Skip to content

True Life: I Spend Too Much Time At My Gym

January 29, 2011

source

I’ve come to the point where I’m spending 3 hours of my Saturday at my gym. GET ME HELP!

Actually, I really love my Saturday morning runs. I chose to run today’s 15 miler inside because I wanted to watch the Villanova vs. Georgetown basketball game (Nova lost šŸ˜¦ ). Despite the warm 40 degree temps outside, the good TV, water availability, and close bathroom won out again. My TV lineup is always 2 episodes of Paula Deen, then the 11am ESPN basketball game with spurts of Secrets of a Restaurant Chef and then Barefoot Contessa. Who can pass that up?

Pre-run breakfast of Almond Butter & Banana Toast +Ā  a little end piece of the bread because it was all that was left.

The run went well! I managed to get in exactly 11 miles before the treadmill shut off, taking a Mocha Clif shot at mile 9. I liked this one better than the strawberry flavor… I’m a chocolate girl šŸ™‚ After some calf stretching I hopped back on to finish my last four miles, with a final time of 136.5 minutes. I kept about a 9:13 pace the whole run and my legs didn’t get tight until the very end. Successful!

[Edited to add: I ran at a .5% incline to just slightly adjust for the ease of treadmill running]

After the run I did something I’ve been neglecting….

Ouch! Icing HURTS! But hopefully this temporary freezing cold period of hell will payoff with zero soreness tomorrow.

Post-run meal was a huge green monster and a sweet potato with egg whites and salsa.

The rest of the green monster overflowed into an uglier cup:)

In today’s GM went:

  • 2 big handfuls raw spinach
  • 1 cup soy milk
  • 1 TBSP ground flax seed
  • 1 scoop chocolate Amazing Grass
  • 1/2 scoop Jay Robb vanilla protein powder
  • 1 frozen banana
  • teeny bit of Xantham gum
  • Ice

Now I’m lounging, doing laundry, and probably running to the grocery store because I want to try a new veggie burger recipe for dinner! I have been waiting to break into that cookbook LB got me for Xmas and today is the perfect day.

Girl’s movie night has gotten canceled so looks like I’ll be out on the town!

  • Finish this sentence: “True Life: I…..Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā Ā  “
10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2011 3:17 pm

    Great job running, Clare!
    True life, I spent my night at Whole Foods and Skyping my husband. Loved every second of it!

  2. January 29, 2011 4:11 pm

    True Life: I want to be a dancer! I would love to be a dancer on tour, but I have no skills in that area. It’s just a dream!

  3. January 29, 2011 4:11 pm

    True Life: I am…a Star Wars geek! šŸ™‚

  4. January 29, 2011 5:54 pm

    Wow – what a workout, Clare!
    Great job, haha šŸ™‚
    Let’s see…
    True Life: I really DO love Fiber One.
    (Lame, I know. Haha šŸ˜‰ )

  5. squigglefloey permalink
    January 29, 2011 10:48 pm

    Wow, this is hard — I have no idea! I’m going to have to get back to you on this one. It sounds like True Life stories are somewhat embarrassing behaviors / quirks that we try to keep at bay, right?
    I wonder if being a blog reader-not a blogger – would count.

  6. January 29, 2011 11:29 pm

    great job on the run, especially on the treadmill! i thought 12 was hard but wow 15 is monster! awesome girl!

    and icing is always good after a long run…i usually dump my legs in bucket with ice and water…a bit easier but ice is hard to come by in those amounts!

  7. Paulie D. permalink
    January 30, 2011 1:08 pm

    Great job in setting a personal record for the longest run of your life. True Life: I never iced after a long run. I just took any pain in the days following a long run like a man! I suppose you could point the shower nozzle at your legs and let cold water run down them as a substitute to icing and see how it works for you but it’s not something that I personally have tried.

  8. texastriathlete permalink
    January 31, 2011 9:58 pm

    sorry to be creepy but I randomly stumbled upon your blog…love the fact that you’ve also been doing your runs on a treadmill so I know I’m not the only ridiculous person running 15 mi on a treadmill. šŸ™‚
    it’s actually much harder for me to run on a treadmill, both physically and mentally.

  9. texastriathlete permalink
    February 1, 2011 10:44 am

    you know, it’s actually quite opposite for me! I find it more exciting to run outside since I only listen to music while running on a treadmill, so having something to look at around me outside is more easier mentally for me. Surprisingly, it’s also easier for me physically?? I don’t think that’s usually the case for people, but my “leisurely pace” is faster by 1.5 min/mile when I’m outside with some rolling hills.

  10. texastriathlete permalink
    February 1, 2011 2:33 pm

    me, too! except i’m not excited about hauling fuel/electrolytes on the 15+ mi runs :-/
    do you have a strategy for that when you move your runs outside?
    ha i guess i can’t use weather as an excuse for not running outside since I’m in cali šŸ˜”

Leave a Reply

