Skip to content

Gotta Get The Fish

January 28, 2011

Last night my brother and I went to Remy’s Kitchen & Wine Bar as part of Clayton Restaurant Week. After looking at the participating restaurant’s menus, Remy’s looked the most interesting and veg – friendly.

When I arrived, I had settled on the Greek Salad (no olives) for my appetizer, but I was still debating my main course. I put it out there on twitter and got votes for the risotto. I have been trending more towards true vegetarian lately as opposed to my usual pescatarian self, so I was really tempted to go with the Risotto. However it was made with cheese and I’m not a huge cheese girl. I also hadn’t had much protein that day AND the Bronzed Mahi is one of their specialties. I can’t pass up a fish special, especially when it comes with lentils! So the fish it was.

The salad was perfectly dressed in a light lemony vinaigrette, and feta really is growing on me in small amounts!

It’s honestly wasn’t all that spectacular, but I really liked the lentil broth. The fish was cooked very well and the little shrimp on top was a nice first bite! And for my dessert course I ordered their house-made raspberry sorbet. It was much creamier than it looks and had a bold raspberry flavor that I’m not used to getting in the winter. Delicious!

I love love that restaurant week portions are smaller. They were the perfect -size for a multi course meal (what the portions should be like in the first place!) and I didn’t leave feeling overly stuffed. I would definitely go back to Remy’s as their full menu had some really neat looking small plates. My brother enjoyed his lamb stuffed grape leaves, steak, and creme brulee.  The atmostphere was dimly light with fun paintings and quotes printed onto the wall. It was  a fun brother/ sister night!

***********************************************

This morning I woke up a few minutes before my alarm out of an amazing deep sleep. I NEVER have that feeling where I am just 100% dead to the world. I’m always up to go to the bathroom and tossing around. Today I was so rested and even more just so excited to have slept!

Yoga was fantastic due to my morning happiness. I think I made some progress on stretching my hamstrings and I hope I’m not sore for this weekends 15 miler! This training plan is getting really daunting! But in just 2 months I’ll be running a MARATHON and it will all be worth it!

OUTFIT:

The high today is a balmy 40 degrees so no boots in sight! Instead I’m just a walking Polo ad.

BREAKFAST:

Super ripe bananas are the best oatmeal mixers and smell SOO good and sweet when you heat them up!

I have a lunch date with LB at Whole Foods for lunch and I’m already drooling over the cold bar.  See you soon. HAPPY FRIDAY!

  • What’s your opinion on restaurant portions? Do you like getting as much as you can for your money or do you prefer that they be smaller?
12 Comments leave one →
  1. oatsandspice permalink
    January 28, 2011 9:53 am

    I love the Clayton area in St. Louis – so many great places to eat! That raspberry sorbet looks SO SO good!

  2. January 28, 2011 10:28 am

    I prefer to get as much as I can for what I pay for. Then I can just take it home as leftovers and either eat for lunch, or see if someone else in my family wants it.

  3. Natalie permalink
    January 28, 2011 10:40 am

    Your vegan recipes posted yesterday look soo good! Can’t wait to try one out. Also, I prefer to get small portions in restaurants.

  4. January 28, 2011 10:55 am

    love your skinny jeans. still need to get on board with those, they look so cute with flats!

  5. January 28, 2011 10:57 am

    MMM! Your dinner looks fantastic. My sister lives in Philly and always raves about the restaurant weeks and their fixed price, small portion menus…such a fun idea!

  6. January 28, 2011 11:14 am

    Here in California, 40-60 degrees is boot weather! Have you ever done your training runs outside? I am training for a half in a couple weeks and I do most of my training runs outside so I can get myself used to elevation, wind, and elements!

  7. January 28, 2011 11:16 am

    Here in California, 40-60 degrees is boot weather! Have you ever done your training runs outside? I am training for a half in a couple weeks and I do most of my training runs outside so I can get myself used to elevation, wind, and elements!.

  8. January 28, 2011 11:31 am

    What a perfectly preppy outfit–cute!

  9. January 28, 2011 12:46 pm

    i so wish they were smaller!!! esp when eating with other becuz you just get carried away and keep eating when the portions are so big!

  10. January 28, 2011 2:51 pm

    I love the salad bar at Whole Foods!

    I appreciate when a restaurant serves portions that should be a “true” serving–otherwise I just end up over eating.

  11. January 28, 2011 10:22 pm

    Oh, the dinner certainly looks pretty, to bad it didn’t taste all that great!

    and good luck on the 15 miler!! i’m sure it’ll go great!

  12. January 29, 2011 8:56 am

    i hate when restaurant portions are huge and then it tastes so good, MUCH HARDER TO CONTROL YOURSELF! The old me loves a nice big portion the current me prefers smaller so i can leave not feeling like i overdid it 🙂
    HOWEVER, i have gotten MUCH better at taking leftovers home

Leave a Reply

