Skip to content

Accent Vlog

January 31, 2011

I’m so excited that I finally figured out how to vlog! I’ll get to it right after I tell you about the rest of my day’s eats:)

Lunch at work was leftovers from last night.

Both of these dishes got even better overnight! The flavors really even more bold and intense in the tempeh sloppy joes, and the kale salad was less bitter and much more soft. Next time I’m going to make the kale salad the day before and let it sit!

I also had an apple after lunch for some sweetness, and it left me very full. No snack was needed! I did end up leaving the office around 4pm and was one of the only people left. My car had a nice coating of ice and I couldn’t even get gas because the tank was frozen shut! We’re now expecting 12-20 inches of snow and people are seriously going insane. My mom said the grocery store was 100% out of fresh produce and almost out of all of their meat. The government is holding press conferences. Entire malls and businesses are closed. FUN!!!

After recording my video and reading more of The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets Nest (almost done…it’s getting SO good!) I got hungry for an early-ish dinner. Last night I roasted some butternut squash and brussel sprouts, and I reheated them tonight along with a little bit of quinoa and a glob of hummus.

Yum. So simple, so healthy, and so delicious.

For dessert (since I didn’t have it for a snack) I’m trying a new Siggi’s yogurt flavor that I got on sale at Whole Foods. I had high hopes for this pomegranate & passion fruit flavor and it did not fail to meet them. Just lightly sweet and super thick. The texture is almost icing-like. Love it!

Alright, onto the VLOG. I’ve wanted to do this accent Vlog since i first saw it on Healthy Tipping Point. I always love hearing other bloggers’ voices and it was the perfect opportunity to post my first video.

I make funny facial expressions apparently. Ignore those.

So what’d you think? Do I have an accent?

27 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2011 8:20 pm

    YOU ARE SO DANG CUTE!!!

  2. January 31, 2011 8:21 pm

    Fun vlog:) I am waiting for someone to say potato bug!

  3. January 31, 2011 8:21 pm

    how random that we both blogged about kale salad on the same day?! i’ve also considered vlogging lately, in the form of instructional videos, but haven’t yet. the snow and ice are ruining my life. the y canceled my classes tonight and tomorrow. i can’t get a good workout at home, and i need to DO something, besides sit on the darned computer!!!

  4. January 31, 2011 8:28 pm

    You sound like a mid-westerner! I agree about “supermarket”, I always say grocery store! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. January 31, 2011 8:30 pm

    Aw, I liked your video! You’re so pretty : ) I live in the Midwest too so I didn’t think you had an accent.

    Hope you have a good day tomorrow (likely inside)!
    Dana

  6. January 31, 2011 8:38 pm

    haha you are so cute!!!! I just sound like a texan lol

  7. January 31, 2011 8:38 pm

    I need to do this! Maybe tomorrow if we have a snow day.

    Also, I’m glad you didn’t have a word for the raining while sunny. I’ve never heard it called anything before! Maybe it not having a name is a mid-west thing.

  8. January 31, 2011 8:58 pm

    I’m so glad you did this vlog! I did the same one and I have loved hearing all the different accents! I only noticed your accent on a couple of words ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. January 31, 2011 9:23 pm

    My mom told me the same thing about the grocery. So nervous for tomorrow! Iโ€™d say you definitely have a midwestern accent! Me too!

  10. Jenni permalink
    January 31, 2011 9:58 pm

    Schnucks’s was ridiculous–and I never notice a Midwestern accent, but whenever I’ve been to NY or Boston or somewhere, people comment on it–I say my a’s like you do “blaaaaack” and people have said I say the word ‘mom’ weird–it’s so weird to think people would hear a midwest accent!

  11. January 31, 2011 10:20 pm

    I didn’t even know about this huge storm! Where have I been? Your accent is definitely there but it’s not annoying at all! I get called out on sounding Southern whenever I’m out of the South, but in the South I’m pretty much the neutral end of accents. Yay for “tennis shoes”- we’ve always called them all tennis shoes too!

  12. squigglefloey permalink
    January 31, 2011 10:26 pm

    Girl, you have a GREAT camera presence! you are TOO CUTE. You need to do more vloggy-type posts!

  13. January 31, 2011 11:21 pm

    haha! i love your vlog!!!! You have no accent! you could totally fit in to CA!!!! ahhh!!!! have i told you i actually lived in St. louis for a time when i was kid?! yeah!

    and omg totally funny, but you do the same thing I do when I talk: you do thsi little tsk sound! hahahaha!!!

  14. February 1, 2011 1:31 am

    Cute Vlog ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t notice much of an accent ??
    Maybe I should do one….I get asked if I’m from the south all the time but I’m from California and Hawaii. Weird….
    Anyway, I’m oddly jealous of everybodys snow days this winter??? Super windy on Maui today but that’s not the same I guess….
    Stay warm! Aloha!

  15. February 1, 2011 5:56 am

    You are so adorable! ๐Ÿ™‚ I think you have a tiny accent but it’s cute. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. February 1, 2011 6:59 am

    Cute Vlog!

    Haha, if we get 12-20 inches it’s like…well, better give myself extra time for a drive!

    Of course I live in MN, so it’s just a normal day for us. ๐Ÿ™‚ Which also means that I don’t think you have an accent at all! I elongate my vowels much more than you do – even when I try not to!

  17. February 1, 2011 7:09 am

    I love your accent! All the different American accents are interesting to me ’cause I can’t place any of them (being British myself). Obviously there are differences between them, but I would never know that yours was Mid-Western, or be able to recognise someone from NY etc.

    Hope the snow doesn’t cause too much chaos for you. It’s funny how people go crazy and panic-buy everything in sight!

    xxx

  18. February 1, 2011 7:30 am

    ahah ah i loved hearing your voice!!! you are so cute !

  19. February 1, 2011 7:31 am

    You’re adorable! Haha I didn’t hear much of an accent except for maybe a few words!

  20. February 1, 2011 8:49 am

    when i moved from illinois to nj every kept telling me i said my A’s like you do ๐Ÿ™‚ Im not sure if i do anymore, its been 12 + years maybe i should do the vlog and find out haha

  21. February 1, 2011 10:29 am

    You have perfect teeth! My dad’s a dentist and I’m obsessed with teeth ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. February 1, 2011 11:29 am

    CHYEAH MIDWEST! I get called out for “had” and “socks” allll the time – the Great Lakes Vowel Shift is a real thing, dangit!

  23. Good Ol'WENDY permalink
    February 1, 2011 7:05 pm

    Vow!! Zat ist vunderful! Vendy vishes she cud zpeak like zat! Zo pretty, zo buteeful! Oh ze American dream.

    *Hee Hee…forgive Wendy if she’s had too many glasses of chardonnay tonight. Lord knows I’m from the midwest myself!

    Auf wiedersehen,

    Good Ol’Vendy

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Accent Vlog ยซ Fitting It All In -- Topsy.com
  2. The China Study begins… « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

