Skip to content

Just Jillian, Mom & Me

February 1, 2011

I had no intentions of going into work this morning. My car is already covered in a sheet of ice and this impending blizzard is supposed to start any time. We were told we could work from home, so that seemed like the best bet.

My mom mentioned she was going to try to get to the gym before the snow started, and I decided to ride with her since I can’t even open my car doors. She wakes up later than me, so I slept in until 7:30am when I awoke to find this:

driveway is a solid sheet of ice

 

I was surprised to have an email saying my office was completely closed, and upset to find out that the gym was closing at 9am! I didn’t have time to get there for a run before it closed, so I guess my marathon training will have to be put on hold for a bit. But not to worry, that’s what JILLIAN is for!

source

My mom agreed to do ALL THREE levels of the Shred with me (she’s never done it before), so we set up a little work out studio in the family room and got to work!

I forget how tired my arms get during those workouts! It would have been nice to have a few more weights, as we both wanted to use the same weights for most of the exercises. My mom ended up modifying some moves so she wouldn’t hurt her knees (along with yelling at Jillian for not telling people how to keep their feet flat during jumping jacks and to keep their back flat during ab work ), but we successfully completed the whole DVD and got in a great hour long workout right at home!

 

schweaty

 

BREAKFAST:

When I first woke up and still thought I was going to go to the gym, I ate half a banana with almond butter to calm my rumbling stomach.

Then after our plans changed, I went back for the second half before we started our workout. And after the work out I had a cup of Greek yogurt with sliced strawberries so my huge bulging muscles could soak up all the protein.

OUTFIT:

HA. Maybe I’ll put jeans on. Maybe.


****************************************

Plans for the rest of the day include

  • showering
  • cleaning my bedroom
  • learning how to do my own taxes (any recommendations for a good website to do them on?)
  • watching Oprah’s Vegan episode (!!)
  • finishing The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest
  • making a template for a project at work.

 

What’s the weather like where you are? Are you snowed in?

 

Of interest: reader Paul sent me this article about how time consuming exercise and training can ruin a marriage. Interesting. Depressing. That’s why I’m running a marathon NOW and not when I’m married!

Hope you’re safe, have plenty of food and warmth, and get lots of time to read blogs today!!

 

23 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2011 11:19 am

    All 3 levels–that’s intense! I love that bird feeder shot–amazing!

  2. February 1, 2011 11:37 am

    The snow here in Boston is getting pretty gross… we have over a foot of standing snow left over from the past month, and today we’re getting 6-9 inches by like 6 pm. Followed by 8-12 more inches tomorrow!

    And yet here I am at work with no closing announced. 😦

  3. Cori permalink
    February 1, 2011 11:46 am

    I live in St. Louis city! Did you see this– http://blogs.riverfronttimes.com/gutcheck/2011/01/grocery_store_snow_panic_stockpiling_snowpocalypse_2011.php
    I practically skated down the sidewalk to the gym this morning, but it was just slushy a few hours later when I had to go to work- I live across the street so I can’t make an excuse of a bad commute. Enjoy your snow day!

  4. February 1, 2011 11:47 am

    No snow in Savannah! Although what’s not snow for us will still be a big storm that is supposed to come through and make it pretty chilly for awhile. Boo 😦

    I hope you survive the ice and snow, though! I miss you tons. I have been running so much more and feeling so good about myself! 🙂

  5. February 1, 2011 12:01 pm

    Gotta get the protein to those bulging muscles girl!!
    Haha and I am cleaning my room + watching Oprah’s vegan episode today too! So excited!! (for Oprah, not so much for cleaning.)
    Have a great snow dayy 🙂
    P.S. I’m posting about your tempeh sloppy joes tonight!

  6. oatsandspice permalink
    February 1, 2011 12:03 pm

    Omg the storm is coming my way now… Ughh I don’t want anymore snow! That’s exciting that work wad cancelled for you – that’s definitely a perk! Apparently it is against our university policies for our professors to cancel class… No hope for me 🙂

  7. February 1, 2011 12:08 pm

    ahh such a nice day ahead for yoU!!!! i so wish i were in the US so i could watch the vegan episode!

  8. February 1, 2011 12:21 pm

    That’s so cute that your mom worked out with you! What a trooper. My mom would probably do the same though. She’s a little ball of energy.

    We’re snowed in here in Kansas too, so it’s indoors for this girl. I did manage to waddle over to the fitness center at my apartment complex this morning without spraining and ankle, so that was good. But when I got there my knee started hurting so I walked half of my run. Boo : ( Do you ever have knee pains? I haven’t had them before so it’s kind of a bummer. Perhaps I’ll ice it, stretch and take some glucosamine….

    Anyways, happy ice/snow day!

  9. February 1, 2011 12:32 pm

    So fun that you and your mom worked out together. 🙂
    I have an ice day, but the roads really aren’t that bad.
    However, I’m sick. Loving this day because I’m off work, and didn’t have to make sub plans!
    Right now, I’m off do some paperwork for work.

  10. February 1, 2011 12:55 pm

    gotta love some Jillian! the 30 day shred is such a great workout!

  11. February 1, 2011 1:16 pm

    The weather where I am today is a little chilly and party cloudy. I think I’m in one of the few states that is not getting serious winter weather from the massive storm!

  12. February 1, 2011 1:33 pm

    WHOA girl, all three levels? Bulging muscles, indeed! I’ve done levels 1 and 2 together, but never all three! Sounds like a great at-home workout!
    I’ve used Turbo Tax online for several years and really like it. They have a FREE edition!
    Stay safe in that winter-y weather!!

  13. February 1, 2011 2:01 pm

    Very impressive Mrs. Brady!

  14. February 1, 2011 2:25 pm

    oh my ice! Glad you’re safe at home. So fun that you and your Mom worked out together 🙂 Its warmer than its been in Charleston.

  15. February 1, 2011 2:30 pm

    Wow, all 3 levels- that last one is a toughie!
    Not snowed in yet, it’s not supposed to come here until later!

  16. February 1, 2011 4:39 pm

    thanks for passing on the article! i guess anything that takes too much time away from your marriage is not a good thing. good thing to keep in mind.

    you guys have been getting lots of snow over there, hey? we don’t see too much in Australia…:)

  17. Uncle John and Aunt Jo permalink
    February 1, 2011 5:22 pm

    We really enjoyed your vlog. We have over two feet of snow on the ground in Bloomington and nothing ever closes when there is a storm warning. And no one ever stocks up on food. Our kids used to ice skate in the streets. We even have little snow plows for the side walks. People here are still biking and jogging outside. Try it, you’ll like it.

    Too bad about John…keep us posted.
    Your relatives in MN.

  18. February 1, 2011 5:51 pm

    Wow! All three levels sounds so intense! I get to work from home tomorrow, woo! I’m so happy. It took me 1 hr and 35 mins to get home. Usually it only takes 40 😦

  19. Brandi permalink
    February 1, 2011 5:56 pm

    That’s the ONLY bad thing about Florida now…no snow days so I had a super long day at work ;( But I did get to run outside yesterday in shorts and a tank so I guess its a draw.

    I am going to read this article tonite, but my thoughts right now are that if it weren’t for my training, I would probably strangle my hubs because its such a great stress reliever. Otherwise I turn into Mrs. Grumpy. But maybe the article can enlighten me and convince me to stop running so freakin much!!!

  20. February 2, 2011 9:19 am

    i’ve never done all 3 levels before i think i would get bored! But awesome job!
    The storm reached us today and i have a nice snow day to catch up and bang on the ice with shovels.. Im pretty much iced into my house right now!

  21. February 2, 2011 11:51 am

    I use TaxAct.com for my taxes and haven’t had any problems. It is easy and straightforward.

  22. Brandi permalink
    February 2, 2011 5:41 pm

    Hi again- I finally got a chance to read the article. It definetely brought up some valid points. I tend to agree with the annoyance of having your spouse out for hours each morning and several hours on the weekends, going to bed super early (before the kids even!), etc.
    Fortunately, I am not training for an Ironman so I dont train for near that amount of hours. I run about 4 times per week including 1 long run varying between 1-2.5hrs, but most runs are 30-60min. I dont think this is unreasonable and is actually beneficial to my marriage (not to mention my health) as a stress reliever. Sometimes it is annoying that I miss on going out, or if I do go, not drinking. But that is outweighed, for me, by enjoying my morning run rather than a hangover.
    Also, I dont have kids yet so…
    I could go on and on here, but am sure I have rambled on long enough 😉 Good article!

Trackbacks

  1. Ch Ch Ch CHIA « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

