Skip to content

Inaugural Man-Day & Creative Cooking

January 24, 2011

For the first ever *Monday Man-Day*, my brother sent me this hilarious video of two baseball teams ( FAU vs. Western Kentucky) messing around during a rain delay. The first minute or so is the funniest…your guys would probably enjoy this!

***************************

Snack this afternoon was sugar snap peas & roasted red pepper hummus. I spent a lot of the afternoon doing computer work and I hate being so sedentary all day! My one saving grace is that I have to get up to go to the bathroom so often (although less frequently since I’ve given up the coffee and carbonated water). I just feel like my body is wasting away in my chair…

Throughout the afternoon I began brainstorming dinner. I had some leftovers to use as well as an acorn squash and a yellow pepper on it’s last leg. Along with my quinoa from last night and black beans from the weekend, it turned into a great protein packed salad!

 

Quinoa & Black Bean Salad with Acorn Squash

  • 1 Acorn squash
  • 1 yellow pepper
  • 1 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1 cup drained and rinsed black beans
  • 2 big handfuls of raw spinach
  • garlic powder & vindaloo seasoning (if desired)
  • Trader Joe’s Champagne Pear Vinaigrette (or dressing of your choice)

First I sliced the acorn squash and yellow pepper and baked it at 400 degrees for twenty minutes, flipping once.

Then I started layering things in a bowl. First 2 huge handfuls of torn spinach, then a little over a cup of quinoa and 1 cup of black beans. To top it off I chopped up the pepper and acorn squash (peel taken off).

I mixed it all together with some garlic powder and “vindaloo” Indian seasoning and heated it in the microwave for a 3 minutes. To dress it, I mixed approximately 1.5 tbsp of Trader Joe’s Champagne Pear vinaigrette with a little water and pour it over the top. I didn’t realize the vinaigrette  had gorgonzola in

it, which is NOT a flavor I like, but since it was diluted it turned out alright.

I love that this salad has greens, veggies, and plenty of protein from the black beans and quinoa. It was a great way to use up my leftovers. Though sometimes I like to eat one of my classic favorites or use a recipe, “creative cooking” based on what I have at the house is really fun too!

 

  • What’s your favorite way to cook – recipes or on the fly?

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2011 8:03 pm

    I LOVE Acorn Squash. And I definitely prefer to cook with recipes but don’t usually have the time…so it winds up being mostly on the fly!!! THIS recipe looks super yummy though…I might have to try it!!

  2. January 24, 2011 8:21 pm

    delicious recipe–acorn squash is such a yummy winter fruit.

  3. January 24, 2011 8:21 pm

    Never tried acorn squash before, but it looks pretty appetizer. I rather cook with a recipe, but I usually don’t have the time to find a good one. Perks of working full-time haha. 🙂

  4. January 24, 2011 9:13 pm

    What a beautiful quinoa bowl! I just made a huge batch on Sunday that I plan to use throughout the week. I need to get some acorn squash asap- love that stuff. I usually do “on the fly” stuff for myself but use recipes when cooking for family/friends!

  5. January 24, 2011 9:24 pm

    Great quinoa recipe!

    I love following and getting inspiration from recipes, but I always tend to do my own thing! I can never follow a recipe exactly! Haha!

  6. January 25, 2011 7:40 am

    I usually cook “on the fly” but I’ve been trying to be more patient and write things down so that I have it for the blog 🙂

  7. January 25, 2011 11:11 am

    I know this sounds sexist, but that video is proof that boys are inherently funny than girls. there i said it.

  8. Her Brother permalink
    January 25, 2011 11:44 am

    I thought the shake weight skit was appropriate for Clare’s Blog.

Trackbacks

  1. It’s in the Cheeks! « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

