Skip to content

A Perfectly Lazy Friday Night

February 4, 2011

Friday nights are the best. It’s the end of a long work week, I treat myself to Crazy Bowls & Wraps for dinner, and then I lounge on the couch watching Say Yes To The Dress and carbo-loading for my long run on Saturday morning. Just say it with me: “ahhhhhh….”

source

Backing up, lunch was the exact same thing as yesterday. I had a sandwich made with hummus, avocado, mustard, kale, and cherry tomatoes. On the side I had steamed sugar snap peas and an apple. This time the apple was a Gala, but it was surprisingly good! Maybe I just had a few duds.

The apple at the end of my meals has been leaving me pretty darn full, to the point where it makes me think I might have eaten a little too much at one time. However, I find I work better when I’m completely satisfied all afternoon instead of starting to get antsy for a snack. I haven’t wanted anything to eat until around 4:30 pm lately, which means uninterrupted work time!

Even though I read all last night about how the protein in cow’s milk increases the growth of cancer, I ate Greek yogurt with strawberries again for my snack. Maybe once I get all the way through the book I’ll think differently, but for now I’m going to have a really hard time breaking away from one of my favorite satiating foods. I so wish there was soy yogurt with that creamy consistency!

After work I did something I haven’t done in a while…went shopping! I wanted to get a new dress to wear when I visit Alex next weekend, and had some luck at Urban Outfitters. I got myself a schnazzy little red number (I’ve always wanted to own a red dress. It just seems necessary) and a couple other things. Shopping is fun:)

  • What’s one item of clothing you think everyone should own? An LBD and good jeans are a given…get creative!

After the mall I made a Trader Joe’s run to stock up on fresh produce. I now have ample ingredients to make any brussel sprout / sweet potato/ tomato / pepper / onion / lemon dish I want! I love having a stocked fridge. I do not love that they were already out of Peanut Flour. I was going to buy a few bags to stock up!

And my last stop was to my new Friday night tradition – Crazy Bowls And Wraps! My usual tofu veggie bowl, brown rice, jalapeno cilantro sauce. If someone can teach me how to make that jalepeno cilantro sauce I will love them forever…it’s the reason I go there!

Now I’m snacking on some wheat thins and a grape fruit on the couch. I have plans for lots of TLC, blog reading, and then lots of rest before my 17 mile run. Snow in the forecast again so it’s back to the treadmill…thank goodness Villanova has an 11am basketball game again!

Happy Weekend!!

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. nicole permalink
    February 4, 2011 9:44 pm

    Regarding your comment about soy yogurt… dairy is much healthier for you, and if you stick to organic you are probably avoiding any carcinogenic agents. Soy is a phytoestrogen that can mess with your hormones. Tofu is okay occasionally, but it can do bad things to your body & thyroid if you overdo it! Goats milk is another yummy dairy alternative that you could strain to make greek yogurt. Good luck!

  2. squigglefloey permalink
    February 4, 2011 9:59 pm

    You totally need to post a pic of you in your little red dress number !!! 🙂

  3. February 4, 2011 11:04 pm

    I think every girl should own a button down long sleeve shirt, whether it be oversized or form fitting. They’re really versatile and cute!

  4. February 5, 2011 1:37 am

    good luck with your run! love your tofu bowl!!! i think every girl shouls own a pair of pretty underwear. whether it be granny pants or a thong.. it has got to be pretty.. pretty underwear=confidence!

  5. February 5, 2011 6:37 am

    I think every girl should have really good underwear and bras…even if no one sees them, they have such an affect on how you feel! Well, for me, at least…if my bra isnt fitted or I constantly get wedgies, I have a bad day!
    I’m running to TJs after tutoring today…hoping they have peanut flour still, and definitely stocking up on some fresh things!

  6. February 5, 2011 6:39 am

    Sounds like a great Friday night. There are so many weeks that when Friday rolls around, I’m literally spent. Nothing sounds more inviting than my couch, sweat pants, and some fro-yo! 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  7. February 5, 2011 8:03 am

    I love vegging on Friday nights! Last night I watched some Just Say Yes to the Dress while waiting to pick up my husband from the airport. I’m so glad they are back in New York. I didn’t care for the Atlanta one.

  8. February 5, 2011 9:23 am

    in life everyyyone needs a great pair of boots, black stocking tights, and a great strapless bra haha

    glad you had fun shopping in all spectrums! two of my favvvv things to do!

  9. February 5, 2011 9:48 am

    Sounds like your weekend is already off to a great start! My husband and I are having some friends over for dinner tonight and we’re making homemade pizza. Can’t wait!

    One item of clothing i think every woman, at least, should own is a nice fitting pair of dark jeans. They’re so flattering to all shapes and work with casual AND dressy outfits.

  10. February 5, 2011 9:56 am

    BAHAHA, not lazy, it’s stress management…perfect right there! Good luck on the run! 17 miles…that’s awesome!

  11. Brandi permalink
    February 5, 2011 5:59 pm

    a sexy but classy powersuit! also, a strapless bra (even though i hate them)

Leave a Reply

