Skip to content

The China Study begins…

February 2, 2011

Perk of being the only one in your office? Blasting your Pandora Glee station:)

I got out my lunch around 1:15pm (late breakfast today). I had a similar sandwich to yesterday – baked tofu, 1/4 avocado, tomato, and mustard on sprouted grain bread. On the side I had sugar snap peas for green and a not-so-good apple for dessert. My apples have been failing me lately…does anyone know what types of apples are good right now?

And want to know a great thing about my new desk? WINDOWS! NATURAL LIGHT!

Now I’m not sure how taking pictures of my food is going to work now that I sit in the same room as my entire team (We don’t have separate offices or cubes, just cute little desks). I might just suck it up and tell them about the blog. I think my co-workers will be 100% supportive, it’s the bosses I worry about!

I had another new Siggi’s yogurt for a snack -Orange & Ginger. Wasn’t a fan. The ginger flavor was too strong and there were little chunks of something in it. I’ll stick to that pomegranate & passion fruit I had the other day.

And the star of dinner was Okra fries! I simple sprayed them with canola oil and a little seasoning and popped them in the oven at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes. These don’t get crispy (perhaps if you broiled them), but are nice and gooey in side. Perfect for dipping and popping!

Along with the fries I had a sweet potato with black beans and salsa – the usual. It was a perfectly satisfying meal that I enjoyed with my parents so that I am sticking to my 2011 goals!

 

****************************************

Since I finished The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets Nest (love that series of books overall), I started The China Study last night. This book is written by Dr. T. Colin Campbell who has been conducting grant-funded health and nutrition studies for over 30 years. His goal is to give us straight facts about the food we eat and how it affects our bodies.

source

From The China Study website:

Drawing on the project findings in rural China, but going far beyond those findings, The China Study details the connection between nutrition and heart disease, diabetes and cancer. The report also examines the source of nutritional confusion produced by powerful lobbies, government entities, and opportunistic scientists. The New York Times has recognized the study (China-Oxford-Cornell Diet and Health Project) as the “Grand Prix of epidemiology” and the “most comprehensive large study ever undertaken of the relationship between diet and the risk of developing disease.”

I’m reading this book with a highlighter, no joke. All of the studies, charts, and health ramifications fascinate me! It’s like I’m in school again (maybe that becoming an R.D. thing isn’t such a bad idea?)  I hope to share some of the information with you as I go along, but won’t be able to give a good review and conclusion until I’m entirely finished. I will say that after finishing 30 years of research, Dr. Campbell recommendeds a plant-based diet. I ‘m excited to  find out exactly how and why he got to that recommendation.

  • Have you read The China Study?
  • If not, what books or other things have you used to educate yourself on nutrition?

I love Michael Pollan’s books and have read all three, as well as watching Food Inc and reading numerous articles in magazines and online. I’m super excited about the movie that is coming out, based on The China Study. Check out the trailer for Forks Over Knives here!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. lauravirginia permalink
    February 2, 2011 8:28 pm

    Food, Inc. changed my life! I want to read all of Michael Pollan’s books as well as “Eating Animals” by Jonathan Saffron Foer. I can’t wait to see Forks Over Knives!

  2. February 2, 2011 9:29 pm

    i dont know if pink lady apples are good right now but they are ALWAYS GOOD whenever i get them <3! They are dellciioussssss!
    ok so these okra fries… i had okra years ago and im pretty sure i hated it but maybe ill like it now… they have always scared me.. should i give them another shot?

  3. February 2, 2011 10:13 pm

    I love Fuji’s 🙂

  4. February 2, 2011 11:20 pm

    Mmmm Galas have been good for me right now. And Granny Smiths, even though I primarily use them for cooking.

    No, I haven’t read that book or even heard of it. But it sounds interesting and I look forward to hearing your highlights from it as you go along.

    I primarily do my health research on the Internet through blogs, articles, magazine Web sites, etc. But I also like just talking to people who I feel are knowledgeable on certain topics. But that’s probably just because I love talking to people…

  5. February 3, 2011 5:02 am

    ahh i love pink ladys!! .. and okra fries sound SO GOOD!!! i cant get okra over here 😦

  6. February 3, 2011 5:55 am

    I’m so into Pink Lady apples right now. They seem to be the only good ones at the moment that aren’t $3 a pound.

  7. February 3, 2011 6:32 am

    It’s definitely on my list!

  8. February 3, 2011 6:43 am

    I just bought an 8 lb bag of Empire apples, and they are crisp and tart! SO GOOD! Hopefully I can make my way through the bag before they go bad!
    That book looks very interesting, definitely adding it to my Kindle list!

  9. February 3, 2011 6:57 am

    my organic pink lady apples are yummy…sweet and crunchy 😉

Trackbacks

  1. A Perfectly Lazy Friday Night « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

