Skip to content

Monday Man-Day: The Art of the Male Text

January 31, 2011

Morning! As the rest of the midwest prepares for the end of the world, I got up for my 4 mile speedwork run. I warmed up for 9 minutes at 6.5mph, then did one minute intervals working from 8.0 mph to 8.5 mph with 1 minute recovery in between at 6.7 mph. I completed the set twice to round out the 4 miles in about 33 minutes. It flew!

Afterward I stretched, did some abs, and some basic arm weights while chatting with other ladies about why people feel the needed to run to the store and stock up on food when it’s supposed to snow for two days. I, personally, have plenty of food to get by for that time period. My dad says everyone has to go get bread, eggs, and milk so we can all make french toast!

OUTFIT:

  

BREAKFAST:

They should sell a “microwaved ripe banana” candle. Seriously, it smells heavenly.

I might leave a bit early today as it is already icing here. We’re supposed to get 1/2 to 1 inch of ice followed by 6-12 inches of snow. But I’m so terrible at working from home and I reaalllyy wanted to organize our new work room today. I love labels. And storage containers. And clean lines. Stop I’m getting excited!

Okay. Time for the second edition of Monday  Man-Day!

The Art of the Male Text

 

The rules that apply to male-texting have been a topic of interest recently, as a guy I know was looking for advice (from another guy) on how to get a girl. Of course they analyzed text message conversations, social interactions, and body language. But one concern was the content of the text messages. There need to be some guidelines.

First of all, text messaging is fantastic. It has rapidly sped up the beginnings of flirtation and relationships. After all, no girl wants to call a guy on the weekend to see what he’s doing. But a text? A text is fine! It’s casual and there is no pressure for real conversation. Because who likes that?

And if a guy texts you to see what you’re doing that night, you know it’s on.

source

But guys, please take some advice. Don’t use emoticons in your text messages. And if you aren’t up to date with your tech-lingo, that would be these: 🙂 😉  etc. They’re girly and okay ONLY if you are kidding around and that it’s very obvious. Second, cut back on the abbreviations. It makes you sound like a tween girl gossiping with her like, bff. And girls want mature manly men, not Justin Beiber.

So to recap: 

GOOD = “Hey what are you up to tonight?”

BAD = “what r u doin l8r 😉 ?”

You’re welcome.

*****************

For some more man-day fun, here are two man-friendly recipes that stuck out to me this week.  Jenna’s Spaghetti Carbonara looked TO DIE FOR. It’s pretty simple and involves bacon. Man check.  Also, IGE’s Cheesy Chicken & Broccoli Rice Casserole  could be easily adapted for a vegetarian. Just make half with tofu or beans, and since it already has brown rice and veggies, any healthy food lover should be happy!

Finally, this guy turns a taco bell burrito into “gourmet” pasta. A + for creativity. F for being absolutely disgusting.

http://www.slashfood.com/2011/01/28/tacoliatelle-fancy-fast-food/?icid=maing%7Cmain5%7Cdl6%7Csec3_lnk1%7C40013

  • Tell me  some funny guy text message stories!
  • What’s your take on male text rules?
8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2011 11:18 am

    Love how you always wear belts to stylishly! Totally agree re: good & bad texting. Grow up, please!

  2. January 31, 2011 11:29 am

    I haven’t had many bad texting experiences because I haven’t made friends with a lot of people who use texting short-hand – I wouldn’t allow it. But sometimes my husband and I poke fun at it and send each other texts like

    C U L8R 4 Dinnr Hotttstuff. Ya, lame, but it’s funny to us : )

    Since I’m married now, males don’t text me : ) But, when my husband texts me, it’s either short and sweet and to the point (which I love) or really random and funny or romantic (which I also love).

    Happy Monday Clare!

  3. January 31, 2011 12:39 pm

    ahahhahah you nailed it! if a guy uses emoticons….. he is NOT okay in my book. WAY too girly!.. i also just hate it when guys WAIT For you to text them… or maybe thats just me and my own guy issues.. AWK

  4. January 31, 2011 12:49 pm

    I LOVE texting! My husband, however, just started texting before Christmas when we got our iPhones…and he hates it! I send him nice texts from time to time, and he will send back one word answers…so boring! He definitely doesn’t use emoticons or “text lingo”.
    SPEEDY miles, girl! Good run! And cute outfit, it looks JUST like what I wear a lot; dress with cardigan and belt, and tights and high boots. Great minds! 😉

  5. January 31, 2011 3:22 pm

    Just found your blog and I love this post! I think really bad spelling is such a turnoff!

  6. January 31, 2011 5:41 pm

    Haha!! Your texting discussion is dead-on! Great job on the interval workout too!

Trackbacks

  1. All In One Fitting
  2. My Promise To You « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

