Skip to content

Seeded Edamame Burgers With Brown Rice & Apples

January 29, 2011

They’re pretty on the inside.

Tonight I looked to my Christmas Gift from Laura, a cookbook called “Veggie Burgers Every Which Way” for dinner. This book contains tons of recipes ranging from a basic black bean burger to more creative “burgers” like beet tartare. The recipe that stood out to me the most was for seeded edamame burgers with brown rice and apples. Plus I only needed to buy two new ingredients!

The recipe first called for me to make 1 1/2 cups of brown rice. While that was cooking, I toasted raw sunflower seeds and sesame seeds as well as microwaved some frozen edamame.

After preparing a flax egg, I peeled and apple and used the food processor to get it finely diced.

Next I pulsed a combination of the flax egg, edamame, and toasted seeds in the food processor before adding it to a mixture of diced apples, brown rice, flour, molasses, sesame seed oil, soy sauce, and black pepper.

Then, while olive oil was heating in a pan, I combined the mixture with a spoon.

The recipe called to form 6 patties from the mixture and add them to the hot oil to sear and form a crust. After 2 minutes of searing, I was to turn down the heat to finish cooking, flipping once.

This is where the problems began. The mixture was so wet and was not staying together at all! I kind of plopped some patties down onto the pan and tried to form them with the spoon, but they were still falling apart.

When I attempted to flip the them, I found that the seared crust was more on the burnt side, which didn’t make for pretty burgers.

Before cooking the final two patties, I mushed the mixture more with my hands in hopes it would stick together better. It helped, but they still weren’t super firm veggie burgers.

Thankfully these babies tasted a lot better than they looked! While the flavors weren’t as bold as I was hoping for, it was definitely a nice combination of sweet and savory. I placed one “burger” on a whole wheat english muffin and had some broccoli on the side. I also ended up going back and eating a second patty just on its own. The rest are in the freezer for later, and would probably be really good on top of a salad.

I was a little disappointed with my first recipe from this book, but I think I chose a pretty crazy one. There are so so many others I want to try that like Tuscan White Bean Burgers and Sweet Potato Burgers with Lentils and Kale.  The cookbook is really neat in that it explains all the different ingredients that can go into veggie burgers, how to prepare them, and why they are used. The book is divided into bean based burgers, vegetable based burgers, and faux meat burgers. There are also recipes for homemade buns and side dishes!

Hopefully I’ll have better luck next time. For now, I’m consoling myself with grapefruit and dark chocolate chips. I feel better already:)

  • Have you ever had a recipe that didn’t quite turn out as you planned?
11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2011 4:55 pm

    I had so many recipe flops when I first started cooking that I can’t even remember them all. Most memorable, a quiche with a brown rice crust. It was um, interesting!

  2. January 29, 2011 9:25 pm

    I just googled “flax egg”…how interesting! Those burgers SOUND delish, and no worries about the burning…that’s a daily occurrence in my house. As long as they tasted okay! 🙂

  3. January 29, 2011 10:26 pm

    hahaha trying recipes that don’t work out is pretty much the story of my life haha. that’s why i always make my family taste test them before even i do! i feel like these burgers should be good! they sound delicious

  4. January 29, 2011 11:08 pm

    mmm Im looking for the perfect veggie burger recipe right now! Ever since the amazing one i had at the diner its all i want? Do you recommend this one? Maybe i should go look into that book!

  5. January 29, 2011 11:40 pm

    sorry about the recipe! i’ve tried a lot that don’t work out the way i anticipate, but hey, we can always try again with our own touches and those books have lots of recipes!

  6. January 29, 2011 11:55 pm

    That stinks about the recipe, but I’m sure the next one will be a winner!

  7. January 30, 2011 6:36 am

    they sound pretty great- but i know what you mean!! i made weird pumpkiny burgers once from scratch. FAIL

  8. January 30, 2011 8:22 am

    I have that veggie burger book! The edamame burgers recipe stood out for me too, though now I’m not sure if I should try it or not. But I can say the chickpea spinach burgers were good and the thai carrot ones were amazing!

  9. Paulie D. permalink
    January 30, 2011 12:54 pm

    In my all-time disastrous attempt at cooking, I misread the instructions for baking a pan cake as a boy and used ONE CUP of vinegar rather than ONE TABLESPOON. My mother questioned me several times about my ingredients as the smell of vinegar began permeating the house. She shortly thereafter checked the recipe against my recollection of using a full cup of vinegar to detect my error. My mother made the decision that the pan cake could not be salvaged and threw it out. Disheartened, I never tried that recipe again. Of course, our house never had the overwhelming smell of vinegar again either. 🙂

  10. Melissa @ HerGreenLife permalink
    January 31, 2011 10:55 am

    The ingredient list on these sounds promising. In general, I never expect any homemade veggie burger recipe to hold together all that well, but one trick that often helps a bit is to form the patties, then chill them in the refrigerator for 30 minutes or so prior to cooking. I also start out with pretty low heat to make sure the burgers cook all the way through without burning. If the mixture seems too wet, you can try adding a bit more dry ingredients before making the patties (quick oats or bread crumbs can work well for this).

Trackbacks

  1. Nine More?? « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

