Skip to content

Ch Ch Ch CHIA

February 3, 2011

Hello Friends!

Things are finally back to normal today, although a fair amount of school districts are still closed. My gym was open though, and that’s all that matters for me to get in my 7 mile tempo run! It was a 2 mile warm up at 6.5 mph, then three miles at 7 mph (8.34 pace), and a 2 mile cool down at 6.5mph. All at a .5% incline. It felt so good to be running again, though my legs are still a bit sore from Jillian kicking my butt on Tuesday!

OUTFIT: 

I’m feeling a bit edgy today compared to my usual prepster self. I think it’s the low slung belt and little black booties. I bought these in Ireland during my semester abroad when I was feeling Euro. I’ve found they look silly on me with my normal wardrobe and haven’t worn them since. But today was the day…why not try it!?

Sorry for the ugly bathroom pic – there was a girl in front of the mirror at the gym!

FOOD:

I added CHIA SEEDS to my oats today! I finally bought my first bag and decided to give it a try. I love that chia seeds have so much protein, anti-oxidants, and omega 3s, and love even more how much volume they give to my oats. Even just 1 teaspoon did wonders!

I’ll show you today’s lunch a little early, as I photographed it last night to avoid awkward co-worker conversations. I’ll ease into that one. Today’s sandwich has a few new items– instead of the baked tofu I had yesterday, I spread a thick layer of hummus for protein. I also tried some kale for greens, and sliced cherry tomatoes becuase we were out of the big guys. I topped it off with a little avacado on sprouted grain.

And on the side I have some steamed sugar snap peas and will be trying a Pink Lady apple, which I heard are the best right now. I hope so!

***********************************************

Happy Thursday everyone! That nice little snow break is making this week fly…hope the same is true for you.

  • Have you tried Chia Seeds? What’s your favorite way to use them?
16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2011 10:52 am

    Chia seeds kind of give me the creeps. What do they taste like?

  2. February 3, 2011 11:42 am

    MMMM that sandwich looks delicious! I love hummus and avocado on sandwiches!

  3. February 3, 2011 12:08 pm

    i have always wanted to try chias!! dang that looks like some serious volume!. so jealous GRr

  4. February 3, 2011 12:25 pm

    i hope that the apple is yummy! i love chia seeds in my oats 😉

  5. February 3, 2011 12:47 pm

    I use chia seeds in my oats almost every day! I like how they thicken the oats up so much. I sometimes mix them with plain yogurt and fruit, add them to smoothies, and I’ve even used them in homemade almond butter.

  6. February 3, 2011 1:00 pm

    Yes, I’ve tried chia seeds and my favorite way to use them is in my oatmeal : )

  7. February 3, 2011 1:09 pm

    I just purchased my first bag of chia seeds recently but haven’t tried them yet. Did you add them directly to your oatmeal or make the chia gel and add that mixture to your oatmeal?

  8. February 3, 2011 2:07 pm

    I LOVE chia seeds….I need to add them to my grocery list…It’s been like 2 weeks since I had some 🙂 thanks for the reminder!

  9. Cory permalink
    February 3, 2011 2:16 pm

    haha so funny I have an apple on my desk right now and when you said that Pink Ladies are the best right now..and checked my apple and was happy to find out I made the right purchase 🙂 I usually try to go with whichever apples look the best at the time! ps- I like those boots!

  10. February 3, 2011 3:27 pm

    I love Chia seeds, I love using them in my oatmeal and smoothies, I have added them to my pancake mix as well!! 🙂

    I feel you on the picture taking in front of people, people still look at me funny, baby steps!! 🙂

  11. February 3, 2011 3:38 pm

    I really want to try chia seeds. most of the food bloggers eat them, so I know they must be on to something good.

  12. February 3, 2011 4:03 pm

    I’ve never tried chia seeds before, but I’ve seen them on so many blogs!

  13. February 3, 2011 11:03 pm

    someone gave me some chai seeds to try and i’m still afraid to use them. can’t wait to see what you do with them!

  14. February 5, 2011 8:42 am

    Im pretty sure i have the same shoes! I love them 🙂
    Chia seeds rocks and a little bit really does do wonders!
    Great job on your tempo run i’m pretty sure i did the exact same workout last week!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Ch Ch Ch CHIA « Fitting It All In -- Topsy.com
  2. Bloggie Trends You Just Aren’t Into « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

