in the afternoon I do some shopping or run errands. I kinda like all the crazy traffic and people out. Or sometimes I’ll see a mid-afternoon movie and follow it up with dinner out!

  13. squigglefloey permalink
    January 23, 2011 2:08 am

    Awww, SO glad to hear that you had such a successful run !!! 🙂 Did you go out solo to crazy bowls? I’ve never seen one in Cali, looks good though! Hope you have a wonderfully relaxing sunday 🙂 (or, post-drunk recovery if you did decide to get a little crazy tonight hehe)

  14. January 23, 2011 2:22 am

    Good job!!
    I barely squeaked out 30 minutes this morning…..blah. Need to get back into it! Anyway, I spent the rest of my afternoon surfing. That’s what I like to do on my Saturdays:) Aloha!

  15. January 23, 2011 11:33 am

    great job on the new distance record! that’s great to hear!!! i can’t wait until i break my 1/2 mary distance record!!!

  16. January 23, 2011 3:59 pm

    Great job on the run! I am envious of your brussel sprouts!

  17. Paulie D. permalink
    January 23, 2011 5:13 pm

    Congratulations on achieving your goal of completing a 14-mile training run Saturday. Your decisions about what to put into your body paid off in your very first week of adjusting your consumption habits with the successful completion of your first run beyond the half-marathon distance. Keep it up. You are on your way to a great personal adventure that could give you a sense of accomplishment that will last a lifetime.
    For ideas about how to spend a weekend afternoon, the pastor of my church put the following in our church bulletin this weekend. It must have been popular, since I only found one copy in the entire church after 12:30 p.m. Mass today. I’ll share the best tips with you and your blog readers, before I give the bulletin to an elderly lady who I’ll visit at her home this evening to recite the Rosary with her. For me, I did laundry yesterday afternoon, while watching college basketball in between trips to the washer and dryer.
    He’s my pastor’s view about how to spend free time:
    “With the busyness of our lives, our use of our unscheduled or free time becomes extremely important to our spiritual journey. Television, books, music, movies, the internet, iPhones, iPads, et., can draw us very aware of God or distract us from God, who is always present and longing for us to be aware of His presence.
    “Spiritual reading is especially a Catholic tradition and habit that enriches our relationship with God. For me, spiritual reading is any reading that enriches our being and leads us to a closer relationship with the Lord. Since there is so little time in most of our lives for reading, I believe we should read only the best of books. Most important among spiritual books would be the Sacred Scriiptures, the Lives of the Saints and the writings of the great men and women who have gone before us, like St. Augustine, St. John of the Cross, St. Theresa of Avila, St. Ignatius of Loyola, etc. ”
    He concludes with the view that we need to let the Lord be in charge and make the decisions about how to use our unscheduled for free time.
    My thought is that good use of time could include helping readers of this blog with their eating and exercise aspirations, pursuing studies to gain a certification as a registered dietitian or volunteering at a soup kitchen to provide nutritiuos and delicious meals to the needy. I realize that not everyone is spiritual but I think it is part of making us caring people who look out for the interests of others.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Uncharted Territory ÂŤ Fitting It All In -- Topsy.com
  2. Shangri-La Vegetarian Diner « Fitting It All In
  3. Monday Man-Day « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

