Skip to content

One Month In: 2011 Goals

February 1, 2011

Hi guys! How is everyone’s day? Mine was pretty relaxing at home and included lots of blog reading and TLC watching.

After showering, cleaning, and vacuuming it was time for lunch! I made myself a monster sandwich of baked tofu, avocado, tomato, spinach, and mustard on Whole Food’s sprouted grain bread. On the side I had some steamed broccoli and I finished it off with a sliced apple.

And while vedging on the couch, I used zero energy and yet still snacked all afternoon.. I had a bunch of sugar snap peas and a cup of Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride tea. Throughout the afternoon I also had some grapes, pretzels, and oatmeal made with cocoa powder.

I honestly wasn’t all that hungry for dinner, but I was bored so I decided to make something. I steamed a bunch of frozen edamame, peas, and corn, threw in some leftover roasted sweet potato, and topped it all off with a slice of vegan cheese and some salsa. A corn tortilla for dipping.

And now I’m in a love/hate relationship with my mother for buying Girlscout Cookie ice cream. I had a small bowl of thin mint and want moreeee! Days like today really prove how much I need routine in my life to function normally! At least I got a lot done today (cleaning, taxes on Turbo Tax, making some cards, etc). All mixed in with lots of reading and TV of course.

*******************************

Since it’s the beginning of February, I thought I’d go back and see how I’ve been doing on my 2011 goals. One perk of having a blog is being able to go back and revisit these (without forgetting what they actually were!)

  1. Eat dinner with my family more: I’m definitely doing better with this! Even when we don’t eat the same thing, I try to sit in the kitchen and eat with them. It doesn’t always work due to scheduling (or important TV shows 🙂 ) but I’m making progress.
  2. Tell my dad I love him more: Not doing so hot. My family has never been a huggy lovey family so saying I Love You just doesn’t come naturally to me. I am making an effort to be much less terse with my dad, especially if he is getting on my nerves, so there has been a bit of progress. This one may take time though.
  3. Visit at least one out of town friend this year: If all goes as planned I’ll be visiting Mary Cecilia in Savannah before Easter! My family is spending the Holiday in Hilton Head and our flight lands in Savannah, so it is the perfect opportunity to go see her. Can’t wait.
  4. Successfully complete my first marathon: Still looking forward to it! My long runs have been going really well so I feel good about it.
  5. focus more on strength training: Even though it is getting hard to fit in strength training as the length of my runs increase, I am making sure to do some weights each week. Not as much as I’d like, but it is better than skipping it all together.
  6. Pray every day: I try so hard to do this, but sometimes I’ll wake up in the morning and realize I forgot to the day before! I always pray while in savasana at yoga, and obviously at Church, but some other days it slips me by. I think I may try to pray at the beginning of my runs to so that I have a set time to talk to God each day.
  7. be the best where I am RIGHT NOW at work: After my performance review, this is something I’m super amped up to do. I now have set goals to work towards and really think I can do well!
  8. Own who I am: Still not being shy about my lifestyle, my blog, and my personality. I’m not embarrassed about how I feel or what I do, though sometimes I get frustrated with myself and being “different” from my friends. But I’m so much happier when I’m me!

So overall things are going pretty well, but there is still work to be done.

  • How are you doing on your 2011 goals or resolutions?
12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2011 7:05 pm

    I get bored and antsy when I sit at home too. I always want to go into the kitchen and whip something up!

    You have great goals for 2011 and it looks like you are doing pretty good so far with them!

  2. February 1, 2011 7:16 pm

    Your goals for this month sound excellent. This morning, I flipped to the new month on my calendar and wrote in a few goals for myself…I love the idea of setting goals that are attainable and realistic!
    Mmmm that oatmeal looks delicious!

  3. February 1, 2011 7:25 pm

    Oh hey cute blog! I just found it. Those are some great goals.. I have my first 1/2 marathon on the schedule for my new years running goals. Good luck with all of yours!

  4. February 1, 2011 7:34 pm

    Baked tofu on a sandwich sounds awesome. I’ve had a major craving for Mustard on a sandwich lately, but since I don’t eat meat, Ive been having a hard time coming up with a good alternative to put on a mustard sandwich. Great idea with tofu!!

    I think you are doing a fabulous job on your goals. First off, you have some great goals so I commend you for that.

  5. squigglefloey permalink
    February 1, 2011 8:44 pm

    I feel you on the I love you thing with fathers. My family isn’t lovey-dovey either — well, my mom is, but my dad isn’t. I rarely ever tell my dad I love him, even though it’s obvious that I do, you know what I mean right. Maybe it gets weirder as we get older? I don’t know..haha. I should probably tell him that more. It’s probably going to be harder when I move back home. Since I’m in my apartment for school, I can say I love you before I leave for a few weeks. Seeing him everyday might be weirder.
    Interesting thoughts!
    Goodjob on your goooaaaaaaaals.
    Kinda wish we had a snow day in Cali so I’d be able to get some stuff done in-doors 😛

  6. February 1, 2011 8:46 pm

    I feel this same way: “though sometimes I get frustrated with myself and being “different” from my friends. But I’m so much happier when I’m me!”
    It made me smile to read that though because you’re right, we just have to own who we are!! One of my goals for the year is to do yoga once a week and so far so good!

  7. February 1, 2011 9:05 pm

    I love that your just being yourself! You rock!
    I am doing alrighttt on my goals!

  8. February 1, 2011 10:04 pm

    Clare Bear!!!!

    it’s so good to be back. oh, how i’ve missed youuuu!

    1. can you please make a sandwich? wow!
    2. cocoa oats are now on my “to make” list (how much cocoa do you add?)
    3. i COMPLETELY agree with having routine making the day go by easier…and i understand about wanting to make dinner even if your not as hungry as usual.
    4. enjoy that ice cream!!!
    5. i need to do a goal review to…we should all do them periodically! i am SO proud of you. you have tackled a few and have some room to grow for the rest of 2011.

    i loveeeeeeeee youuuuu!!!! please let me know how i can specifically be praying for you! and let me know if there’s any BIG posts i should read since January 10 😉 xoxoxo

  9. February 2, 2011 6:56 am

    ahh cocoa oatmeal looks so chocolatey and divine!1 good job on your goals! i love how you want to tell ur dad u love him more :D.. !

  10. February 2, 2011 7:39 am

    What a thoughtful, full list of goals. Good luck at achieving them!

  11. February 2, 2011 1:05 pm

    looks like your doing a pretty good job so far! I totally forgot what my goals are HA! I think i need to check them out and see how im doing

Trackbacks

  1. The China Study begins… « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

