Skip to content

Opposite of Man-Day

January 25, 2011

Good morning!!

Today I had a 7 mile training run, and I decided to try to make it more of a tempo run. I’ve been reading on other blogs about the benefits of tempo runs and how they might be the most important run in a training plan, so I’m going to try to incorporate them. A tempo run, from what I understand, gradually builds up speed until you hit your target race pace at about 2/3 of the way through, and then gradually slows down again.

For my run I used the following speeds:

  • Mile 1: 6.5 mph (9:13 pace)
  • Mile 2: 6.7 mph
  • mile 3: 6.8 mph
  • mile 4: 6.9 mph
  • Mile 5-5.5: 7mph (8:34 pace)
  • Mile 5.5-6: 7.1 mph (8:27 pace)
  • Mile 6: 6.7 mph
  • Mile 7: 6.5 mph

I know that I run faster that that in my speed work, but its difficult to keep up a faster pace for a long period of time! I think this will be good for me:)  Here is more info on tempo runs — after reading it, it looks like the gradual build up isn’t really necessary!

OUTFIT:

Someone tell me they know a good trick to keep your skirt from getting caught on your tights? It really deters me from wearing skirts more often!

BREAKFAST:

For breakfast, I tried the second soy yogurt that I bought. This time it was a vanilla flavored yogurt. I decided not to put my usual peanut flour in it because I didn’t know if it would taste good against the vanilla. Instead I just mixed in 1 Tsp Chia Seeds (new buy!!) and sprinkled a few nuts on top.

In the mix:

  • 1 Soy Vanilla yogurt
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1/3 cup Kashi Go Lean
  • 1/2 banana
  • 2 big strawberries
  • sprinkle chopped walnuts

Again, the yogurt was more gelatenous that a creamy Greek yogurt. The flavor was okay – not my favorite, but still yummy and sweet in the morning. Its not that I don’t enjoy these breakfasts, I’m just always thinking about the luxurious texture of Greek Yogurt. I have a problem…

Okay. Now onto yucky stuff:

***BOYS STOP READING. YOU GOT YOUR MAN-DAY YESTERDAY***

Someone asked me if I experienced any depression, anxiety, or mood swings in relation to my birth control. In short, the answer is no.

I have been on & off birth control and with and without antidepressants for the past couple of years. I started birth control my Freshman year of college right after I got my period on my own for the first time after my ED. I switched brands a few times because I still wasn’t regular, but eventually settled on one that I had no problems with (I wish I could remember which it was). I was on antidepressants at this time as well.

When I stopped taking my antidepressants (which you can read about in this post) I wanted to see what it was like to be on no medication at all. It seemed so free-ing, and I didn’t have a reason to be on birth control at the time. So for about a year I was prescription free, had regular periods, and felt fantastic. I went back on birth control this past March and my doctor recommended Loestrin 24 (the generic version). I haven’t had any issues with it at all, except for a month or two of my body getting used to the schedule.

Throughout this whole period I’ve had ups and downs with my depression and moods, but none that I can specifically contribute to birth control. I haven’t noticed any weight gain either, which is nice. Over all, the birth control is fantastic with the exception of wanting to kill my phone every time my 8pm BC alarm goes off.

I know that some people have awful side affects from birth control, but haven’t heard any specific examples that are depression or mood related. Does anyone have insightful tips or experiences to offer in this department?

Of Interest:

15 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2011 9:53 am

    I HATE when my dresses cling to my tights/stockings. If it’s actually from static cling, I find that rubbing dryer sheets all over my legs works pretty well. However, I think my problem is usually not from static but from the actual texture of the materials that are prone to stick to each other. Aside from greasing myself up with crisco to cut down on friction, I don’t have any ideas.

  2. January 25, 2011 10:10 am

    I don’t know what you mean by “caught” — if it’s static, there’s some sort of spray called Static Guard that works relatively well (not the generic brands, though — those are useless). I know that I have a skirt that has some sort of trimming at the bottom that will inevitably snag on tights, so I can only wear it with bare legs… if that’s the problem, then you’re just out of luck. 😉

    ❤ ❤

  3. January 25, 2011 10:21 am

    I love that gorgeous belt!

  4. Kathleen Donahue permalink
    January 25, 2011 11:02 am

    Hey Clare,

    Your blog is great! I’ve really enjoyed reading it since it popped up on my facebook–way to go for having the courage to do it! It’s very inspiring, so thank you!

    About the birth control…I have heard a couple of speakers visiting at ND who gave lectures on the risks of birth control, specifically how it affects the type of men women are attracted to and the cancer risks. associated with it, specifically breast cancer.

    http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=birth-control-pills-affect-womens-taste
    –that is a link to the article about attraction to different kinds of men

    http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/factsheet/Risk/oral-contraceptives
    –that is a link to the National Cancer Institute’s summary of Oral Contraceptives and Cancer risk

    Related to this, someone close to me was on birth control and it caused her to have a pulmonary embolism and almost cost her her life (granted she represents a small percentage of women who see those side effects).

    All-in-all, be careful!

    Thanks for your great blog!

    Kathleen

  5. January 25, 2011 11:26 am

    That article makes sense I guess. The 6 meals plan definitely works for me, as I lost 20 lbs after 2 months of eating that way. But it does cause me to think about food constantly, and I am ravenous by the time it’s time for the next one. I couldn’t see myself going back to the old way again. Plus the 6 meal plan is better for me since my schedule is different every day (including what time I wake up) and I can just start the clock beginning with the first one and fit the others in around the rest of my day.

    I could see it not working for people who don’t understand what “small” is. Your blog could help people out with that!

  6. January 25, 2011 11:58 am

    gosh i HATE birth control. i’m on the nuva-ring right now to help regulate my periods, etc., but i really feel bloated and crappy and irritable on it. i just went on it 3 weeks ago, so i’m hoping the side effects will let up, but i did try yaz a few years ago with the same results. i think it makes me retain water, because like a week after quitting yaz i was down like 10 pounds. TEN. geesh.

    also i LOVE your outfit. too cute! do you wear a slip? i often wear one if i’m wearing a dress or skirt that might cling. or rub your tights down with a dryer sheet. is that what you mean by sticking to your tights? static?

  7. January 25, 2011 11:58 am

    oh, i’m considering trying soy or coconut milk yogurt now that i’m vegan….not so sure! is it good?

  8. January 25, 2011 12:59 pm

    Love your outfit today, especially the red belt! Great job on tempo run! When I first got on bc years ago, I gained 5 pounds. It doesn’t seem like a lot, but it does when you’re 5’2. I’ve been on (no joke) 5+ birth controls because I kept having problems. Hopefully, the one that I’m on now works well :/

  9. January 25, 2011 2:31 pm

    I don’t have any specific tips- but just to keep trying different brands until you find what is right for you. I’m a on a low dose one, which seems to be best for me- and has less side effects.

  10. January 25, 2011 2:38 pm

    I love your blog! I’m on Loestrin 24 as well, and I really really like it. I’ve been on it for a few years now, and my periods are almost non-existant some months (the doctor said that would happen, but I still freak out every time! haha). It made my cramps disappear as well! I haven’t experienced any negative side effects – no depression or weight gain whatsoever. Overall, I give it an A+ 😉

  11. January 25, 2011 3:01 pm

    1. I LOVE your boots in your outfit. You’re adorable! 🙂

    2. My roommate is on both anti-depressants and birth control. She went off both too but decided it wasn’t for her. She went back to a new birth control after a period of time but found she gained weight and has been having ups and downs. It’s been challenging but we finally convinced her that she needs to go talk to a psychiatrist and he prescribed her antidepressants again. Her lows became so extreme that we were all genuinely concerned for her.

    Hope you figure everything out. Happy Tuesday 🙂

  12. January 25, 2011 5:18 pm

    Love your outfit!
    Thanks for the link to the article on tempo runs. Can’t wait to read it!

  13. January 25, 2011 7:57 pm

    I went on birth control (Tri-Sprintec, Wal-Mart’s brand of the pill) in mid August of 2008. From then to September I really struggled as my body adjusted. I was uber-stressed and had major mood swings and “funks” that I just couldn’t shake. I remember grabbing my friend, Laura, and asking her if she thought I was crazy. I had no idea why I was feeling that way since I had every reason in the world to be happy. Eventually, around October, my moods leveled out as my body adjusted to the hormone. In November I did a lot of research about birth control and realized that it was what was effecting me back in September. I have been on it since then and besides that first month or so I have been fine. But I look forward to the day when I won’t have to be on it anymore! I just don’t really like having an extra hormone in my body to deal with.

  14. squigglefloey permalink
    January 25, 2011 10:41 pm

    What do chia seeds taste like? And what are they supposed to be good for? I know nothing about them! And I love your outfits…gah, I wish I had your closet. I’ve become a sweater and jeans college student these days — yep, getting lazzzzy.
    And I definitely wanted strawberries, but a box is 4.99 at my local TJs 😦 haha

  15. January 26, 2011 7:41 pm

    I was on loestrin 24 for a few months last year and it made me completely stop getting my peroiod for months which freakkked me outtt. But im glad to hear its working well for you!

    I ALSO have my alarm set for 8pm EVERYNIGHT and want to throw it across the room when it goes off haha but there are many nights id forget if it didnt go off 🙂

    I love your boot/sock combo.. for that mater i kinda love all your boots!

Leave a Reply

