Skip to content

Massaged Kale & Tempeh Sloppy Joes

January 30, 2011

I’ve been a recipe machine lately!

I had decided on dinner even before seeing No Strings Attached today. I absolutely LOVED the movie. I was entertained the whole time and the script was hilarious and really realistic. Natalie Portman played her character really well, which was strikingly different from her character in Black Swan, and Ashton Kutcher is just awesome. Go see it!

Onto the food.Β  I bought a container of Kale the other day to get a little variety from my usual spinach. I’d tried kale chips before, but never massaged kale salad. It was super easy! I just put a few handfuls of chopped kale into a mixing bowl, sprinkled on 1/4 t sea salt, a dash of apple cidar vinegar, and 1 T of olive oil.

pre-massage

Then you just dig your hands in and massage away for about a minute or two. The kale wilts down and gets lightly coated. It’s an acquired taste for sure, as the kale can be bitter, but I love my greens so I was very pleased.

post-massage

The rest of dinner used up my remaining 1/2 block of tempeh and was loosely based on this recipe for vegan tempeh sloppy joes.

First I crumbled the half block of tempeh into a pan with some olive oil.

Once it browned, I added about 1/3 onion, 1/2 an orange pepper, and two cloves of garlic all chopped up.

After adding in 1/2 t cumin and 1/2 t chili powder, I poured in 1 T braggs liquid aminos and 1 8 oz can of tomato sauce.

I let it thicken up for a few minutes and placed it on a whole wheat english muffin to make a very real interpretation of the childhood favorite! Even my brother, who is NOT into vegetarian cooking, thought it tasted really good!

Dinner is served.

And dessert was the remainder of the vanilla Graeter’s ice cream eaten straight from the carton. I think I OD’d on sugar today. And I feel good about it.

**************************

1. Thank you all for the well-wishes about my brother. He has some scrapes and a pretty big headache, but will be just fine.

2. I heard about the TJ’s Peanut Flour cancellation on twitter, but can’t find any info about it online. Maybe (hopefully) it’s a rumor?

3. Forecast for this week calls for ice and 8-15 inches of SNOW!

4. I miss my boyfriend.

  • Have you ever health-ified or veg-ified a favorite childhood recipe?
17 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2011 8:07 pm

    Glad to hear your brother’s OK!

    I’ve lightened up my Mom’s spinach lasagna. It’s just too heavy for a weeknight meal!

  2. January 30, 2011 8:21 pm

    i’ve been totalllyy into kale lately! The olive oil and salt totally helps! I just ran out a few days ago and i plan on restocking this week!
    I cant believe i have never made tempeh sloppy joes! I have ALMOST made them a bunch of times but never did. I think i need to get on that. I have a few recipes i want to try out with tempeh now anyway.

    Im glad your brother is ok, so scary when things like that happen.

  3. January 30, 2011 8:39 pm

    Loving the sloppy joe’s! I think I will make that with my leftover tempeh πŸ™‚

  4. Katie permalink
    January 30, 2011 8:57 pm

    I went and saw No Strings Attached with my best friend on Saturday. It was hilarious πŸ™‚ I am glad that you enjoyed it too!

    I am glad to hear that your brother is doing well!! That is always so scary.

  5. January 30, 2011 9:32 pm

    My roommate and I just made kale chips the other day. I liked them! But I will have to try your massaged kale next!!

  6. January 30, 2011 11:15 pm

    Ugh, I heard about the snow storm too. Hopefully, they’re exaggerating! πŸ™‚ Never tried kale chips but I see them on so many blogs!

  7. January 31, 2011 6:34 am

    Tempeh makes the best sub for sloppy joes! I use it all the time when I make them.

  8. January 31, 2011 7:37 am

    Sigh-I wish I liked kale as it’s such a super food. Good for you for continuing to explore!

  9. January 31, 2011 9:43 am

    kale chips are still my favorite way to eat them but i recently made a raw salad (recipe here: http://www.thesweetslife.com/2011/01/best-of-2011-kaleslaw-with-red-pepper.html) It was pretty good!!

  10. January 31, 2011 9:51 am

    mmmmm those sloppy joes look bomb!

  11. January 31, 2011 5:19 pm

    I have to healthify ALOT of “childhhod” recipes to ease my BF into veggie eating! I’ve done Lentil sloppy joes, Oh She Glows’s spaghetti and “neat” sauce (lentils instead of ground beef), black bean enchiladas, vegetarian lasagna…you name it!

    I can’t complain though because it works! He says he doesn’t mind eating vegetarian now at all!

  12. January 31, 2011 5:27 pm

    Actually OSG is the best for healthifying childhood/comfort foods. I go there at least once a week! http://ohsheglows.com/recipes/

    Hoping one day, that my blog will be a resource for the same! Seems like yours is definately taking off! Good job!

Trackbacks

  1. January Re-Cap | Healthy Tasty Cheap
  2. Accent Vlog « Fitting It All In
  3. This, My Friends, is Tempeh « Fitting It All In
  4. Fitting It All In
  5. It’s Friday in Lent…What To Eat?? « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

