Skip to content

The Meal of My Dreams

January 23, 2011

Last night I made the meal of my dreams…literally. I came up with this while laying in bed last week! The veggie bacon isn’t vegan which kinda upset me since I’ve been eating a vegan diet during this cleanse, but it wasn’t about being strict and having rules. It was about feeling better – and vegan or not I wanted to make this dish!

I present to you my: Spicy Maple Soy Glazed Tempeh & “Bacon” topped Sweet Potato:

  • scant 1/2 cup crumbled tempeh
  • 1/3 cup chopped mushrooms
  • 2 slices veggie bacon
  • 1 small sweet potato

For the glaze:

  • 1 tsp pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp braggs liquid aminos (or soy sauce)
  • dash cayenne
  • 1/8 tsp cumin
  • sprinkle black pepper

Here are the stars of the show:

First I pan-fried two pieces of veggie bacon in olive oil cooking spray:

Then I chopped it up into small pieces and added it to a mixture of crumbled tempeh and chopped mushrooms:

Then it all went back into the pan on medium and was covered with the glaze:

I let it slowly cook on medium for 5-7 minutes, stirring a few times, while I microwaved my sweet potato. Then I sliced the cooked sweet potatoe in half and spooned the tempeh mixture right on top:

On the side I had roasted asparagus. Just coated with olive oil spray, a salt-free seasoning, and garlic powder and roasted for 20 minutes at 400 degrees.

I can’t get over how crazy good this maple soy glaze was. I research a few similar sauces online where I got the idea to add some spice. I was nervous about adding the cayenne and cumin because the maple soy mixture was good enough on it’s own, but the small amount of spice added an incredible kick that perfectly balanced the sweetness of the syrup. I tasted a lick off the spoon and immediately told to my friend Irene how bomb it was…I am already brainstorming other ways to use it! Next time, I would probably make a little bit more of the glaze so that it was even more prominent on top of the tempeh “bacon” mixture.

Would you judge me if I went back and finished off the entire bunch of roasted asparagus?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2011 8:55 am

    Hi! *new commenter* Your meal is so photogenic. It must’ve been fun to eat! 😛 I also find myself dreaming up meals sometimes. And then I look into my fridge and find that I have none of the ingredients I thought I did… Looks like things turned out okay for you though! 🙂

  2. January 23, 2011 8:57 am

    That looks amazing!!! Thanks for sharing, Im always looking for new sweet potato topping ides! 🙂

  3. January 23, 2011 9:12 am

    Haha!! Nobody could judge you for going back for more asparagus. YUM! I’ve never tried veggie bacon before. How does it compare to the real deal? Might have to try it!

  4. January 23, 2011 9:33 am

    HOLY SWEET LOVE OF POTATO that looks amazing! you are quite the beast in the kitch!

    hope you had a fab weekend girl 🙂

  5. January 23, 2011 9:52 am

    Wow that looks so good! I love your huge pile of asparagus! Isn’t it annoying how in a restaurant if you have a side of asparagus you only get like 5? Whenever I make something like asparagus or cauliflower or kale chips, I polish them off in one sitting. No one can ever say you shouldn’t eat too much asparagus!

  6. January 23, 2011 10:36 am

    Beautiful, cozy winter recipe! Glad you enjoyed it.

  7. January 23, 2011 11:25 am

    I don’t have any of that bacon and I just did my grocery shopping for the week (DANGIT!) but I totally have maple sizzurp and soy sauce…I wonder what I could glaze with that? Hmmm…carrots maybe?

  8. January 23, 2011 11:33 am

    oh my gosh i’m totally making this as soon as i get some tempeh! love that fake bacon.

  9. January 23, 2011 1:34 pm

    I don’t like real bacon, so I’ve never had the veggie kind… but this looks amazing!!! I really need to pick up some ingredients so I can make this 🙂

  10. Paulie D. permalink
    January 23, 2011 4:48 pm

    Way to go for pursuing the kick! Maybe all the running is having beneficial effects on your attitude about taking calculated risks with your cooking. 🙂 The glaze sounds and looks awesome.

  11. January 23, 2011 5:19 pm

    What a beautiful dream! 🙂 Last night I dreamed I bought a DSLR…. 😉
    I changed my site to my own domain, so update your bookmarks. 🙂

  12. January 23, 2011 8:32 pm

    I WISH SO MUCH I HAD THE INGREDIENTS TO MAKE THIS RIGHT NOW… creating a grocery list as i type 🙂 I cant wait to try it, its like you made it for me 😀

Trackbacks

  1. Shangri-La Vegetarian Diner « Fitting It All In
  2. Monday Man-Day « Fitting It All In
  3. oh happy day « Banksyface

Leave a Reply

